We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The best little pub we found in Venice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Al Squero

Osteria Al Squero
Ranked #11 of 1,364 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Description: Al Squero is the only Osteria in Venice exactly in front of the Ancient Squero of San Trovaso.There is no other place where appreciating from its window the construction or restoration of original Venetian gondolas. Is is a cozy and comfortable place where you can share with friends a glass of Italian wine and taste an appetizing “cicchetto” at a small price.The selection of wines you can taste or buy at Al Squero comes from small regional wine firms of Friuli, Trentino-Alto Adige and Veneto, so that it is guaranteed unique care at the quality and distinctiveness of their products
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The best little pub we found in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I promised myself to write a review about this place when we were there in May 2013. I am so glad we bumped into this little pub - in fact we visited it around 6 times over the 3 days we were in Venice. The owners who run this are really lovely and they provided us with the best service we received during this trip - not like many other touristy restaurants trying to rip off tourists with below average food, poor service and overpriced drinks. This place is where many locals go - good sign. Fantastic value for money but you get proper drink and food - a bottle of beer, glass of prosecco, glass of spritz, glass of wine each cost €2 which in Venice, is very cheap. I drank Spritz in many places in Venice and at this pub it is the cheapest but also tastes the best as they make it properly! Their cichetti is also the best we've had whilst there, very delicious toppings and fresh - in fact it is so popular they have to replenish their trays very frequently. They only serve cichetti and baguettes, no hot food. We had a bad meal in another touristy restaurant nearby so we asked the owner of this pub for advice on where to go - he gave us details of a few authentic Italian eateries in a less touristy area - amazing food! So just ask the owner for some advice on where to eat and he will give you good tips. He doesn't speak much English but he can communicate in French too. Really great little place that you MUST visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Diesel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    791
    303
    28
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful cichetti, value, and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great little place on a picturesque canal across from the gondola workshop. Best cichetti we had in Venice - the crostini was outstanding (and only 1 euro each). The wine was also very good (1.2 euros each). So it was not only excellent food and wine, it was also a great value. And as a bonus, the cleanest and nicest WC we came across in Venice. Can't go wrong at this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GLM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Venice happy hour!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were at Osteria Al Squero this past week and had the most amazing time. The service was the best I had the entire time I was in italy (1 week). The waitress took her time with us, she recommended excellent wines and spritz; including the best crostinis in town.
I regret not going back the next day:(

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tamarafont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful small tipical osteria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We found this place in reccomendetion by Hotel Palazzo Guardi that is 1 minute away from there.
Wowww the view to The squero is really interesting and unique.
Cicchetti were delicius and fresh!
Cicchetti + ombra = paradise

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rouge33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for lunch and pre dinner spritz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We ate and drank here a couple of times in April 13. Great value spritz, fresh crostini and good location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Al Squero also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Al Squero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing