We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Venice”
Review of Hotel Moresco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Moresco
Ranked #3 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We spent a fantastic 3 days at Hotel Moresco. The rooms were very clean and new and the staff extremely polite and very helpful. I have to admit the omelettes with mozzarella were out of this world and I have yet to taste better cappuccino anywhere in Italy than what was served at Moresco.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farrah867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,448 - 1,454 of 1,961 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel was one of the finest I've stayed at.and I've traveled all over the world. It was conveniently located, exquisitely decorated, excellent breakfast buffet and very helpful staff. Attention to detail was at its finest. I would have liked a view but that wasn't available.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet so there is no bad room whether there's a view or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ArleneB435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Let's cover the basics first. We stayed in a lovely ground floor room with no views except of courtyard trees. The room was decked out in a Luxe retro style while the salon or lounge was a more formal dark wood setting with a bar.

Breakfast was a highlight of each day, eggs cooked to order and a range of fresh fruit and pastries accompanied with some of the best coffee we've had so far on the trip.

The stand out was the service. Very helpful and attentive. My wife's birthday was recognized with a bottle of champagne and while she siesta'd I was able with the help of Mirco (I hope I have his name correct) to organise a last minute personalized canal tour and table at one of the best restaurants in Venice, Riviera.

Location is good, especially once you realize that you have two routes to head to the heart of town.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perennialtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very welcoming team and available to help with all your needs. We went to an opera at a local church on the first night and a Vivaldi concert on the second - all booked via the hotel. The garden is lovely and great to have breakfasts. Lots to choose from - the eggs are great and the coffee delicious ask for a latte, milky coffee. Happy hour is great - and from 6.30pm as I remember, great value drinks and titbits to eat. Mini-bar prices are great. We paid extra for a superior room and asked for a bath - they will always try and accomodate where possible.

It was easy to find from the bus stop - you can get there yourself easily. As you look towards the big bridge (and from the middle of the bus station as you get off the bus, look right. You'll see some steps down to the canal side and another bridge in front of you. Cross the bridge to the other side of the canal (you'll see a park in front of you) and turn right. Just follow this canal for about 5 minutes and you are there. Have a look on google maps image view for more information.

The location is right near the bus stop to the west, so not right in the centre of things - but that's what we loved. It was quieter and better value. Most places easy to walk to and the main water bus station is right up by where you got off the coach in the main square.

Our favourite place was Campo Santa Margherita, which is a huge square about 10 - 15 minutes walk from the hotel. Again, the hotel can give you directions, but basically, it is over the bridge next to the hotel, turn left to the bottom, turn right and then cross the first or second bridge to the left. Lots of places to eat and drink and the best ice cream shop. The square is also on the way to St Marks Sqaure.

St Marks Square is about a 30 - 45 minute walk but is easy and you can take a relaxing walk with lots to see on the way. St Marks Square was amazing and breathtaking, and I'm sure you'll be planning a visit there. It's up to you where you eat. The cafes there are very expensive and we personally did not use them, but hey it's up to you how you spend your money. Caffe Florian is about 6 euros to sit and about 30 for a tea and coffee.

We also spent about 18 euros each on a 24 hour water bus pass and spent most of a day just chilling on boat rides to see lots of different places.

Take comfy shoes and loose fitting clothes as you will be tempted by lots of great food.

Enjoy and if you have any more questions, just ask.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel didn't disappoint. After a long flight, we received a warm friendly welcome from the reception (thanks Barbara!), and were offered drinks to enjoy in the pretty garden area while they prepared our room.

Our first impression from the hotel was that everything seemed sparkling new and all common areas were spotless/well kept. Our guest room (208) was richly decorated with great art and beautifully patterned wallpaper. The bed was just on the perfect side of firm, the pillows were soft, and the amenities smelled yummy. Most important of all, there were 2 big windows in the room and another in the bathroom that opened to face a nice quiet canal. It was our first time in Venice and to wake up to the views from these windows every morning was an amazing and unforgettable experience. Breakfast was ample with breads, cheeses, meats, sweet cakes, and delicious wake-you-up-right-now coffee. Location in Dorsoduro can't be beat...we actually enjoyed the walk from the hotel to the more popular attractions (Piazza San Marco, Rialto Bridge) as we saw a lot more of Venice along the way. Thank you so much Hotel Moresco!

Room Tip: 208 has great windows and views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank celestoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Lovely warm welcome with free drink - it was like coming home to your family. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are large and very comfortable. Breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice ranging from continental to eggs & bacon.Service is very attentive without being intrusive.Plenty of restaurants within easy reach as are cashpoints & Post Office.Nearest vaporetti stop is near the main rail station but we chose to prebook a water taxi to & from the hotel which I strongly recommend if only as being the perfect way to travel & at 185 euros for a return journey for 4 people was excellent value.

Room Tip: Friends had a front room overlooking canal- excellent views. We had a side room with restricted view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenBLeigh_on_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Moresco for 3 nights in the beginning of April. We booked online and accidentally booked the wrong room category. We sent an e-mail just after dinnertime here in Texas and got a response back within minutes... which was surprising, given the time difference! We ended up in the room we wanted - the Chestnut Vendor's Room. Love that you can request a specific room!
The location - The location is amazing! I was hesitant to stay far from St. Mark's at first, but I am so glad we did! The hotel is close to the train station (10 min. walk max) - only 3 or 4 bridges... which believe me, is fantastic! Be sure to get step-by-step directions to the hotel (the ones provided on the site worked for us) because getting lost in Venice is fun but I can't imagine it'd be as fun with luggage! It's even closer to Piazzale Roma (5 min. walk), where you can catch a bus to and fro the airport. A large vaporetto stop is at Piazzale Roma too... and I think it's the 1st stop for many lines, which like others have said, means prime spots for viewing the scenery on the vaporetto! We took the vaporetto many times and meandered our way back from places.
The room - Our room was fantastic! I'm so glad we booked a room with a canal view and that we chose that specific room! The bed was comfy and the room very chic/modern. The only thing that would have made the room better is a bathtub! We got a bottle of prosecco in our room as part of our booking package. It was a nice touch!
The staff - Again, amazing! The hotel provided us with a good map too. The staff was helpful in every way - printing tickets, giving directions, booking dinner reservations.
The hotel - The lobby and dining area of the hotel was so chic. Breakfast was nice too, even though we only ate at the hotel 1 of the 3 mornings. I loved all of the small touches this hotel provided - from a welcome drink to a departing souvenir.
All in all, one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. It probably should be a 5-star hotel. I would 100% book this hotel again... my only hope is that with all of these amazing reviews, it doesn't become too expensive!

Room Tip: Book a canal view room. Look at the photos online and request the specific room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,129 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
3,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Cannaregio
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
#1 of 385 in Venice
1,340 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moresco

Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $169 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moresco 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Moresco, located on the Rio Nuovo canal (1.4 km from Peggy Guggenheim Collection and 1.6 km from the Rialto Bridge. Less than 5 minutes walk from Piazzale Roma, 700 metres from Santa Lucia Station) is a wonderful gem in the heart of the beautiful city of Venice. The hotel is warmly decorated with a fusion of Venezian and Oriental design, it has a library with leather seating and a fireplace for guests. and it overlooks a private garden, with sun terrace and a bar area. The elegant rooms are unique and inidividually themed and offer 32" LCD TV with satellite channels, room service and free Wi-Fi/LAN , safety-deposit box, Nespresso machine, minibar. The superior rooms include a relaxation and / or balcony, and the suite has a whirlpool bath. The reception is open 24/7, breakfast and private transport to Murano island are included in the price. The care and attentiveness of the staff make you feel surrounded by an oasis of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Moresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing