We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a church”

Santa Maria dei Miracoli
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.26*
and up
Private Tour: Venice Art and Architecture Walking Tour
Ranked #25 of 708 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Just a church”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Its ok as i expected more from this church, however, you got to experience this yourself. Make sure you know what time it opens and closes as we went there around lunch time and it was closed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vebs32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    181
    31
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Save all your prayers for this baby”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

She is really something special. I know she doesn't look like anything special, but when you've been wandering around for an hour looking for her, then you get amazed when you first lay your eyes on her. The most beautiful church on the outside - no doubt. I didn't not see the inside, just had a little peak, and I'm not impressed, since I've seen some really amazing churches in my life, but definitely a memorable one.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathias R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“"Just beautiful"”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This church is absolute perfection. Not only is it an architectural delight but you will enjoy everything that your eyes gaze upon--the marble, the colors, the images--everything. If you only have time for a few churches (which would be a shame), put this one right after San Marco.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank classicalmusictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The gem”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This little church is a real gem. Its simplicity sets it apart from many others, but that is deceptive. Take care to mount the altar steps and look at the carved putti round the wainscot. They are quite charming. If your interest is spiritual this is the best place for quit co temptation I know.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frank_Doris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
320 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
“Little treasure”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Whether you find this by luck or skilful map reading doesn’t matter, it’s worth wandering through the very pleasant area of South Eastern Cannaregio and Northern San Marco and if you stumble across this then so much the better. It wasn’t marked as an attraction on any of the several different tourist maps we picked up but there are plenty of “Miracoli” campos and calles around to tell you when you are nearby. Looks like a jewel box; all of the decoration of St Marks but at a fraction of the size and you could well be the only people there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BadgerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Maria dei Miracoli also viewed

 

Been to Santa Maria dei Miracoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing