We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“wonderful food and quirky setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gastronomia San Maurizio - CLOSED

Gastronomia San Maurizio
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: San Marco
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful food and quirky setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great selection of locally produced food.
Staff happy to advice.
Good price and a welcome break from hectic Venice. Well done

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank feeb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    21
    7
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“My favorite place to eat in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

A small place with barstools and old barrels for tables but its perfect for a lunch stop while visiting the city. No big crowds and very casual. They serve a variety of small portions that can be viewed in a glass case before ordering. We even tasted some things before ordering. Everything I tried was outstanding! We stopped back twice while in Venice during a short stay - if it were a longer stay we would have gone again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing spot, good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stumbled across this little place after turning our nose up at countless dry baguettes, rolls and slices of pizza.what a little treat!! Staff very friendly with always a smile on his face. Tastefully decorated and a good spot to relax away from the heat and bustling crowds. We had the rice salad and caprese salad- nice change from all the bread! On top of that. We enjoyed a a glass of prosecco,pleasant surprise in venice!! A must!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good casual restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Really liked this place. Their food is brought in from the formal restaurant across from it. The staff is super friendly. The prices are reasonable. They serve wine and beer. If you're looking for a well-priced casual place to hang out, eat, and enjoy a drink this is your place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaliTwin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The neatest hideaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Where to eat where the crowds don't bother you? This cute little hideaway has the best food - view it through the window - and the right atmosphere for Venice. The staff (owners) are really keen to serve you. They brought in a bottle of bubbly from the tavern across the alley and they provided a gastronomic delight gratis (a superbly presented brownie with a chili center). Great food for a low price. A few tables inside. Ortherwise takeout.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Indianajol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastronomia San Maurizio also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing