We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Spritz”
Review of Osteria Al Squero

Osteria Al Squero
Ranked #8 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Description: Al Squero is the only Osteria in Venice exactly in front of the Ancient Squero of San Trovaso. There is no other place where appreciating from its window the construction or restoration of original Venetian gondolas. It is a cozy and comfortable place where you can share with friends a glass of Italian wine and taste an appetizing “cicchetto” at a small price. The selection of wines you can taste or buy at Al Squero comes from small regional wine firms of Friuli, Trentino-Alto Adige and Veneto, so that it is guaranteed unique care at the quality and distinctiveness of their products.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value Spritz”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

After a long day of walking the narrow streets of Venice we stumbled upon this tapas bar when we were heading north towards the train station. We noticed people sat on the wall outside having their refreshments. When we saw that an Aperol Spritz was 2.20 Euros and a bottle of beer was 2 Euros we didn't need second invitations to stop. It was lovely, and we were basked in sunshine on the little wall outside and there was a nice atmosphere all round. Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,198
    439
    46
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good cichetti”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I stopped here a couple of times for good cichetti washed down with a glass of wine.this place has advantages and disadvantages from gia Schiavi which is very close by. the cichetti aren't quite as good, but you can sit down and the service was much more welcoming and cheerful. Also, it wasn't as crowded.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrFun239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
707 reviews
433 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“Great cicchetti and my first Venetian spritz!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stopped here for lunch/spritz after completing our free walking tour. Our guide had pointed this place out and it was only 10 minute walk from our tour's ending point. Great, great, great place. Cicchetti and spritz were both fantastic. Yes, it's across from the gondola boat yard. I was more concerned with good food/drink and getting a seat inside. Check for all three requirements! And yep, € 2.20 for spritz (I did find a cheaper spritz at another place for € 2.00!). When in the Dorsoduro area, seek this place out. You won't be sorry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmeisteren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cicchetti!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Nice little place. One of the cheapest Spritz places we found. Only 2.20 Euros for an Aperol Spritz. Many Cicchetti on offer that looked lovely. Get a selection of them and sit back enjoying a sit down and a nice drink. Plenty of good quality wines at a cheap price. Closed Mondays I think as we went back and it was shut. A must when travelling to Venice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hagowagard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect bar.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Lovely little bar opposite gondola boat yard. Lovely selection of snacks for 1 or 1.5 euros. Delicious prosecco @ 2.20 euros a glass. Friendly service too! Splendid.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soozipooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Al Squero also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Al Squero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing