We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis in the Heart of Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ai Reali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ai Reali
Ranked #37 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“An Oasis in the Heart of Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We absolutely loved the Hotel Ai Reali. We arrived in Venice exhausted after a grueling overnight train journey from Ashford (UK) via Paris/Bologna. After negotiating the congestion, hustle, and intricacies of the Venetian waterway buses we were relieved to get to our hotel (a short walk from the Rialto 'bus stop'). Ai Reali is a cool oasis of calm and beauty. At check-in a misunderstanding concerning our online booking was resolved gracefully and quickly by Gianni the front desk manager. Throughout our stay we found the hotel staff to be professional, attentive, courteous and always willing to respond to our requests. Ai Reali is an exceptional hotel. It's only shortcoming, according to our 9 year old daughter, is that its wellness spa is not offered to under 14 year olds (which for many could be viewed as a plus!). We highly recommend this hotel, and will look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,054
    191
    45
    23
    14
See reviews for
224
880
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was our first trip to Venice. We arrived at the train station, packed ourselves and our bags onto a crowded bus boat, and arrived at the Rialto stop which was the closest to our hotel. We then followed our alley/street map through the narrow alleyways until we saw the last three letters of the hotel name...A L I... peaking out from behind another building. We entered and found an oasis of lightly colored marble and calm...an escape from the crowds and closed in space outside! We had reserved comfort rooms but when we arrived we were upgraded to a deluxe room for our daughters and a junior suite for ourselves. The rooms and corridors seemed to be recently renovated and everything seemed fresh and new. We had more space than we needed, plenty of outlets for charging, wifi in the room, and a spacious bathroom with walk-in shower. Everything was very clean. Our view overlooked the canal, and gondoliers carried riders below our windows. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast room is quaint and the food selection is as expected in a nice hotel. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food and service were first class. The hotel is conveniently located along a canal and we were able to step into our water taxi for our ride to the airport at the canal entrance to the lobby. We were a short stroll to the Rialto bridge and St. Marks square, so the location is in the heart of where we wanted to be. We highly recommend this hotel. Advice: have a highly detailed map of Venice with you...you will need it if you want to get around to many places. We found that GPS is not that usable on the island.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view...it adds to the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingmom47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The great location and very helpful service staff at this hotel made our stay in Venice bearable. However, after a long day travelling to get to Venice we were disappointed to find no tea and coffee making facilities in our room which would have been helpful. We had read that the food here is amazing - big tick for the dinner we had here as the food was outstanding, but pretty average breakfast. Venice disappointed but perhaps that was our fault for booking at the height of summer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

During our longish trip to Italy (17 days) we decided to splurge and have a nice hotel in Venice. Since we got our room for a very affordable price, I assumed that it would be nothing special, and average at most, having not done my research at how fabulous this hotel would have been.

Upon arrival, we were greeted so warmly by Filippo and we got our private tour, our luggage disappeared, right away we were impressed.

Filippo booked our dinner that night, it was very nice (very expensive) but delicious, showed us where to go, knowing how pressed for time we were!

We had massages at the onsite spa and it was heavenly - definitely book one if you have the time! The massage was done on a water bed with changing lights to enhance your relaxation.

Our room was heavenly, the decor was so well done and so Venice! Marble bathrooms, perfect crisp sheets and a very nice damask wall paper....

They booked our water taxi for us to Piazzale Roma for 70 euros - about the going rate.
Gianni helped with everything and he was so nice and kind.

I only take one star away from this hotel as one of their guest representatives Dennis was quite rude/disengaged towards us. We are a younger couple (35/36) and we are middle class, while a lot of the people that check in, were probably upper middle class. He did treat us differently than them, he barely looked or gave us eye contact when speaking to us, and dismissed us when he felt that he was done with us. I observed him to make sure I was not being sensitive and he did treat other people better and differently.

My only suggestion for the hotel is to possibly provide retraining for him on customer service but he really did put a damper on a great hotel and the great service that the others had provided.

Otherwise, this hotel is fantastic and really is such a haven.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ggrace22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just returned from a short stay in Venice at this wonderful hotel. Throughout our entire stay the quality of service and comfort has been exceptional. I really cannot emphasise enough how fantastically situated Ai Reali is. No more than 2 minutes from the Rialto and 10 minutes (at the most) from St. Mark's Square, the hotel is in the perfect position to see all of the major sights this incredible city has to offer. However, Ai Reali is also tucked away just enough to escape the mayhem that these tourist hotspots can become.

Our room was extremely comfortable with a fantastic bed, beautiful bathroom and everything else that you would expect in a hotel of this quality. From start to finish, the service was extremely good, with friendly and helpful staff always on hand.

A real gem in a city crammed full with hotels - highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

While walking through the centre of Venice we came to our hotel the day before we were to be staying at it , I looked at the building and it was just the same as any other in Venice, nothing fancy, but when we entered the WOW factor struck us immediately, the receiption staff were so helpful, we explained we had arrived on a cruise ship and were coming to stay at the hotel the following night , they showed us round the hotel,offering drinks, tea, coffee so wonderful.
The hotel was fabulous inside, the decor to the soft furnishings excellent, our room finished to a very high standard with a very comfortable bed, the windows you could open all the way and look down on the gondolas pushing their way through the canal, breakfast in the morning was good with fresh fruits pastries and a little sausage bacon and eggs more then sufficent , would we stay here again YES, although the only down side is getting to the hotel, you have to walk or take a water taxi, coming from a cruise we had a lot of luggage so had to takewater taxi, which you have to remember you are in Venice and it was very expensive, also having a water taxi next day to go to the airport, makes the hotel an expensive one to stay in, but as I say all centre hotels in Venice would be the same

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluejames985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

A hotel for one night. What an experience. Fantastic room and wonderful staff. I have never stayed in such a wonderful place The room was outstanding, gorgeous furniture and very comfortable. Helped make our honeymoon special. We were in room 101 which coincidently added up our ages at marriage 50 and 51!!! The staff all of them were helpful and extremely polite. They took time to make us feel relaxed and helped out with anything that was needed. Imagine it only there for one night and we felt like royalty! If you get the chance and opportunity book in here x

Thanks for making our stay special

Karen Farrelly McDonagh
John McDonagh

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#42 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#29 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel L'Orologio
#16 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Castello
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
Ruzzini Palace Hotel
#35 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ai Reali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ai Reali

Property: Hotel Ai Reali
Address: Castello, Campo della Fava 5527, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ai Reali 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ai Reali is located in Campo della Fava, a small quiet campo, few steps away from Rialto Bridge and only 5 minutes away from St. Mark’s Square. It’s a fantastic central location for who wish to discover the most real Venice. Experience the thrill to visit the old fish market early in the morning or have a cappuccino staring the Rialto Bridge, walking only moments from your hotel.The palace has been the residence of family Reali, a noble family who became rich with the trade of the sugar. The seal of the family is a double crown, the same crowns you find in the hotel logo. The Hotel is overlooking a canal and it has its own water entrance. Customers can easily arrive or depart by private transportation. In case you prefer to user the public transportation, the ferry stop of Rialto is only 150 metres away. Ferry line “Alilaguna” arriving and departing from the airport also stops in Rialto.The Hotel Ai Reali is a 4 stars hotel S offering all the services you normally find in a 5 stars, including the restaurant “Alle Corone” serving Venetian food with home-made pasta and pastry, a comfortable bar, a bar in the garden (open in summer),A wine cellar, a gym, a great “Reali Spa” with Jacuzzi, steam bath, sauna, emotional showers and a massage center. The products used in our Spa are provided by Vitalis a brand “total nature” well known in Italy.Regarding business, Ai Reali, offers a congress center with a big salon for 75 people, with wifi internet connection and if your dream is a great wedding in the most romantic city of the world, don’t miss the chance to ask our assistance, we are ready to arrange the wedding of your dreams, including the ceremony in the beside church, reception, gondola or boat transportation, lunch of dinner in any style, wedding make up and spa treatments. The decoration of the hotel and the rooms is classical Venetian with a lot of antiques and all bathrooms are full marble in different and elegant colors. The floors have been totally restored, you will really feel like to be in the 18th Century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ai Reali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing