We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“What a great find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ai Reali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ai Reali
Ranked #24 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just returned and had to write a review. What a great little hotel. Fabulous location, friendly staff, beautiful decor and exceptionally clean. Venice is all about the sight-seeing so you are out and about most of the time therefore, if you like nice hotels but don't want to spend the earth on a five star then this could be the hotel for you. The breakfast offering isn't great but it is adequate. The hotel is close to the Rialto bridge for easy airport transfers. I'd have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    163
    35
    17
    9
See reviews for
193
768
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Pros
The hotel is in a perfect location (when you can find it! Coming from the Rialto bridge is it a few hundred yards down a side street next to the Disney store). Venice is mainly about walking around and therefore the hotel is in the best location to see most of the sights and eat well.
The hotel is finished to a high quality, all very clean and with a beautiful marble reception.
The staff are friendly and speak English.
The smart TV and free wifi in the rooms means watching YouTube or listening to music is not a problem, although there are little English channels, no movie channels and no DVD player.

Cons
The standard room is small for a 4 star hotel and the place was too booked up to accommodate a room change for our duration. That was a disappointing start to the holiday. The €20 charge per person just for access to the pool and sauna is ridiculous considering what we paid to stay there. There is no facilities to make tea, no iron to borrow and not a large range of breakfast options. There was no option to extend the check out time from 11am to 12pm. The air-conditioning unit made loud noises for a minute or so a couple of times during the trip.
We stayed in room 101. Luckily the area was mainly quiet but this room does face above the entrance and any noise would travel.

Venice is beautiful and is definitely worth exploring. Check out Alfredos Pasta to Go (best pasta we've ever had and the staff were amazing) and Arte Della Pizza (a bit of a walk and down a side street but the best pizza slices at €1.50). The ice cream place, Gelato D'Oro on the way is the best ice cream we've ever had as well. Yes - we ate well! Check out Tripadvisor for the details.
Be aware of the service charge to sit down in many cafes and restaurants, I'm sure there will be a sign to explain but otherwise it may come as a surprise the first time the bill comes.

Room Tip: Choose a suite or deluxe rooms if possible, standard rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dylan_Smiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

An old palace/courthouse which has been converted to the highest standards. It is very well run by friendly and highly professional staff. The location is ideal - relatively quiet small square with it's own canal entrance but only 2 mins from the Rialto and the vaporetto. The spa is a little expensive but the rest of the place is good value. It would be difficult to go wrong with tbis place.

Helpful?
Thank Witchford-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is the first time we have been to Venice and the hotel ai-reali was everything we expected and more. I am tempted to say it is the best hotel I have ever stayed in!
The rooms are brand new, designed in beautiful traditional Venetian style (we stayed in the 'classic' type room). The staff was very helpful and we also enjoyed a relaxing day in the hotel spa due to an unforeseen rain storm that flooded Venice.
The location is excellent, right in the heart of Venice next to the Rialto bridge which makes traveling to/from the airport a breeze (you don't need a special water taxi, just take the shuttle-boat to the bridge and walk for 5 min).
In total, the hotel is highly recommended for any couple going to Venice but it is less suitable to families with children.

Room Tip: The 'classic' room was quite adequate, I wouldn't take any of the more expensive rooms u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Perfect location, minutes walk from the main attractions i.e. Rialto Bridge and San Marco Square. Absolutely gorgeous interior, wonderful service, couldn't fault it. Note unless you stay at a hotel on the grand canal, the close proximity of all the buildings in Venice means you won't get much of a view from your room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London3836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Unlike the previous reviewer, we stayed in 104 with no problems whatsoever - I think it unfair to give the hotel such a low mark on the basis of creaky floorboards, not that we noticed any anyway!

The hotel is very near the Rialto Bridge, is very well positioned in a quieter yet central position in Venice. Suite 104 has three lovely windows opening directly onto a quiet canal with 'typical venice' views in both directions. Our only criticism of the room was that it needed 'developing' - it was clear the furnishings had been designed for style rather than function, which made for a great look, but could be irritating when you realised there were too many drawers and too few mod cons. We mentioned this on the way out and the staff assured us they were changing things in response to customer suggestions.

I would agree with the previous reviewer that breakfast was nothing special - mainly because they have not sorted the service out yet ( it is recently refurbished). The waitresses worked very hard but the organisation was lacking, as were standards - one pot of coffee would be nice, the next, awful. The male manager (didn't get his name) was ok on the desk, but should have rolled up his sleeves to help out when things got busy in the breakfast room, done some maitre'd-ing, took a few orders and tightened the show up.

Overall though, we would stay here again. It is a beautiful, clean, central hotel that gave us the quintessential Venice experience.

Room Tip: 104 is fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 729PaulB729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Do not stay in the suite 104. Both my husband and I did not have the best sleep. There were creaking floorboards and other strange happenings throughout the night. Lucky for me my husband kept it quite light hearted with his Ghost Busters jokes. Most of the staff were very friendly except for the night manager I believe his name was Andre who was not very helpful at all. This particular suite is overpriced and is in need of maintenance urgently. It sounds from other reviews that the other bedrooms are fine. It is a good location. When you entire the hotel it is beautiful. Breakfast is nothing to rave about.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Angiemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,736 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#36 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Sant'Angelo sul Canal Grande
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#12 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
San Polo
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#20 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ai Reali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ai Reali

Property: Hotel Ai Reali
Address: Castello, Campo della Fava 5527, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Ai Reali 4.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ai Reali is located in Campo della Fava, a small quiet campo, few steps away from Rialto Bridge and only 5 minutes away from St. Mark’s Square. It’s a fantastic central location for who wish to discover the most real Venice. Experience the thrill to visit the old fish market early in the morning or have a cappuccino staring the Rialto Bridge, walking only moments from your hotel.The palace has been the residence of family Reali, a noble family who became rich with the trade of the sugar. The seal of the family is a double crown, the same crowns you find in the hotel logo. The Hotel is overlooking a canal and it has its own water entrance. Customers can easily arrive or depart by private transportation. In case you prefer to user the public transportation, the ferry stop of Rialto is only 150 metres away. Ferry line “Alilaguna” arriving and departing from the airport also stops in Rialto.The Hotel Ai Reali is a 4 stars hotel S offering all the services you normally find in a 5 stars, including the restaurant “Alle Corone” serving Venetian food with home-made pasta and pastry, a comfortable bar, a bar in the garden (open in summer),A wine cellar, a gym, a great “Reali Spa” with Jacuzzi, steam bath, sauna, emotional showers and a massage center. The products used in our Spa are provided by Vitalis a brand “total nature” well known in Italy.Regarding business, Ai Reali, offers a congress center with a big salon for 75 people, with wifi internet connection and if your dream is a great wedding in the most romantic city of the world, don’t miss the chance to ask our assistance, we are ready to arrange the wedding of your dreams, including the ceremony in the beside church, reception, gondola or boat transportation, lunch of dinner in any style, wedding make up and spa treatments. The decoration of the hotel and the rooms is classical Venetian with a lot of antiques and all bathrooms are full marble in different and elegant colors. The floors have been totally restored, you will really feel like to be in the 18th Century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Ai Reali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing