We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misled.”
Review of Hotel Agli Artisti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Agli Artisti
Ranked #317 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We felt very misled. This was supposed to be a 3-star hotel, but instead it felt like a hostel with 3-star prices and without the amenities. This was by-far the worst "hotel" we stayed at (3 nights) during our three weeks in Italy. Wireless internet was for an expensive charge (not free), there was a shared bathroom, the room was literally a broom-closet, and our requested "Double" room was with two twins. Breakfast had a poor selection and the location, while close to the train station, was very far from everything else.

I rarely review on these things, but felt so strongly disappointed by this hotel that I wanted everyone else to be warned.

Room Tip: Make sure to look for "Shared" bath and whether "Double" room includes two twins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear guest,

thanks a lot for your review. I understand room was expencive and bathroom was outside, but this was what you reserved. There're different room kinds and if you wish to get a room ensuite i.e. you can do that, just rates are different.

Also, you know wifi is free of charge if you book directly with us.

Best regards

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 565 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Basically we don't care about hotel too much when visit Venice and Italy in general.
The place is so fabulous that we go to the hotel just to take shower and to sleep a little.
Anyway Allogi Agli Artisti is very attractive due to its location: 5 min from railway terminal and 5 min walk from Grand Canal. Hotel faces a very quiet street so there is no night noise or crowds of tourists around. Clean and quiet. Breakfasts were... well,.. we came to Venice not for breakfasts :-).
Get ready for some fitness exercises: there is no elevator in the hotel and climbing to the 5-th floor may be a problem for an elderly person or for a lazy McDonalds addict.
Vaporetto station and good restaurants are very close.
Nothing special about service - everything worked ok so we didn't address reception for any help.
Price was EUR 130\night. Not too much for the high season in Venice.

Room Tip: remember: no lift in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Hello,

thanks for your feedback, I appreciate it. TO avoid your body becomes overtrained, in January 2013 we are going to install lift :)

See you soon then!

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and september and really have no complaints. it was very inexpensive and you do get what you pay for. the room was clean, the bathroom was clean with clean towels everyday. the furniture is very old fashioned and rooms quite small, but for 2 star in Venice it was very acceptable. it is near the railway station and piazzale roma so very convenient for travelling in and out of venice. the vaporetto stop is very close by as well, so its easy to travel to san marco and the rialto area. the staff were pleasant and as we had no problems we had no need to ask them for extra help. the breakfast was basic with coffee juice croissants biscuits bread and jam... simply continental. the A/C worked unlike it did for other clients who have used this hotel... it isnt the bes hotel i have stayed in but for the price and the convenience it was ideal.... i will stay there again if i go back to venice and would recommend to anyone who wants a BARGAIN and not luxury......

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Hello,

thanks a lot for your review, hope to see you again and bargain a bit together :)

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had an awful time. We booked two rooms, one for my wife and I for three nights, the other for my parents who were meeting us the next day for two nights.

Here is what happened.

Showed up at 9am train, was unable to check in before 12, understandable, but wait.
Showed up and sat in lobby from 11:30am until 12:30pm while everyone else was accommodated to and checked in early. The staff then enjoyed some coffee while we waiting for them to finish and then, finally check us in.

All three nights were ok for us. But as for my parents who are 60 and 65, the air conditioned was clearly broken and we were given the runaround.

This is what happened:

June 20th, 11:30PM Employee: Franco – Informed that there was NO AC – No action taken “Please speak tomorrow with manager.”

June 21st, 11:00AM Employee: Lalit – Informed us that they were calling the technician and that “We will have a fresh room upon our return.”

June 21st, 9:45PM Employee: Chiara – Walked with me to the room and verified that the AC was still not working. She walked outside to a AC utility station and said that the AC unit is “blocked.” Informed her that this was the second night and we check out tomorrow. She told me to talk to Lalit regarding price adjustments. Also confirmed that two other rooms #14 & #216 did not have AC either and were at the front desk informing them.

June 21st, 10:50PM Employee: Abdul – The room became hot, but Abdul was rude and told us to speak with the people in the morning.

June 22nd, 9:30AM Contacted Hotels.com and made a complaint. They attempted to contact the hotel but said there was no answer. I informed them I will try to get them to call when I checkout.

June 22nd, 10:00AM Checking out was a complete waste of time as Lalit said he fixed the AC. It was clearly not fixed. Whether he was lying or it was fixed while we were out, it was still non-operational during our stay. He asked for the city tax and I refused to give him another dime, this was NOT A SETTLEMENT for the non-operational AC and upon our exit, he informed us again he was going to make an adjustment with Hotels.com. However, I do not believe this based on his previous track record.

They basically ruined our stay in Venice. If you choose to stay here, be prepared to be smiled at with no action taken. And, any followups via email will be answered, but getting them on a phone call with Travelocity to verify any refunds will be IMPOSSIBLE.

Travelocity finally stepped up and granted the refund that the hotel was promising us, and like their other promises, were not followed through with.

Thank you Travelocity.

Breakfast was good, but not worth a rating a adjustment based on this headache.

To find out more locations we've been follow our Around The World Tour at http://chasethesummer.com

-Brad

Room Tip: Stay Away. Spend $10 more to a hotel that will treat you like a guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BradfordJBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Mr Brad,

I receive this new complaint/feedback (second on tripadvisor) from you, and it's almost incredible to read these things again, after we refund 66.00 euro for the trouble 1 room suffered the first night only, and after you wrote several mails to which I replied immediately, with a lot of kindness. Also, you treaten me to continue writing complaints (even if we solved the matter with the refund etc.), and you did it right now. It's really sad you don't have nothing better to do than wasting your time trying to damage our image, but I accept this new complaint and I think people with good sense will smile while reading your two reviews.

Everybody can read your previous feedback here, it's almost equal -> http://www.tripadvisor.it/ShowUserReviews-g187870-d324523-r132616224-Alloggi_Agli_Artisti-Venice_Veneto.html#UR132616224

I don't want to add anything else now, I just think now it's time to stop playing since you're not a teenager anymore.

Giacomo - Sales representive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel, got a room in the 4th floor and there is no elevator.
WiFi costs 5,- EUR for 60 minutes
No fridge in the rooms
Breakfast was not good
=> For a price of more than 70 EUR per person and day we expected more comfort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Reinhard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Hello,

thanks for your feedback. Please be so king to inform us why breakfast was not so good, as we use only first choice products. COncerning the rest, I regret to inform you we do not advertise we have fridge in the room, also it's written we do not have lift at the moment and wifi is a pyment service, which can be free of charge if you reserve directly on our website. In my personal opinion, before you judge or complain, it would be more appropriate to check what you bought, because if this is equal to what it's written in your reservation you cannot complain about. I think on tripadvisor guests should evaluate, not writing about something they know it's not advertised.

Best regards, hope your further feedbacks will be more accurate (I read this one is the first) to let other hotels make good use of them.

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have staid there for 4 nights in the middle of the Italian holiday season 2012. Nice and quiet hotel in a small narrow street (calle) near the train station and in walking distance from Piazzalle Roma. Service is good. Breakfast is avarage but limited. Coffee without taste of beans - not the usual Italian standard. Quit standard rooms close to all sightseeing in Venice. Resaonable prices.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinnogL-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hello,

thanks for your nice review, I hope to welcome you in the future and to offer an improved service where we can do more than now

Regards

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here in 2009 but just realised that I neglected to review it. Was quite hard to find initially but once we found it, it was very well situated. No lift but the stairs were ok not too steep.

Breakfast was limited but good. For some reason they wouldn't put out all the croissants and then once they had run out you had to ask for them which was a bit random. Person on reception was very friendly and helpful.

Bathrooms were ok but a bit smelly if that makes sense. Could have been cleaner - but weren't unclean by any means. Our room was tiny but we weren't there to stay in the room anyway. Our air conditioning was fine but kept having probs with the hairdryer tripping the lights and kept having to turn the switch back on which was strange.

I would visit again. Am going back to venice again this year and the only reason that we aren't staying at this hotel is because we wanted to try staying in a different region of the city.

I'm quite surprised at some of the bad reviews. Think it's a bit harsh as Venice is very expensive generally and this hotel is pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycamper066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Hello,

thanks for your review. I do agree with you: when several persons put review they don't know there must evaluate several factors, such as position, price, quality, city, season etc., and not just get angry because in another city they paid less. Anycase, thanks for your analysis, hope to see you again may be in 2015 :)

Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#328 of 385 in Venice
365 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#343 of 385 in Venice
322 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#265 of 385 in Venice
830 reviews
Hotel Airone
#348 of 385 in Venice
334 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#244 of 385 in Venice
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agli Artisti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agli Artisti

Address: Calle Priuli Ai Cavaleti Cannaregio 99/C, 30121 Venice, Italy (Formerly Alloggi Agli Artisti)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $57 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Agli Artisti 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book your room in a quiet 'Calle' of Venice placed only 100 meters from the railway station! You can reach the most important tourist attractions by feet, and you are in the middle of the city life too! Our hotel is a very intersting place to stay, since it gives the tourist the opportunity to visit the most beautiful city of the world without spendind a huge amount of money. Indeed our interest is to sell as more as we can by imposing fees which are competitive if compared to those of other venice Hotels. Our room are well furnished, they supply air conditioning, tv, telephone, restroom with shower or bath (private bathroom inside or ourside, or sharing bathroom on the floor) and hairdryer, balcony. They are distributed on four floors (without lift at the moment). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Agli Artisti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alloggi Agli Artisti Venice
Alloggi Agli Artisti Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing