We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small but not very interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torcello Island

Torcello Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.98*
and up
Explore the Venetian Lagoon: Murano, Burano and Torcello Islands Half-Day Tour
Ranked #41 of 586 things to do in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This small island is a bit off the usual Venetian path, but it’s worth seeing. Its Santa Maria Assunta church houses impressive mosaics, its bell tower offers great surrounding views—and it’s home to Locanda Cipriani, a well-regarded restaurant and hotel that played host to writing legend Ernest Hemingway .
Pakistan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“small but not very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

its one of teh island close to venice. Though wehen you are in venice, you should do it but there is really anything to see and do there except of an old church.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank taniaimran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    383
    196
    60
    22
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A tiny diamond in the rough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just a short ride from Venice proper, Murano and Burano is this little solitaire in the rough.
Not very large but you will be walking on ground that has been identified as the future site of numerous archaeological discoveries, thankful that we got to see it when we did and hope that funding comes through for the digs. Make sure to peek around corners, inside gates and from the tops of stairs for sculptures and views that make it worth this little jaunt. Personally, any excuse or destination to travel across the canals is good enough for me.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DHansen160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if going to the Islands”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The island is very peaceful (and a bit spooky). Very easy to access from a ferry from Burano. Beautiful church but not sure if worth the fee... Glad we went.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Old_rocking_chair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We went on a cold foggy day in December, visited the basilica, magnificent mosaics, and the museum was interesting and not so overwhelming you won't remember anything. On the way back, we stopped for an hour in Burano but the night was closing in so we hope to return again, on a sunnier day too!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank etiernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Go if you also go to Burano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went to this island as it was only a short distance from Burano and we are glad we did. It is very quite and there is not an awful lot to do or see but it is a nice place to walk around for a short time.

Whilst there you can see Attila's Throne, Ponte del Diavolo and Cathedral of Santa Maria Assunta .

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denzal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torcello Island also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Burano, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Torcello Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing