We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfully quiet hotel and easy to find!”
Review of Hotel Agli Artisti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Agli Artisti
Ranked #305 of 385 Hotels in Venice
England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderfully quiet hotel and easy to find!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

It is (almost) around the corner from the train station, which made me a little nervous at first due to the anticipated noise, however it was wonderfully quiet and calm, the alley was easy to find - a boon after stepping off the train at about 10pm.

We had booked a room with shared bathroom facilities, don't be put off by this is was quite pleasant - I certainly saw nothing untoward and the facilties were very clean at all times. The bedroom itself was spacious with plenty of room for our clothes etc, we had room to spread out. There was air conditioning and I found it easy to operate. The bed was large and comfortable - what more could you need?

Breakfast was great, there was a large choice of items, almost every wish was catered for - I'm sure some people will wish to disagree but I found it to be an excellent choice. The staff were always on-hand and were tremendously polite and helpful.

I found it's location to be perfect, I came to Venice to see the famous "sights" but also to get a "feel" for the normal day-to-day Venice and this was close enough to those quieter areas so it wasn't too far to walk and far enough away from the busier areas for me not to be fazed by them.

All in all a lovely hotel in a plesant area of Venice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    201
    154
    85
    53
See reviews for
93
286
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Located very close to the train station and right next to a load of shops / restaurants, the hotel is very easy to find. A lot of people seem to comment that the hotel is in the perfect location and close to all the sights, but the truth is you can be anywhere on the main Venice island and be close to everything. You can walk across it in 30 minutes!

Rooms small and no frills. Include a free plug in Mosquito repellent with tablets which was a nice touch (and a necessity in Venice!) but otherwise completely standard. A bed, a towel, a wardrobe and that's about it.

Service was good. Always someone available if you need anything.

All in all, nothing special, but nothing exceptionally bad either. Fine for a short stay or if you're on a budget and you get a good price. Nothing worth seeking out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemsaloola
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel was our first stop on Italy trip. We arrived at around 9:30pm, before we travelled I contacted the hotel to let them know we would be late and they replied thanking me for letting them know. The location is perfect, a couple of blocks away from the train station and really easy to find after getting off the bus at the bus station.

We were located on the fourth floor, which was a bit of trek to get to, there's no lift, but we're young and fit so that wasn't a problem, during our stay we did help a couple of couples with their luggage as we passed on the stairs! If you can help people, help them! They'll appreciate it!

The room really good with everything we needed, a good shower, a comfortable bed and storage space.

Breakfast in the morning was a subdued affair, it was very quiet! The coffee is amazing and there's plenty of choice so even fussy eaters won’t go hungry.

Really enjoyed it. Although the older guy that manned the front desk at night was a little grumpy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemsaloola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I booked here for 4 nights a couple of years ago during the Easter long weekend. We flew to Treviso airport and got the bus down, so to drop straight into the bus station / car park, cross two bridges and find yourself pretty much at the hotel was great.

I was a little apprehensive when we arrived, as I'd looked up the hotel and thought I knew where it was - upon arrival I couldn't stop the street it was on at all! After a careful look I realised that it's on what appears to be a gap in the buildings on the main street, which then widens up to a proper street. I also noticed the large church just over from the street, and the busy street that this is adjacent to - I can happily say that once you are through the 'gap' and into the little street that this hotel is on, there really is next to no noise. It's lovely being so close to the action but not being disturbed by it!

It's also pretty much opposite one of the only bridges to cross the Grand Canal (fantastic), the train station and the waterbus station for the train station (La Ferrovia) and the only car park / bus station. Really cannot complain about that, especially for the price. Venice is a very walkable city, but even so little things like that really do make the difference, especially if you need to shift your luggage as well.

We had a space for our luggage to stay on our last day after we checked out, at no extra cost which was great. There is no lift, but they don't advertise one so you can't complain about things like that! When we arrived, they were still cleaning our room so we waited maybe 5 minutes - again, why would I complain that someone is making sure my room is clean & tidy? The room was maybe a little too small for the double bed and the sink and the wardrobe (if you're washing your hands/face and the other person is opening the wardrobe, you need to wait or climb over the bed) but that's part of the charm.

Breakfast was varied, croissants, yoghurts, cereals etc. We got up really early one morning and went to the Basillica before everyone else, came back to a still early breakfast - no trouble for anyone. Happy smiley staff, didn't really ask anything of them to be honest but didn't feel like we couldn't. Some rooms have ensuite, I think most have a shared facility - don't think I ever saw anyone else trying to use the bathroom (or really any other guests other than at breakfast, never heard them, not sure where they all were but they did appear in the morning!) and both on our floor were clean, tidy and the one closest to our room was really quite large.

Overall, I really think this is great value, especially for the location which I doubt you could beat - I wouldn't want to be right in St Mark's Square, for example as I'd rather arrive and not walk too far with my luggage!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pollydoodler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I had booked this hotel for one night before our cruise from Venice, and since we were arriving late at night, all I was hoping for was a comfortable bed at the end of a long day. The closeness to the train station was very attractive to us, as we were looking for convenience and not luxury.
What happened is that when we arrived at the hotel past 10pm, after a very long day of travel, we were told we had been "upgraded" to a private apartment. Now, said apartment was blocks away from the the hotel (and farther away from the train station), and although new and clean, its air conditioner was not enough to cool off the space. So instead of convenience, we received a very hot apartment farther away than where we hoped we'd have to take our luggage. We were given no explanation as to why this happened, and it seemed they expected us to be grateful for the "upgrade". My assumption is that they overbooked the rooms and sent us there instead. If we were staying for a few more days, the apartment would have been a great gift. But just for one night intended for rest and comfort, it ended up being a hassle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank safbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Sir,

thank a lot for your review. Actually we had a problem in the structure, that's why we sent you to an apartment (new, with a good a/c system). We apologize if you had to move so late in the night, but ufnortunately we had no chance of moving away somebody else.

Thanks

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2012

More variety for breakfast, e.g. cheese, meat, fruit.... now there was only jam and nutella. An elevator for elderly people, for as an almost 70-year old guest I had to take the stairs to the 4th floor three times a day! Bathroom could be cleaner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agli_Artisti, Direttore vendite at Hotel Agli Artisti, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Sir,

thanks a lot for your review. You remarked our weak points properly, but hopefully we are going to install a lift in November 2012, to avoid you carrying your bags upstairs next time you come visting us.

Regards

Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#264 of 385 in Venice
802 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#342 of 385 in Venice
320 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#327 of 385 in Venice
357 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#248 of 385 in Venice
411 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#232 of 385 in Venice
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agli Artisti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agli Artisti

Property: Hotel Agli Artisti
Address: Calle Priuli Ai Cavaleti Cannaregio 99/C, 30121 Venice, Italy (Formerly Alloggi Agli Artisti)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Agli Artisti 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book your room in a quiet 'Calle' of Venice placed only 100 meters from the railway station! You can reach the most important tourist attractions by feet, and you are in the middle of the city life too! Our hotel is a very intersting place to stay, since it gives the tourist the opportunity to visit the most beautiful city of the world without spendind a huge amount of money. Indeed our interest is to sell as more as we can by imposing fees which are competitive if compared to those of other venice Hotels. Our room are well furnished, they supply air conditioning, tv, telephone, restroom with shower or bath (private bathroom inside or ourside, or sharing bathroom on the floor) and hairdryer, balcony. They are distributed on four floors (without lift at the moment). We are now building the breakfast room, in order to make your holiday in Venice better and better (it should be ready during September). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Agli Artisti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alloggi Agli Artisti Venice
Alloggi Agli Artisti Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing