We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Locanda Salieri
Ranked #196 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this small hotel in Venice. Hotels in Venice were pretty expensive and Locanda Salieri was one of the cheaper options here. It was about 10 mins walk from the train station as we had heavy luggages. When we arrived, it was quite expected - furnitures were old and the reception had a smell. There was no lift and the reception was very kind to give us a room on the second floor (we had booked a room on 3rd floor). There was no one to help us with our baggages and we had to lug it up ourselves.

The room was clean and smelled nice, the furnitures were however quite old and tv very small. Room was quite spacious and toilet clean. Wifi connection was quite stable as well.

Breakfast was at the restaurant next door. Basic but adequate.

Service was pleasant, they try to answer any questions you may have. You can also ask for a map from the reception. Was puzzled with the housekeeping on day 2 though. They cleaned our room but did not change our towels...

Overall it was a very basic hotel, would recommend it if you just needed a place to sleep in expensive Venice. I will pay for a better hotel next time though.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purplelove11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Locanda Salieri
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 330 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a room just under the roof. It was room 12. At the first glance it was quite good: a large bed, a table, chairs, a cupboard. There was a shower and air conditioning. Then we started to reveal shortcomings. Firstly, my wife saw a bug or rather some kind of caterpillar. It moved very quickly but finally we were able to kill it. After that we imagined these caterpillars everywhere:) But, fortunatelly we saw and kill only one after that. Secondary, air condition in the next room worked very loudly for me at least. My wife slept very well, but I had problems because of that sound.

But then we found a big big advantage. There is a small area on the roof on which you can sit. We came out of the window onot that area, sat there, drank wine and had a very pleasant view on the channel.

Room Tip: If you choose #11 or 12 you may use a small area on the roof. Read my review for more details.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

A great value small hotel within easy walking distance of the Piazzali Roma where the Marco Polo airport buses arrive and depart. Easy to find and a good base to walk around Venice. We had a small double room (very adequate) with en-suite (very nice with a good shower) and air conditioning (not absolutely silent but quiet enough to leave running all night). Our room was on the top (3rd) floor (very quiet) and although there is no lift life was made easy by the willing assistance of the friendly english speaking young man on reception who carried some of our luggage. Breakfast was good and taken in the adjoining restaurant. Not a 5 star hotel but fantastic value for a good budget establishment. Our experience puts this hotel top of our list and we will have no hesitation in booking a room there when we are next in Venice.

Room Tip: The higher the room number (of 12) the further from ground level and quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

It was good that we only stayed here for 1 night only on our way to our Venice-Rovinj ferry, otherwise, consider other hotels in better locations nearer to Venice' attractions. Though the room has a view of the canal (you have to pay extra for this), the bathroom was clean but reeks of chlorox smell; the room very tight (not unusual in Venice) and furnitures were so dated with the chair not fit to sit on as it is just a cushion without support underneath it. The armoire has that old, unventilated smell so we did not put anything in it. This hotel is supposed to have air condition but we cannot use it because according to the receptionist the season is over and the central control is off. So, on a unseasonably warm day (end of Sept.), we had a very uncomfortable sleep. Also, be aware that beside the hotel is it's restaurant that closes 12:00 PM which means, that there will be lots of noise inside and outside the restaurant until 12:00 PM or so. I requested the female receptionist to place a restaurant for us but when we arrived at the restaurant we were told that they never received a call/reservation from our hotel but was kind enough to seat us. Most important, a very valuable personal item was taken; a first in our 15 years of travel.

Room Tip: Before placing a reservation, make sure you will have access to an air condition, if necessary.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and were both very impressed with our hotel stay. This hotel is very close to the bus and train station which was great since our stay was short and convenience played a big part in the hotel choice. Trust me you do not want to be dragging your suitcases/bags around Venice unless you are staying there for a few days and will be taking a water taxi to your hotel.

Having done my research and reading reviews about the place I requested a room with a private bathroom and a A/C. The room was very basic and small but clean and efficient. For the price it really is a great value in Venice. We did not spend much time in the room so it did the job. We had a “view” but I wouldn’t recommend paying extra for it since the windows are rather small and I could have done without. The staff was great and very helpful. If you are checking out early make sure you speak with them and get sorted out the night before need be. The breakfast next door was typical, coffee, cheese, ham, croissants etc. The bread was freshly baked and you could tell it was made there. We bought bottles of water and snacks from a café down the road. I highly recommend the gondola ride they offer because it was a lot cheaper than booking a gondola ride any other way plus Alex gives you a very personal gondola ride and shows you Venice from a local’s point of view.

My one regret is that we did not go to the restaurant adjacent to the hotel both nights. The food was the best I had during my vacation, the entire staff was extremely friendly, the wine they recommended was perfect and the singers/violinist and candle light created the best mood. I highly recommend going there at least once for dinner and order off their specials menu.

When I return to Venice I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissE-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I picked this hotel based on reviews, price and location. I was not disappointed. The hotel is an easy 5 min. walk from P.Roma, you only cross two bridges, very important if you have luggage. I had room #3 which had a balcony overlooking the canal, very nice. Room size was normal for european standards, water was always hot and wifi was reliable. Breakfast was in the restaurant next door. Not bad, but I am not a big breakfast eater, so it maybe a bit spartan if you rely on a large breakfast to start your day. Location was close to the train station and many restaurants and attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for room #3 if you desire a nice view of the canal with a balcony. It is slightly more money bu...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank car4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is in a quiet location a pleasant 10 minutes walk from the station, the Grand Canal and the Piazza Roma, one of the main termini for the tourist boats.

This hotel was recommended to us by a friend. We were told to ask/book room 3 at the front which we did and the booking was confirmed by email. However on arrival we were told that this room was not available but we could have room 4 which was next door. We were a little disappointed that our booking had not been fulfilled but settled for the room offered. The room was quite small but clean and tidy and overlooked the canal with a small balcony that is just too small to sit out on but good enough to watch the world go by. A continental breakfast is included in the price and provides a good choice of cold buffet and more than adequate supplies of coffee.
The hotel staff were always pleasant and happy to provide assistance with maps and routes. The Ribot restaurant where breakfast is served is worth a try for an evening meal, with a menu of house and Venetian specialities. Overall the hotel provides excellent value for money and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel which overlook the small canal that runs by the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeoffP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Residence Palazzo Odoni
Residence Palazzo Odoni
#117 of 384 in Venice
438 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#128 of 384 in Venice
909 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel al Malcanton
Hotel al Malcanton
#222 of 384 in Venice
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#179 of 384 in Venice
306 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Santa Croce
Hotel ai Tolentini
Hotel ai Tolentini
#209 of 384 in Venice
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda Salieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda Salieri

Address: Fondamenta Minotto Santa Croce 160 | Canale del Gaffaro, Santa Croce, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#144 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $48 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Locanda Salieri 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Locanda Salieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Salieri Hotel
Locanda Salieri Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing