We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A gem in the centre of Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ai Reali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ai Reali
Ranked #24 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A gem in the centre of Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel from 20th June 2014. We booked mainly because of our fellow reviewers recommendations and were absolutely right to do so.

The Hotel is a 5 minute walk from Rialto Bridge and about 10 mins from St Marks Square. It is perfectly positioned to enjoy all of the restaurants that TA also advises and I have reviewed Oliva Nero and Osteria alle Testiere elsewhere.

I have to completel;y endorse what my fellow reviewers have said. The Hotel is an oasis of air conditioned calm with extremely friendly and professional staff that will go the extra mile if you ask them.

We took the Junior Suite which had one of the best all marble bathrooms I have ever seen and a great view over the tiny canal that runs outside. The room was pristine with Murano glass chandeliers and period Venetian furniture. Everywhere you look there is evidence of the no expense spared attitude to decor and design. If I had to pick a fault the best I could come up with was plastic cups in the bathroom which I did not understand in all that opulence.

I am not sure why some reviewers criticised the breakfast. It had a great variety of hot and cold food, fresh baked pastries, cereals, fresh juices, breads etc. More than enough to fuel you before the rigours of a days walking in Venetzia.

The common parts of the hotel are utterly delightful, its quiet and well run and, like others before me, I would urge you to book it before it becomes mega popular and the prices rise.

As a 4 star hotel it is right at the top of its game and cannot be too far from rating a 5 star.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    162
    35
    17
    9
See reviews for
191
767
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed for two nights at Hotel Ai Reali in mid June. Everything about the hotel was fantastic, the room, including the furnishings and our view, the location which is between the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco, the garden and lounge and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and will absolutely stay here the next time I'm in Venice!

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor overlooking Campo de la Fava with a slight view of the canal. Our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a very, very elegant hotel. Excellent in all respects. Very well furnished. Good location by water and on foot. It is possible to walk to St. Marks square. The staff were very helpful. They answered questions and provided suggestions for sightseeing. Particular thanks to Chiara who was helpful with the train reservation all knowledgeable about all things about Venice. Everything worked well. We absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahamarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is appointed in the old Venetian palazzo style, vaulted ceilings, Murano chandeliers, velvet wallpaper, antique dressers, marble and gold bathrooms. Very modern and new but with fabulous old world feel inside the rooms. The staff is wonderful in every way, speak perfect English and couldn´t have been nicer. A short walk from Rivoli water taxi and over only two sets of steps, which for Venice is not bad! I highly recommend you try this romantic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbdstix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
282 reviews
280 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We much enjoyed a four night stay in the Ai Reali, overall a delightful base and destination.

The hotel occupies one side of the small Campo de la Fava. It's just a few minutes’ walk (including one bridge) from the Rialto and also accessible by water taxi. Many of the city’s top sights are within easy walking distance. Although the district is overcrowded and somewhat touristy, the immediate area is surprisingly peaceful and the hotel itself is a quiet and calm oasis in frenetic Venice.

The hotel is an elegant conversion of a one-time palace.and has c. 40 rooms of varying sizes,- some quite large, some quite small. There is a small outdoor area where bar and food service is available, an excellent restaurant and what appears to be a well equipped spa (which we didn’t use). The decor is traditional and includes elaborate glass art and flower arrangements. The indoor public areas are spacious by local standards and they are well air-conditioned.

Our ‘de luxe’ third floor room was large, with a large private terrace and a view of the campo, and it retained its original wooden ceiling (or a convincing fake). However, apart from good storage, the room was sparsely furnished e.g.just one upright chair (we got another on request). There was one small table which was poorly lit and we could find only one spare power outlet. The (bathless) bathroom was well equipped but it was tiny and it took a long time to get cold water after using the hot tap. Overall, and despite its size, the room was for sleeping rather than living in.

There is fast and free WiFi throughout the building but a separate code is required for each device.

The front desk staff were very helpful and professional.

Breakfast is an adequate if unexceptional buffet but about as good as one can expect in Venice.

We took dinner twice in the Ai Reali’s excellent and good value Alle Corone, which also has professional and cheerful staff.

We thought our pre-paid rate of c. $470 including breakfast was quite good value by local standards.

We think the Ai Reali is an exceptional hotel with well-above-average staff and we would rate it a good four star with some five star touches. The room furnishing and lighting could be improved and it’s irritating that access to any part of the spa is an extra (few come to Venice to use a spa but a dip in a pool could be a welcome respite?).

In 16 trips to Venice, we have stayed in a variety of hotels from five star down and, overall, we think the Ai Reali comes out on top, just ahead of the Ca’ Pisani. Highly recommended.

Tip - visitors to the Biennale should buy their tickets in advance or start in the Arsenale. There was a 90+ minute queue for the Giardini’s ticket office on the day of our visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Fantastic hotel in the heart if Venice. Close walk to Rialto bridge and San Marco's square. Hotel is only a few months old in a beautifully renovated palazzo. We stayed in a junior suit which was huge. Staff most attentive and made some excellent restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antigone888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Late plans, quick booking on the internet brought us here. You always see pictures and are usually disappointed but not this time. I must say we got very lucky. Excellent accommodations and service. New and elegant with an excellent staff. Excellent meals. Centrally located near the Ponte Rialto and S.Marco Square. We when we return this is the hotel of choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,731 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#36 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#12 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,406 reviews
San Polo
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#17 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ai Reali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ai Reali

Property: Hotel Ai Reali
Address: Castello, Campo della Fava 5527, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ai Reali 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ai Reali is located in Campo della Fava, a small quiet campo, few steps away from Rialto Bridge and only 5 minutes away from St. Mark’s Square. It’s a fantastic central location for who wish to discover the most real Venice. Experience the thrill to visit the old fish market early in the morning or have a cappuccino staring the Rialto Bridge, walking only moments from your hotel.The palace has been the residence of family Reali, a noble family who became rich with the trade of the sugar. The seal of the family is a double crown, the same crowns you find in the hotel logo. The Hotel is overlooking a canal and it has its own water entrance. Customers can easily arrive or depart by private transportation. In case you prefer to user the public transportation, the ferry stop of Rialto is only 150 metres away. Ferry line “Alilaguna” arriving and departing from the airport also stops in Rialto.The Hotel Ai Reali is a 4 stars hotel S offering all the services you normally find in a 5 stars, including the restaurant “Alle Corone” serving Venetian food with home-made pasta and pastry, a comfortable bar, a bar in the garden (open in summer),A wine cellar, a gym, a great “Reali Spa” with Jacuzzi, steam bath, sauna, emotional showers and a massage center. The products used in our Spa are provided by Vitalis a brand “total nature” well known in Italy.Regarding business, Ai Reali, offers a congress center with a big salon for 75 people, with wifi internet connection and if your dream is a great wedding in the most romantic city of the world, don’t miss the chance to ask our assistance, we are ready to arrange the wedding of your dreams, including the ceremony in the beside church, reception, gondola or boat transportation, lunch of dinner in any style, wedding make up and spa treatments. The decoration of the hotel and the rooms is classical Venetian with a lot of antiques and all bathrooms are full marble in different and elegant colors. The floors have been totally restored, you will really feel like to be in the 18th Century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Ai Reali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing