We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall a good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Foscari Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Foscari Palace
Ranked #93 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overall a good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before and looked forward to our return. The hotel is lovely, and the room was great. A couple of "critiques: the jacuzzi did not work in our room, and we heard this feedback from another guest as well. In addition, a couple of the towels were very worn, and I would not expect that from this type of hotel.
All that being said, however, I would return without any ambivalence. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the breakfast is great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandymoose527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    282
    67
    39
    26
See reviews for
149
573
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I really don't get it, How does this little dinky dated uncomfortable, unclean hotel have good reviews. i thought i have good taste but maybe "Nice" means something else or "location" is what makes people choose hotels in Venice. So yes the location is great and the view of the grand canal is nice but i expected a lot better from this $300. room. The air conditioner serviceman is a nice guy and so is the bell man. The rest of the staff are not friendly or helpful to say the least. Sorry that my first review on this wonderful site tripadvisor is negative. I will start reviewing positively from here. Happy Travels!

Room Tip: Other hotels in venice have better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gitty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I was debating about staying here for my first visit to Venice. I was worried we were to far away from the site. Boy was I wrong. I LOVED this hotel. It was in a great location. I liked how it was not near St Marks square where all the crowds are. But close enough to walk to St Marks in 10-15 minutes.

We took a shared water taxi to the hotel. The taxi dropped us off at the dock at the hotel. The hotel was clean and well maintained. The front desk staff were friendly and remembered what room we were in after the first night.

We booked a superior room and I think it was worth the upgraded price from a standard room. The room was cleaned daily and the towels replaced daily. The bathroom had bathrobes, shampoo, body wash and soap.

We had a balcony off of our room with a view of the grand canal and campo sofie. It was not canal front but we could easily see the canal from the balcony.

The hotel knew it was our anniversary during our stay and when we came back to the room one night after dinner they had brought us a nice bottle of prosecco and two wine glasses. I thought that was a nice personal touch.

We felt the breakfast had a nice variety of food. There was fresh cheese, eggs, bacon, pancakes, pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, milk, coffee and hot chocolate. The breakfast offered enough that we didn't have to eat lunch. It held us over until dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jiffer21225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was our second visit to the Foscari Palace. We stayed 2 non-consecutive nights in mid November prior to an after a trip to Istanbul. They very graciously let us leave one of our large suitcases for 4 days prior to our return.
We arrived to the hotel via vaporetto (water taxi) which is less than a ½ block away from the hotel
As we did before, we reserved the Gonzaga Junior Suite directly in front of the Grand Canal with 2 small balconies. The room is fabulous and a great value for the money. At least in November.
Unlike some previous reviews we had no maintenance issues. As a former hotelier I pay close attention to details.
The breakfast was great but crowded during our stay; however, since the breakfast room was full and we were in a hurry, we were served in the lobby by a very attentive waitress. Loved the free cappuccinos
Location could not be better, just a five minute walk to the Rialto Bridge and maybe 15/20 minutes to St. Mark's Square. The water taxi stop is just one building over and the tranguetto takes you across the canal to the Rialto market for a couple of Euros.
There is free WI-fi through-out the hotel

Room Tip: Splurge a little and get junior suite overlooking the Grand Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaguar07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malabo, Equatorial Guinea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

OK folks here is the deal....this hotel is a gem. The location is perfect, we arrive via water taxi directly at the door of the hotel which was a blessing after a long night on a train. We were directly on the Grand Canal but what we discovered after being at the hotel was a true "find". Next to the front door is a gondola that takes people directly across the canal for only 2 Euros, so like the locals we stepped into the large gondola and stood with the other folks as they glided us across in about 2 minutes. THIS IS A BIG DEAL. The room was ample and the bed was up to American standards in size "king" and comfort. The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choices including fruits, meats, cheeses, eggs, pastries, and coffee choices which you made yourself via a machine but its nice to have the ability to choose an espresso, latte, cappuccino, or hot chocolate. ALSO...we had an early flight out of Marco Polo and had a private water taxi arrive at 5:15am and wisk us to the airport for only $110. and was worth every penny. The hotel made the arrangements for us.

Room Tip: We requested a room that had seating and were given #301. It had a large bedroom "king" b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smartypants5659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in early November before hooking up with a Gate 1 Tour to Croatia. We booked a shared water taxi from airport that dropped us off directly at hotel front door which was GREAT after a very long flight. It was noon- our room was ready- Divna (I think that was her name) was very nice. We truly only met 2 clerks during our stay and both very nice but we had no needs.
We booked the Gonzaga Junior Suite (which is room 209) directly on Foscari's website for 150 euro/night which was a great deal compared to other rates in the city for a standard nothing room. I think we were lucky all around as during our 2 nights we only about about 8 people in the hotel so it must have been very slow (Wed & Thur nights). When you look at the photos of the hotel, the Gonzaga is the top floor that you see from the canal with the left 3 windows as the suite. The windows open onto a one foot balcony that you can step out onto for the magnificent view. We had no maintenance problems other than the shower door does not close well- oh, well, if that's the worst, NOT a problem- just throw a towel down. This room had a safe which was good size, bathrobes, slippers, sofa, chairs, bid armoire, etc.
The breakfast was perfect! Once again, being that the hotel was slow probably added a lot to that. There was never more than one other table occupied- lots of hot and cold food. A lot of people complained about the coffee...well, there are about 10 choices on the machine- just don't pick the "Americano coffee" as it is BAD(or mix with the espresso and it was much better). Even the hot chocolate was very good. The breakfast started our day out very well. I never saw the bar open (rooftop only during summer I think) but we did walk up to it.
Location could not have been better!

Room Tip: If rate is okay, choose Gonzaga Junior Suite for the view and size
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank korstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Last week I spent two nights at the Foscari Palace to see the Biennale. I had been there several years ago, under the previous management, and I was a bit worried because of the mixed reviews that appeared recently. I must say that the hotel is still excellent, perfectly kept and very clean.The free buffet breakfast is superb in terms of variety and quality of food. I got a free upgrade to a superior room overseeing the Campo Santa Sofia and the Grand Canal despite the rock bottom rate I paid offseason. Room rates of course are quite variable according to season; my suggestion to foreign visitors is to be in Venice in November to enjoy the mild weather, low hotel rates, and smaller hoardes of tourists!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarloGenoa_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venice
Cannaregio
Hotel Pesaro Palace
Hotel Pesaro Palace
#111 of 500 in City of Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Antico Doge
Hotel Antico Doge
#61 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#42 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#26 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#71 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foscari Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foscari Palace

Property: Foscari Palace
Address: Campo Santa Sofia 4200 / 1 / 2, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#126 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#131 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Foscari Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Foscari Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foscari Palace Hotel Venice
Foscari Palace Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing