We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Staff”
Review of Hotel Moresco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Moresco
Ranked #3 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Having stayed in a lot of nice hotels in Italy we have to say that the service at this hotel really stood out. It was fantastic. Upon arrival we were served an esspresso on the outside deck. Meanwhile they carried our bags up to our room. The staff detailed walking directions for several locations and made reservations at nice restaurants. This hotel is very well located as it is 5 minutes from the train station and Piazzale Roma. This is very convenient for easy arrival and departure with bags and saves a lot of frustration and money. The hotel is only about a year old so everything is in perfect condition. We needed to leave early in the morning and the staff even packed us a breakfast to go. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brumiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,509 - 1,515 of 1,947 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here. Lovely helpful staff, nice breakfast, clean and smartly decorated rooms, great location. Hotel also warned guests about high water and advised customers to come back to hotel beforehand. Being on high land meant we didn't suffer discomfort from it. The drinks and cookies we had in the lounge were also reasonable.

Staff made an excellent dinner reservation and reserved table for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBwasD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Close to piazzale Roma. Friendly staff.
Great room.
We felt very comfortable there.
Cookies 24 hours and tea for free.

You will love it.
That was our the best hotel. We stayed too in Florence twice, Assisi.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Magdalena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Echo the comments from earlier reviews. We had a superior room overlooking the Rio Nuovo and it was spacious, and kept meticulously clean throughout our stay. Staff were A1 throughout, friendly and helpful with recommendations for places to eat. Good room soundproofing, so you get a great night's sleep. Breakfast room is lovely, and choice of food was good. Had breakfast in their tranquil garden as well as it was warm, and that is even nicer!
The location is great, not just because it is convenient when you arrive/depart Venice, but it is a more peaceful area than the tourist-packed St Marks square & Rialto Bridge areas. I'd say its about 20 minutes walk to Rialto, 1/2 hour to St Marks, but what's the rush - get lost in Venice and see the quiet canals as it's worth it.
Only things I'd say is I wished they had tea/coffee making facilities in the room and DVDs or movie channels, as for UK visitors you just get BBC World news. Loved the place and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Hotel Moresco is a lovely boutique style hotel with superb decor throughout. The staff are excellent, very helpful and actually made us feel that they really cared about making sure our stay was as enjoyable as possible.

Location is excellent, only a short walk from the taxi/bus drop off point. Breakfast is a delight and again the waiting staff were superb.

The rooms are very comfortable, tastefully decorated and exceptionally clean.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for anyone wanting to stay away from the main tourist areas but with easy access to any part of Venice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mirna T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have just spent 4 nights @ the Hotel Moresco in Venice. It was our first visit to Venice and this hotel suited us perfectly.

In Venice, location IS everything. When you are newly arrived, you do not want to have to struggle to find your hotel, nor do you want to be lugging cases up & down steps over lots of bridges, nor battling against a tide of tourists in the St Mark's Square area - and we saw lots of people having to do just this. Hotel Moresco solves all these difficulties.

Having decided that we would travel by road from the airport, we found that the "drop-off point" would be Piazzale Roma - that is where all road traffic (bus, taxi) terminates - and therefore we wanted to stay fairly near to Piazzale Roma. In addition, we wanted a hotel away from the busy Piazza San Marco (St Mark's Square). This hotel meets both requirements. It is less than 5minutes walk from Piazzale Roma, with only 1 bridge to cross (an important point when you have luggage to carry), in a mainly commercial area, which is thus fairly quiet.
But it is only about 20minutes walk from Piazza San Marco and all the main "sights" of Venice are in easy walking distance. In short, perfect location.

The hotel is small, newly renovated but in a traditional style. Beautiful windows & light fittings. The bar & breakfast room are both attractive rooms. We had a good-sized bedroom, very well fitted out, with a large comfortable bed; well fitted bathroom with an excellent shower.

Good choice for breakfast and freshly cooked eggs are available if you wish.

There is a small garden area at the side, with tables & chairs; this is useful for a quiet relax on a sunny day when you need to re-charge batteries between sight-seeing excursions!

Last but not least, as everybody has commented - the staff! Friendly and so helpful. If you are struggling with anything (especially how to find your way somewhere) just ask. And of course they can suggest places to eat. Incidentally, although the hotel is in a mainly commercial area, there are plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance; those suggested by the hotel which we tried were good.

In short, this is a great small hotel and we wouldn't hesitate to stay again if we return to Venice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JandJLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,107 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Cannaregio
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
#1 of 385 in Venice
1,319 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moresco

Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $186 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moresco 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Moresco, located on the Rio Nuovo canal (1.4 km from Peggy Guggenheim Collection and 1.6 km from the Rialto Bridge. Less than 5 minutes walk from Piazzale Roma, 700 metres from Santa Lucia Station) is a wonderful gem in the heart of the beautiful city of Venice. The hotel is warmly decorated with a fusion of Venezian and Oriental design, it has a library with leather seating and a fireplace for guests. and it overlooks a private garden, with sun terrace and a bar area. The elegant rooms are unique and inidividually themed and offer 32" LCD TV with satellite channels, room service and free Wi-Fi/LAN , safety-deposit box, Nespresso machine, minibar. The superior rooms include a relaxation and / or balcony, and the suite has a whirlpool bath. The reception is open 24/7, breakfast and private transport to Murano island are included in the price. The care and attentiveness of the staff make you feel surrounded by an oasis of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Moresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing