We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Moresco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Moresco
Ranked #2 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel was booked for us as an anniversary present by our daughter. The greeting we received from the receptionist was a very warm one and as we were early, we were able to leave our luggage whilst we went off exploring. Very heplful staff throughout our stay. Lovely room with view of the canal.The garden area was lovely and we enjoyed a drink there on arrival whilst the receptionist dealt with our checking in. Would definitely return there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMatt1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,474
    115
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
163
1,208
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with beautiful rooms, lovely garden area and great location, only 5 mins from bus station in very nice area with easy access to walk or get water buses. great restaurant recommendations from hotel and good map provided.

only thing to improve - Had to ask for eggs at breakfast, they didn't offer or tell you and we wouldn't have known if we hadn't read reviews read reviews

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Discojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were on a 12-night trip through France and Italy and this was by far the best hotel during our stay. This really should be a 5-star hotel, not 4. We were warmly greated by the front desk and every morning, the same. Breakfast was fantastic. Tons of food and they will make you eggs if you ask Tony! The garden area was very relaxing for an afternoon apertif or evening drink. The rooms are beautiful and the views are great. It was also nice to be away from the craziness of St. Marks Square.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Best choice we could have made. The interiors look pretty much just as pictured- lovely. I would have uploaded some but really the rooms are just as they appear on the hotel website. I was very happy with the location- being AWAY from the hustle and bustle of the major attractions was exactly what I wanted. Yet it is very easy to walk to almost anyplace you want to see. Also, the proximity to the bus and train station makes coming and going easy and affordable. It took probably about 7 minutes to walk to/from the train station and 5 to/from the bus depot. We had a standard room with a view, which was lovely to have but I think a garden view would be lovely also. The service and cocktail hour was very nice, as was the breakfast. The weather was not quite warm enough to use the courtyard, which will be wonderful for breakfast and evening cocktails. For those wondering if the proximity to the bus/train stations at all detracts- I did not find that at all. You can not see either from the hotel and generally the area surrounding the hotel seemed residential with a few more modern (for Venice) apartment structures. But overall it appeared to be a very well kept neighborhood. The Academia is an easy walk and the square along the way there has many places frequented by locals. cantucciIn the other direction towards the Rialto there are also serveral quaint squares and restaurants. Another bit of advice- walk as much as you can and take the traghettos to cross the canals. Forget the vaperettos which get so crowded you can't see out.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggsJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel was the highlight of our stays throughout Europe. We stayed at all 5-star hotels with the exception of this one, and it was still our favorite. The location is perfect, as it is so close to the bus drop-off and yet very close to everything else that you want to see. Before our trip I was told that it is best to wander throughout Venice anyway, and it was so fun to walk around all of the streets.

The staff really shines and will cater to every need that you have. Whether that is restaurant reservations, directions, or something special to drink any time of day.

Thank you!

Room Tip: We booked the basic room, and it had more than enough room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Moresco at the end of April and from the moment we got there to when we left, we had a lovely stay.

The staff are very welcoming into this small but well formed hotel. They all spoke excellent English, and Alex in particular was a very friendly face.

We had complimentary tea when we arrived and they allowed us to check in early. We had a canal view room (why stay in a canal side hotel and not have a view!).

The rooms are decorated to a very high standard, as is the rest of the hotel.

Breakfast is good, they do indeed cook eggs too.

The hotel is a comfortable 20min walk to St Marks Square, and there are plenty of nice places to stop on the way.

My very small niggles, which do not affect the overall score or my opinion, are 1)we are use to being given a map and a type of orientation, we did not get this but requested this. 2) There is a lovely folder in the room that has one piece of paper in, with the TV channels. I would have liked to have seen some information about the hotel, reminder of breakfast times etc. 3) We returned back on afternoon to find our door open, where the cleaner had not shut it (we reported this to reception) and 4) The aircon is centrally operated and so had no affected on the room temp. Not a great problem but if they made this clear in the hotel information, then we would have saved a visit to reception.

Overall a very lovely stay and would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonLassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Went to Venice for my husband's 50th birthday and booked the Hotel Moresco due to the good reviews on Trip Advisor and have to agree with them all. The hotel was fantastic. We stayed in a Junior Suite which was large and extremely comfortable with a gorgeous bathroom. The staff were lovely and the breakfast delicious. The hotel is slightly away from the main touristy areas but really only a five minute walk. Don't even bother looking at anywhere else to stay as I can't imagine how any other could be better than this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#3 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 634 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 387 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 3,211 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moresco

Property: Hotel Moresco
Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moresco 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Moresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing