We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot in a pinch”
Review of Hotel Agli Artisti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Agli Artisti
Ranked #273 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Red Bluff, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good spot in a pinch”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We found ourselves without a room arriving in Venice 2 days before several cruise ships were sailing and many places were booked solid. They Alloggi was able to accommodate us at a reasonable price. The hotel was a sound value for the price. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was quite satisfactory. We were besieged by mosquitoes all night and the people passing through the alley below our widow were drunkenly noisy into the wee morning hours - not the hotel's fault, just a matter of location. If you stay there keep the windows closed. The shower stall was very small, so if you are obese, very tall or built like a linebacker you may be challenged getting all of you in the shower at once. It is steps from the train station and the Ponte degli Scalzi and water bus stations.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the alley where you enter the hotel. Don't know what is on the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyanddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello,

thanks a lot for your review. We know hotel is a little bit noisy when there're young guys, we are thinking about refurbish some rooms to make them soundproof, but now we decided to give priority to the lift.

Hope to welcome you soon again

Regards

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    200
    151
    84
    51
See reviews for
89
283
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

If you want to get a hotel where you are sharing a bathroom with couple strangers, carrying your luggage using stairs, pungent old carpet smell and dull, lackluster front desk service, this is the hotel for you. I was thoroughly disappointed and considered switching to a different hotel down the block first night when we got there.

Room Tip: Ask what floor it is, there's no elevators. Only rooms on the ground floor has private bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yuni125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Sir,

well, I read your feedback and I consider it really unfair. It's true, we don't have lift (yet, we are ready to install it as it would be important), but we never advertise we have it, so before booking our guests know it. Then, our carpet is not old at all, may be it does not satisfy you but it's not old. Finally, our rooms: we have many rooms ensuite, on the ground floor, first floor, second floor, third floor, fourth floor, I don't know how you can say something you don't know.

Best regards, thanks for your unfair feedback

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reading
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a 5 bed room with breakfast and stayed for 2 nights.
Really good Hostel, full length mirrors, good decor, nice comfortable beds, OK breakfast but get there sooner rather than later, everything works. Shared shower units and bathrooms (toilet and sink) just like at a camp site.
Only negative is people staying there seam to have issues with where the flush is on the toilet, so toilets remain unflushed and with a door on the bathroom they can get quite smelly! Hostel could do with putting a sign on them where to flush. Also not enough places to hang washbags/towek/put stuff down in the bathrooms.
Could leave cases under stairs on the last day. Location is superb - 5 mins from the station (but you can't hear the trains)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AH-Reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello my friends,

thanks a lot for your review, it's really important to know when our guests are happy :)

Hope to see you next time again

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The only pro to this hotel is that it is a minutes walk to the train station. That being said, Venice is not very big and nowhere is very far from a waterbus stop.
The list of cons is extensive and covered by many other reviewers already, but for those still considering staying here, please bear the following in mind! The air conditioning doesn't work, and in our room it was more of a noisy heater than anything else. There is no elevator, and no fridge. The rooms are very small and suffer a lot from noise outside, and the shared bathrooms are hideous. In a hotel offering shared bathrooms, we imagined there would at least be an effort by staff to keep them clean. Not so here. The WiFi is €10 for 12hrs I believe, we thought this ridiculous having come from a hotel in Milan in which it was €2 for 24hrs. The breakfast is basic, and I do mean basic.
Agli Artisti should face facts, be honest, and call itself a low quality, overpriced hostel instead.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynsey105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Linsey,

Thanks for your review. Our a/c system works properly, if you stayed here in late September we switched it off as it was not necessary anymore, we hade 15 degrees in the night...

I will get in touch with our admin again to ask him a deeper control in cleaning, if you felt room wasn't clean enough it's sure our lack, and we must control cleaning staff more.

Considering the fact we do not have lift, it's written we don't have it, and in rooms we do not advertise we supply fridge, sorry.

Finally, wifi: costs is 10.00 euro per 24 hours connection, 8.00 euro for three hours and 5.00 euro for 1 hour, but you can login and logout, so if you stay 4 days you can use 6 hours per day and pay internet 2.5 euro per day. Also, it is free of charge when you reserve directly through our official website.

Best regards

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

You can't expect much from hotels in Venice.This is a good location with average (for Venice) facilities - which would mean poor anywhere else. But take note of what people say about air conditioning - there is none that works, and pretending it does is not a substitute when it gets hot in Venice. That is something you CAN get elsewhere, and is well worth having. Keep looking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff-A-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear guest,

thanks a lor for your review, it's really important to me. I wish to rebate anycase, as our air conditioning works anywhere, I don't now who told you it did not. Also, Venice hotel level is really higher than the one of oher people, so when you are saying average facilities means poor if compared to other places I think it's not true: if you go to Rome, Florence, or elsewhere you see standard id defintevely lower.

I wish you to come back here again to check our A/C system and or new facilites (lift, to be installed in January 2013), to see how we take care of you all

Regards

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

PROs:
+ Close to the train station, easy to reach.
CONs:
- No elevator, and no help from the staff. Good luck if you have to carry your luggage to the 5th floor.
- Even if you book a room "with private bathroom", the bathroom is not in the room, but accross the hallway. And the one we got was unconfortably tiny and not completely clean.
- WiFi very expensive. (3 euros an hour, or 10 euros for 10hr, if I recall well). I didn't use it, but I saw a guy complaining that the signal wasn't strong enough in his room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mecartistronico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello,

thanks a lot for your nice review. You're righ, position is very good. Also, without lift we have a very big lack, luckely we are going to install it in January 2013. Wifi connection instead is very expencive if you book your room through a OTA, while it's free of charge if you book your stay directly via our official website. I apologize for the external bathroom, if it was dirty as you say I must complaint our cleaning Staff, it's not acceptable.

Regards

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We felt very misled. This was supposed to be a 3-star hotel, but instead it felt like a hostel with 3-star prices and without the amenities. This was by-far the worst "hotel" we stayed at (3 nights) during our three weeks in Italy. Wireless internet was for an expensive charge (not free), there was a shared bathroom, the room was literally a broom-closet, and our requested "Double" room was with two twins. Breakfast had a poor selection and the location, while close to the train station, was very far from everything else.

I rarely review on these things, but felt so strongly disappointed by this hotel that I wanted everyone else to be warned.

Room Tip: Make sure to look for "Shared" bath and whether "Double" room includes two twins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest,

thanks a lot for your review. I understand room was expencive and bathroom was outside, but this was what you reserved. There're different room kinds and if you wish to get a room ensuite i.e. you can do that, just rates are different.

Also, you know wifi is free of charge if you book directly with us.

Best regards

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#249 of 385 in Venice
778 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#337 of 385 in Venice
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#232 of 385 in Venice
654 reviews
Cannaregio
Dolomiti Hotel
Dolomiti Hotel
#237 of 385 in Venice
297 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#198 of 385 in Venice
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agli Artisti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agli Artisti

Property: Hotel Agli Artisti
Address: Calle Priuli Ai Cavaleti Cannaregio 99/C, 30121 Venice, Italy (Formerly Alloggi Agli Artisti)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Agli Artisti 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book your room in a quiet 'Calle' of Venice placed only 100 meters from the railway station! You can reach the most important tourist attractions by feet, and you are in the middle of the city life too! Our hotel is a very intersting place to stay, since it gives the tourist the opportunity to visit the most beautiful city of the world without spendind a huge amount of money. Indeed our interest is to sell as more as we can by imposing fees which are competitive if compared to those of other venice Hotels. Our room are well furnished, they supply air conditioning, tv, telephone, restroom with shower or bath (private bathroom inside or ourside, or sharing bathroom on the floor) and hairdryer, balcony. They are distributed on four floors (without lift at the moment). We are now building the breakfast room, in order to make your holiday in Venice better and better (it should be ready during September). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Agli Artisti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alloggi Agli Artisti Venice
Alloggi Agli Artisti Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing