We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there”
Review of Hotel Agli Artisti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Agli Artisti
Ranked #319 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great location for setting off on foot. Close to station & buses. On arrival, late at night, the receptionist kept us standing as he laboriously put our passport details into his computer. Not a smile, no word of welcome. Subsequent contact with other recetion staff was the same: grumpy, irritated at our presence. The breakfast was so dreadful it was almost funny. For a 3 star hotel the selection of food was minimal. The 2 girls there to "replenish" food and clear tables were determined to gossip the morning away in the kitchenette. Coffee, croissants, cutlery, plates - all ran out until a guest requested them. Then the girls reluctantly broke off from chatting to sullenly replace the item or clear a table to allow guests to sit down. This happened so frequently that it was a source of entertainment. Dreadful, shocking. Don't go there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Alison,

thanks for your feedback. I apologize for the behaviour of our Staff, both the breakfast girls and the night attendant, as they are suppoosed to be polite and help our guests when they nee something, as in your case. Just one note: I don't think food selection is minimal, we have pkenty of sweet products (i.e. 6 kinds of croissant, jams, bread yogurth, cereals, etc. and much more).

Regards

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Agli Artisti
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 565 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

I would have never stayed here if it wasn't the first hotel of our two week tour of Italy. It is well known that staff in hotel and restaurants in Venice detest tourists, especially Americans. The young lady in the morning has an attitute, but the young man on the evening shift is rude, arrogant and lazy. To get a code to use the free wi-fi, all the lazy guy has to do is push a button on a machine like an adding machine. But, that is too much trouble. This guy will yell at you if you loose it. The code is only code for 24 hrs. I got one and used it for my iphone, but had so much mail I needed one for my ipad. The guy yelled at me "only one per person". I heard him yell at someone else from my group. Once my code wouldn't work so I asked for another. His response "I can't keep giving you codes, you need to pay attention". This guy gets off at 11 pm, at 10 pm his girlfriend comes in and they play kissy-face, rub-a-dub behind the desk, while I'm sending emails. Don't ask the girl in the breakfast room where the coffee cups are because she will smirk and point to an obsecure shelf. Speaking of breakfast, pretty discusting. I tried the cereal with the pitcher of milk sitting on the counter that was now room temperature, couldn't eat it. Nothing nice about this place period. The only thing going for it is it is around the corner from the train station (and they know it).
Basic TV channels. Lamps on the side of the bed, but not plugged in because there are no plugs. Had to move one to desk so I could see to put makeup on. Bathroom shower a cubicle with sliding doors. Note, you need to very slim, very slim to fit through the opening.

Room Tip: Pick something else
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Sir,

thanks a lot for your review, actually I'm really disappointed of reading our night guy wasn't pleasent at all, and we already took some measures to improve his work, since we cannot accept he does not behave properly with our important guests (and you are all important).

Bathroom isn't so big, but I do not think it's as you describe it thought.

I really hope you can give us another chance in the future

Regards

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The first night, we did not have of bathroom in our room.
The second night, we changed room but we did not receive any compensation for the nuisance.
An effort should be carried out on the level of the breakfast

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank SergeVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Serge,

thanks for your feed. Actually we did our best to give you a perfect service, but I do not remember your case as I thought you did not reserve a room with bathroom, but without therefore the first night was not possible

Regards

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We just returned from an overnight stay at this Venice hotel. We found the staff to be unfriendly, the rooms basic to hostel level and not very clean. We were told the rack rate was Euro 180.00, which is unbelievable for this level of accommodation in any country. I would not recommend this establishment to anyone, although we did learn GAP vacations uses it (?)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Hello Alan,

I do not understand why you are saying rooms are hostel level, as they are not. Anycase, we will put a bigger effort in cleaning, as I agree with you it's really important. Concerning the price, I think you can't judge it since every price depends according to the city and the period of the year you are travelling.

Regards

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Very average I think for more than £100 a night. We arrived after travelling for five hours (plane, bus) Finally found the very confusing signs for the hotel and rang a bell to be greeted by the very rude night staff girl (long hair and glasses) who made no attempt to give us any hand with of bags or even show us to our room which I think for the price is rubbish. Every time we spoke to this girl throughout our stay she seemed very rude and unhelpful.

That all said the rooms were nice and the breakfast was to die for and I think if they sorted management it would be a good stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Ciao Ed,

thanks for your message. I'm really sorry for the bad service you got, and actually we already discussed about this matter to improve our service level. Therefore I'm pretty sure you won't suffer any problem in case you wish to come back here in the future

Regards

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you are expecting a VERY BAD service hotel ONLY, then you can book this hotel. My friend and I have booked a room (requested for 2 single beds) for 2 nights (in Mar 2013). We informed the receptionist (few days before check-in date) that we would check in late in the evening. It was very cold, we carried luggage from train station to hotel. When we opened the hotel door, the receptionist stood and said “Hey we have some problem here and sorry that we have booked another hotel for you, the name of hotel is Florida”. During walking from train station to Alloggi actually we passed by Florida hotel, it was few steps away from Alloggi. It was cold and we were very tired, so we didn’t argue at all. We just agreed and quickly went to Florida. It was a quite old hotel, but the receptionist in Florida hotel was very friendly (he spoke very good English too!). We finally got a room key and went straight to the room. Fyi, we got to know the Florida's room was cheaper than what we paid for (Florida’s room is 100 EUR/2nights, we paid Alloggi for 134EUR/2nights). There, we went to the room and found the bed was French bed (super single bed). How could 2 persons sleep in this small bed? Few mins later, we got a phone call from Alloggi saying that “It’s a mistake, we should be in another hotel instead of this Florida. The hotel was at the other side of river, so we should cross over bridge. I was so angry that time (Had so many things to carry) and decided to stay in Florida instead. Had argument with Alloggi's guy for few mins until I managed to ask them to upgrade my room in Florida. Finally, we got queen size bed room and it was still cheaper than what we paid for! It was 120 EUR/2nights. I WILL NEVER EVER book this hotel again!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Ratna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Hello Madame,

I apologize for the trouble. Unfortunately, we got several rooms close from the local government and we got no permission to used them anymore, therefore we made our best to give you the best possible accommodation as close as possible to our hotel: we were informed in the morning we had no option to use 40% of our rooms, so it was really hard to cope with this matter.

I understand your point of view, but actually we had no chance of adjust your matter.

Regards

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The location of this hotel is convenient to restaurants, shops and other attractions. The room was very small and my friend & I (part of a group of 13) were constantly tripping over each other. The step down from bathroom into bedroom seemed dangerous for those middle of the night treks from bathroom back to bedroom. The wifii connections rarely worked and one of the desk clerks was very cranky when we questioned him about it. Other staff members were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were quite good with excellent cappucino.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Ciao Charlotte,

thanks for your mail. We ordered another internet line, the second one, to improve wifi speed. I'm not sure it will be eough, but it's gonna be a little improvement.

Regards

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#342 of 384 in Venice
322 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#329 of 384 in Venice
362 reviews
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#262 of 384 in Venice
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#242 of 384 in Venice
416 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#237 of 384 in Venice
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agli Artisti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agli Artisti

Address: Calle Priuli Ai Cavaleti Cannaregio 99/C, 30121 Venice, Italy (Formerly Alloggi Agli Artisti)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $70 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Agli Artisti 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book your room in a quiet 'Calle' of Venice placed only 100 meters from the railway station! You can reach the most important tourist attractions by feet, and you are in the middle of the city life too! Our hotel is a very intersting place to stay, since it gives the tourist the opportunity to visit the most beautiful city of the world without spendind a huge amount of money. Indeed our interest is to sell as more as we can by imposing fees which are competitive if compared to those of other venice Hotels. Our room are well furnished, they supply air conditioning, tv, telephone, restroom with shower or bath (private bathroom inside or ourside, or sharing bathroom on the floor) and hairdryer, balcony. They are distributed on four floors (without lift at the moment). We are now building the breakfast room, in order to make your holiday in Venice better and better (it should be ready during September). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Agli Artisti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alloggi Agli Artisti Venice
Alloggi Agli Artisti Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing