We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Our Daily Treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gelateria il Doge

Gelateria il Doge
Ranked #8 of 84 Dessert in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Description: In the eastern corner of the Campo Santa Margherita square, it is run by two cousinswho make their own seasonal gelatos and ices, and it has to be one of the the very best gelaterias in Venice! Read your forum for more on this one.
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our Daily Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was our favorite. We went daily when we were in Venice. Sometimes more than once a day. The guy who helped us was the same every day and he was really helpful and friendly. You can't go wrong-it's all delicious. My favorite was the Limon Granitas, but the Gelatos were all amazing too! Perfect place to grab a treat and stroll the streets.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FeedingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    75
    28
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I love this gelato”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

By the time my husband and I had been in Venice for 30 hours, I had been to Il Doge 4 times! I knew it from a previous visit, so headed right there since Campo Santa Margherita is very close to where we were staying. There are many typical flavors, but also some house specialites. There was often a line of people waiting for gelato, and many of them were locals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeverlyZ1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEST ice cream in venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Real artisan ice cream produced freshly on site every morning. You can tell. Delicious, rich flavours. Just the right consistency of creamy yet no where near gunky. Having sampled all the gelaterie I passed, and knowing quite a bit about ice cream - Il Doge was truly the best I found in all the city!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coco_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
323 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Tasty stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

There's little to say about gelato side stands except that this one has about a dozen delicious flavours organised roughly between fruit and creamy based gelato. We had a dark cherry, chocolate and hazelnut one (3 different flavours in one cup) and a mixed berry, strawberry and lemon. Each were delicious and had a strong genuine flavour - ie not artificial flavouring. These set us back €7 all together.

Highly recommend if you're in the area. Cheaper than ordering dessert in the neighbouring restaurants to much en route home or to another site.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lcollens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Loved the Ice Cream, the best I have tasted yet. I have promised myself I will never buy cheap ice cream again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tom_overing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria il Doge also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Gelateria il Doge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing