We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and Staff”
Review of Hotel Moresco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Moresco
Ranked #2 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Staff”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Having stayed in a lot of nice hotels in Italy we have to say that the service at this hotel really stood out. It was fantastic. Upon arrival we were served an esspresso on the outside deck. Meanwhile they carried our bags up to our room. The staff detailed walking directions for several locations and made reservations at nice restaurants. This hotel is very well located as it is 5 minutes from the train station and Piazzale Roma. This is very convenient for easy arrival and departure with bags and saves a lot of frustration and money. The hotel is only about a year old so everything is in perfect condition. We needed to leave early in the morning and the staff even packed us a breakfast to go. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brumiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,684
    129
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
194
1,377
17
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here. Lovely helpful staff, nice breakfast, clean and smartly decorated rooms, great location. Hotel also warned guests about high water and advised customers to come back to hotel beforehand. Being on high land meant we didn't suffer discomfort from it. The drinks and cookies we had in the lounge were also reasonable.

Staff made an excellent dinner reservation and reserved table for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBwasD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Close to piazzale Roma. Friendly staff.
Great room.
We felt very comfortable there.
Cookies 24 hours and tea for free.

You will love it.
That was our the best hotel. We stayed too in Florence twice, Assisi.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Echo the comments from earlier reviews. We had a superior room overlooking the Rio Nuovo and it was spacious, and kept meticulously clean throughout our stay. Staff were A1 throughout, friendly and helpful with recommendations for places to eat. Good room soundproofing, so you get a great night's sleep. Breakfast room is lovely, and choice of food was good. Had breakfast in their tranquil garden as well as it was warm, and that is even nicer!
The location is great, not just because it is convenient when you arrive/depart Venice, but it is a more peaceful area than the tourist-packed St Marks square & Rialto Bridge areas. I'd say its about 20 minutes walk to Rialto, 1/2 hour to St Marks, but what's the rush - get lost in Venice and see the quiet canals as it's worth it.
Only things I'd say is I wished they had tea/coffee making facilities in the room and DVDs or movie channels, as for UK visitors you just get BBC World news. Loved the place and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Hotel Moresco is a lovely boutique style hotel with superb decor throughout. The staff are excellent, very helpful and actually made us feel that they really cared about making sure our stay was as enjoyable as possible.

Location is excellent, only a short walk from the taxi/bus drop off point. Breakfast is a delight and again the waiting staff were superb.

The rooms are very comfortable, tastefully decorated and exceptionally clean.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for anyone wanting to stay away from the main tourist areas but with easy access to any part of Venice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have just spent 4 nights @ the Hotel Moresco in Venice. It was our first visit to Venice and this hotel suited us perfectly.

In Venice, location IS everything. When you are newly arrived, you do not want to have to struggle to find your hotel, nor do you want to be lugging cases up & down steps over lots of bridges, nor battling against a tide of tourists in the St Mark's Square area - and we saw lots of people having to do just this. Hotel Moresco solves all these difficulties.

Having decided that we would travel by road from the airport, we found that the "drop-off point" would be Piazzale Roma - that is where all road traffic (bus, taxi) terminates - and therefore we wanted to stay fairly near to Piazzale Roma. In addition, we wanted a hotel away from the busy Piazza San Marco (St Mark's Square). This hotel meets both requirements. It is less than 5minutes walk from Piazzale Roma, with only 1 bridge to cross (an important point when you have luggage to carry), in a mainly commercial area, which is thus fairly quiet.
But it is only about 20minutes walk from Piazza San Marco and all the main "sights" of Venice are in easy walking distance. In short, perfect location.

The hotel is small, newly renovated but in a traditional style. Beautiful windows & light fittings. The bar & breakfast room are both attractive rooms. We had a good-sized bedroom, very well fitted out, with a large comfortable bed; well fitted bathroom with an excellent shower.

Good choice for breakfast and freshly cooked eggs are available if you wish.

There is a small garden area at the side, with tables & chairs; this is useful for a quiet relax on a sunny day when you need to re-charge batteries between sight-seeing excursions!

Last but not least, as everybody has commented - the staff! Friendly and so helpful. If you are struggling with anything (especially how to find your way somewhere) just ask. And of course they can suggest places to eat. Incidentally, although the hotel is in a mainly commercial area, there are plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance; those suggested by the hotel which we tried were good.

In short, this is a great small hotel and we wouldn't hesitate to stay again if we return to Venice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JandJLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Cannaregio
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
#1 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Charming House DD724
Charming House DD724
#3 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moresco

Property: Hotel Moresco
Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 3499, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moresco 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Moresco, located on the Rio Nuovo canal (1.4 km from Peggy Guggenheim Collection and 1.6 km from the Rialto Bridge. Less than 5 minutes walk from Piazzale Roma, 700 metres from Santa Lucia Station) is a wonderful gem in the heart of the beautiful city of Venice. The hotel is warmly decorated with a fusion of Venezian and Oriental design, it has a library with leather seating and a fireplace for guests. and it overlooks a private garden, with sun terrace and a bar area. The elegant rooms are unique and inidividually themed and offer 32" LCD TV with satellite channels, room service and free Wi-Fi/LAN , safety-deposit box, Nespresso machine, minibar. The superior rooms include a relaxation and / or balcony, and the suite has a whirlpool bath. The reception is open 24/7, breakfast and private transport to Murano island are included in the price. The care and attentiveness of the staff make you feel surrounded by an oasis of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, MyHotelShop, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Moresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing