We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria Al Todaro

Gelateria Al Todaro
Ranked #46 of 79 Dessert in Venice
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Marco
Description: Ice cream in Venice since 1948
mcallen
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

the food wasnt anything special but the location, being in the plaza san marcos, made it very special

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kathymcallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    71
    28
    16
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful ices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Well you just have to taste the icecream if you are in Italy-if the queues are too long there are other places where you can buy lovely ice-cream. Enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Misty109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanex
Level Contributor
344 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“A cool treat at St Marks Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Located in St Mark's square just opposite the Doge's palace on the corner leading to the park. Very good gelato and reasonably priced, especially being in St Mark's Square. We went around the corner to the park to enjoy it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 894robertj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you go to Venice, you have to have an ice cream at this gelateria. It is in St Mark's square just opposite the Doge's palace on the corner leading to the park. It is the most delicious I have tasted and the price is extremely reasonable, especially being in St Mark's Square - Euros 2.50 for a one scoop cone or cup (large scoop!). You can even have two flavours in your one scoop ice cream because actually they give you two scoops. You can get larger ones, but I am not sure how anyone can eat more than the one scoop!! Delicious - we went there every day of our week in Venice. My favourite was the coffee and amaretto - simply heaven, and we went around the corner to the park to enjoy it in comfort!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank carolina46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Al Todaro also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Gelateria Al Todaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing