We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Venice Hazel Guest House
Ranked #215 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC Hostel”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Don't look anywhere else to stay. This place is perfect. I didn't think it was possible to be that clean but evidently it is! The persian staff are great, took us round venice and showed us where was good to go and even helped find places we wanted to go to. The rooms (ours even included a balcony at £20 a night!) are fantastic as well as the kitchen and lounge area. Simply great value for money. We stayed in a lot of hostels in our stay in Venice, but no one came close to this.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    54
    29
    9
    13
See reviews for
13
61
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

The place is run by a really friendly host and is near to the famous attractions in Venice. The st Marks square, Rialto bridge which are about 10-12 minutes walk. There are shops and cafés surrounding this place.

We had a very private room down the hall way which was the only guest room and so the toilet outside of our room was very private and was like just for us to use.

Free wifi provided and the room was HUGE. It was just me and my husband but we felt we could fit another 2 more adults in the room. The most amazing thing about this room is it has a canal view ! Which was amazing . You can hear the sound of water in the evening and the morning .

In the morning, my husband and I put two chairs by the window and just enjoyed seeing the canal and the many gandolas passing by and waving at people. It was such a fun experience.

Definitely a must place stay!! Price is good and there is a kitchen for guests to use too as my husband and I made our own pasta that night for dinner. It was like staying in our very own place.

We really wished we could stay longer and enjoy the room more.

Highly recommended place!!!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank alijanst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The room we stayed in was at the end of the hall next to a bathroom. It was very quiet and we had a huge room and even through the bathroom was shared it felt like it was a private one. We had lots of windows that looked down a canal. The view was beautiful. I loved having use of a kitchen. They had everything I needed for cooking and clean up. The staff was very very nice. They did take cash only which I didn't like so much as it's a lot to carry around. The windows onto the canal were lovely but there was noise from passing boats very early. It was easy to find. Everything was very clean and a huge bonus was the bed was soft and comfy!! If we come back to Venice we will stay in the very same place. We went in early April 2013.

Room Tip: The room at the end of the hall by a bathroom is very big and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Went back in October (28th-30th) with a friend, and this place was great. Medi was super cool, circling all the places to check out on a map (and even labeled everything when I got confused, haha). Very nice and chill, and kinda cute ;)

Anytime we needed anything or had questions, they were very accommodating (explained transportation, allowed us to print, towels & sheets, etc.) :)

The entire hostel was SUPER clean, cozy, and colorful.

Even though a shared bathroom, it was super clean and had a great view!

No breakfast, but pretty great kitchen!

Great price, 112 euros for 2 nights. However, if you want to do luggage storage after you check out (if it's past 2 or 3pm I believe), you have to pay 3 euros.

FANTASTIC LOCATION. So close to everything.

Overall, great hostel for those on a budget, looking for cleanliness, perfect location, and great staff :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Despite the name, this is not a B&B, it's a hostel. But it's a nice little hostel. Finding things in Venice is hard enough, and this place is somewhat difficult to find initially, but it's in a very quiet location and only a short walk to Piazza San Marco and several of the water taxi routes.

I stayed in the co-ed communal room which had six beds. They've got lockers in the room, but not enough for everybody to have their own, so I had to store my stuff under the bed. They've also got a few lock boxes, but they aren't bolted down. That's pretty much it for the downsides. Linen rental was 10 euros, which is pretty standard for a hostel, and there's free wi-fi. There's a communal kitchen that is fully equipped, and two full bathrooms which I never had to wait on.

The staff was friendly, and they did full cleanings of the bathrooms and the kitchen everyday. I'd recommend this place if you're looking to do Venice on a tight budget and you don't mind sharing space.

Room Tip: Splurge for a private room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We booked this place for September, due to the location. Location is really good. But that's it.
Our train was an hour delayed so we got there at 10 p.m. on a saturday and the receptionist's welcome was rude, bordering on hostile, grudging that he should charge us extra for that time of arrival. Then, SHEETS AND TOWELS ARE NOT INCLUDED, each person must pay 10 euros if you want them.
We had a shared room which was very spacious but the floor was so noisy that whenever one went to the bathroom, everyone was woken up!!!
If you didn't pay through booking, they will only take CASH, bear that in mind.
Breakfast was so poor we had to buy breakfast elsewhere.
All in all, too expensive for a poor service, we do not recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

It´s great located, in the heart of Venice, near San Marcos Square. The personal is very kind, but the rooms are very very small. We booked a Double Room and they gave us a room with a regular (one person) bed, and they also make and extra charge for the sheets. If you want to leave your baggage a couple of hours the last day of your stay, you also have to pay 3 euros per baggage.
The breakfast is very poor and only between 8 and 9 am, so it is difficult to go when you have few bathrooms to share with the other people of the B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elvira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Bed & Venice
Bed & Venice
#129 of 457 in Venice
258 reviews
Castello
B&B Gli Angeli
B&B Gli Angeli
#185 of 457 in Venice
93 reviews
B&B Venice Dream
#266 of 457 in Venice
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
B&B in Venice Back to San Marco
Castello
Oceano Mare B&B
Oceano Mare B&B
#56 of 457 in Venice
181 reviews
Giudecca
Casa Genoveffa
Casa Genoveffa
#259 of 457 in Venice
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Hazel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Hazel Guest House

Property: Venice Hazel Guest House
Address: Castello 4977/A | Fondamenta de l’Osmarin, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Venice Hazel Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing