We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience”
Review of Hotel Moresco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Moresco
Ranked #2 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Markham Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

It seems I have only positive things to say about our trip to Europe this summer but believe me the Hotel Moresco in Venice is a must for any traveler wanting to have a 'platinum' experience. First off, you can take a water taxi door to door from the airport to the hotel. If that's too rich for your budget you can take a bus and walk a short distance to the hotel. When you arrive you are greeted with champagne and/or a drink of your choice. The breakfast buffet comes with champagne every morning if you wish and a delightful choice of fresh made breakfast items as well as items for the sweet tooth people. There are snacks during the day and evening that are complimentary to all. I found the room to be very clean and the hotel itself to be full of interesting artifacts to view.
What a way to enjoy a vacation in Venice.
Jo-Anne lake

Room Tip: View of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo-Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,734
    131
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
207
1,409
17
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I loved this hotel. It is esy to get to from P Roma, but very quiet. I prefer hotel away from the busy tourist areas. The hotel had wonderful A/C and all the modern ammenities, was clean as a whistle, and still had the charm of a classic hotel. The breakfasts were excellent, with fresh fruit, eggs cooked to order and great coffee. You could eat in the garden but we stayed in the pleasant breakfast room which was air conditioned. Even better, the staff was kind and very helpful, I had a broken arm and needed ice in the room in the evening. After one request they offered ice when we returned each night without me having to ask.
Thanks to all the staff, Mirco especially, for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great rooms, recently renovated. Lots of attentive staff per customer. Very classy feel. No bath though, which for a 200+ euro/night hotel is a shame. A few downsides for me but these may be my fault. They dont tell you much about what the hotel has to offer. I still dont know if food is available (other than breakfast), we found out after there some kind of happy hour at the bar, I dont really know what is available at breakfast, i was offered eggs, but saw people have a range of other things. Its quite a way from St Marks's square, especially if you get lost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_tcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

hotel is great with lots of nice touches. breakfast was very good, nice food, eggs and bacon if required, and you can either eat indoors or in the garden. rooms where very nicely decorated, with great aircon, we had to have a quilt!! evening happy was great, little snacks for free with a nice drink.
we used the hotel to our sellected resturants, which we arranged well in advance, they were great at this. they also arrange private water taxi and then car back to airport (nice black merc).
location is great, just away from the main areas but close enough, just as we wanted.

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cornelius, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

There's a reason this hotel is ranked #2 out of all the hotels in Venice. From the moment we walked through the entrance, it was an outstanding experience.

The classy and romantic atmosphere of Hotel Moresco surpassed every expectation.

Mirco and Barbara at the reception desk were very attentive to our needs and they seemed to be determined to ensure we had a great time.

Alex, who seemed to be a jack of all trades, was a true pleasure to talk with and he worked very hard to accommodate the needs of every guest. They are lucky to have him. (He deserves a raise!)

A few tips:
- We stayed in room 108 and as far as we were concerned, it was perfect. It was a corner room that gave you a great view of the canal.
- If arriving by plane, set up a water taxi through the hotel when making your reservation. It takes you door to door from the airport to Hotel Moresco and it's the perfect way to begin the amazing experience you'll have in Venice.
- Forget the water bus when trying to San Marco Square. It's faster and cheaper to walk. The water bus takes a very long time and it's very uncomfortable and hot when it gets crowded. (It was in the mid 90's when we visited and we still found walking to be the best route.)
- If you have trouble walking and are not rich, the water bus is the best route.
- If you don't mind the expense or have several people in your group to share the expense, the water taxi is nice. It cost around 60-70 euros for very short rides...we didn't feel it was worth it for general sight seeing & exploration.
- If you would like to visit Moreno, be sure to make a reservation through the hotel. They will provide you with a free taxi that will take you directly to one of the glass factories. That tour is also free. You're on your own to get back to Venice. (A taxi here might be the way to go. This is a much longer trip. We had friends that took the bus and it took them over an hour.)
- The best meal we had there was at Enoteca Ai Artista...my wife and I are true Foodies and we both found it to be an all around amazing experience. It's less than a 10 min walk from the hotel. (They will set reservations for you at the hotel).

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel Morescco for 4 nights, I highly recommend you try to avoid carrying too much luggage. You will have to walk up and down canals etc, even to train station 15 min walk. Boat ride to train station whopping 50 Eur. Suggest you get a taxi service to hotel cost 50 Eur as you seriously will get lost. Hotel feels like a bed and breakfast but of course with amenities of hotel. Clean and spacious. I stayed in both the canal and superior room and both are spacious rooms. Superior room has more shower gadgets compared to canal room which is the upgraded one. Croissants amazing- downside menu- should provide menu for breakfast for guest to know what they can order. They make decent cuppacino. Recommend 3 nights Venice - I went to amazing Leonardo da Vinci exhibition in one of the churches- loved it. St Marc's square of course is lovely. Amazing culturally rich place to visit( my 2nd time) Mosquito season in July bring repellent. Dinner average for 2 adult one child around 47 Eur without alcohol

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank singaporesaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from staying here and we have to say; the Hotel Moresco is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. It is classical with modern twists and very romantic. The staff are amazing, the rooms are beautiful and clean, and the breakfast buffet is enough to get you through to supper.

We had just come from a rubbish hotel in Rome, so this hotel had a lot of ill feelings to deal with. After we eventually found it (10 minutes from Piazzle Roma) we were greated with cold drinks and biscotti, our bags were taken care of and our room air conditioned. We could even see the canal (room 204).

I would recommend this hotel to anyone considering a visit. Thank you Hotel Moresco for a truly memorable stay. Thanks to your hotel saving our holiday, I plucked up the courage to propose - she said yes :)

We hope to visit again soon. For me, 4 stars are not enough.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlane88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,640 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 385 in Venice
2,010 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moresco

Property: Hotel Moresco
Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moresco 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Moresco, located on the Rio Nuovo canal (1.4 km from Peggy Guggenheim Collection and 1.6 km from the Rialto Bridge. Less than 5 minutes walk from Piazzale Roma, 700 metres from Santa Lucia Station) is a wonderful gem in the heart of the beautiful city of Venice. The hotel is warmly decorated with a fusion of Venezian and Oriental design, it has a library with leather seating and a fireplace for guests. and it overlooks a private garden, with sun terrace and a bar area. The elegant rooms are unique and inidividually themed and offer 32" LCD TV with satellite channels, room service and free Wi-Fi/LAN , safety-deposit box, Nespresso machine, minibar. The superior rooms include a relaxation and / or balcony, and the suite has a whirlpool bath. The reception is open 24/7, breakfast and private transport to Murano island are included in the price. The care and attentiveness of the staff make you feel surrounded by an oasis of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Moresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing