We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location, lovely friendly staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charming House DD724

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charming House DD724
Ranked #4 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, lovely friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Charming house DD724 was a perfect place for our stay in venice. The room was very clean and comfortable with a lovely bed and bed linen lovely bathroom towels etc. The breakfasts were delicious. The staff were extremely helpful answering any questions we had about Venice and were so nice to chat to. The location is perfect very near the Peggy Guggenheim collection. A lovely restful area where we could retreat to to escape the crowds but easy awlking distance to the main centre and attractions. Also very close to a ferry stop. We highly recommend this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jennifervilliger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DD724, Proprietario at Charming House DD724, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review. We are so glad that you appreciated the Charming HOuse DD724 with the friendly staff, the quiet location and the original style and unique atmosphere.
Hoping to welcome you again soon we send our
best regards
Chiara B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    111
    13
    8
    12
See reviews for
79
446
42
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vashon, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Our four days and nights in charming Venice were made even more charming by the wonderful digs at Charming House DD724. Yes, that's charming x 3! If you're looking for a small, contemporary, well-run boutique hotel away from the crowd but with easy access to the tourist-filled sites of the city, this place is for you. Let me start by saying, "Air Conditioning." Not by choice we found ourselves in the city in hot, muggy July. Our well-appointed and comfortable room was on the smaller side, but having a well-air-conditioned retreat during the midday heat was a blessing.

The cost of the hotel stay included a fantastic breakfast, European and American in style. Scrambled eggs and bacon? No problem! The pine nut butter on my crusty, fresh cornetto (croissant) was worth the price of admission!

Staff was friendly and helpful in terms of assisting us with transportation, sight-seeing and restaurant suggestions. The hotel is easily accessible from the Venice airport. For us, it was a short and inexpensive bus ride to Piazzale Roma, the main transportation center in town, followed by an enchanting, albeit crowded, vaporetto ride on the number 1 (or number 2) down the Grande Canal to the Accademia stop. From there it's a short walk to the hotel. The hotel is also accessible directly from the airport via a private water taxi—expensive, but when we were faced with the dilemma of getting to the airport for our return flight at 6:45am, we decided to splurge (well, there was no other option, really!), and I have to say it was worth the cost (120 Euro). We were whisked from the hotel to the airport in 15 minutes, shaving off about an hour in travel time. And seeing the city in the early morning hours before the tourist mob took hold was a treat!

Don't miss the corner bar at the entrance way to the hotel (not affiliated with Charming House, but a decent hangout for locals and visitors alike). Simple food at reasonable prices and spritzes a plenty (try the Aperol spritz--the "official" summer drink across Italy). There are plenty of restaurant options nearby, but your meal will come at a high price which seems to be the norm in town, particularly at this time of year.

All-in-all, this was a fantastic experience! We highly recommend Charming House DD724.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DD724, Proprietario at Charming House DD724, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you so much for your review. We really have appreciate.We are glad to know that you liked the Charmming House DD724 with its unique location,the breakfast, staff & style. Really hope to welcome you again here.
Bes Regards
Chiara B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Staff is awesome. Arrived near midnight and staff member met me at the water taxi with request. Great staff and location. Great overall experience. Free upgrade to a suite mid-trip and great restaurant recommendation. Could not imagine stating in tourist ridden San Marco. One of the best trip experience...and I have literally been around the world and stayed at the finest establishments. Prego Prego!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ovenia1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DD724, Proprietario at Charming House DD724, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear guest,
we thank you for your beautiful words. We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience at Charming House DD724, it is always a pleausure to satify our guests at best.
It was a pleasure to meet you and really wait to welcome you back soon.
Best Regards
Chiara B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

The staff at Charming House were most helpful. The hotel itself is very sleek, with a funky interior design. I stayed in a single room and it was small but stylish. The hotel is in a nice, quiet part of Venice but still very central. It is right near the Peggy Guggenheim Gallery and it is a lovely part of the city, close Accademia. I found it a really good base from which to explore the city. The breakfasts were great.

Room Tip: A couple of the rooms have views onto a quiet canal, which would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DD724, Proprietario at Charming House DD724, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you liked the special location, artistic and quiet but central, the helpful staff, the modern original design and the fresh breakfast of Charming House DD724. Really waiting to welcome you again.
Best regards
Chiara B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had a really good time staying at the Charming House DD724. It's conviently located and the rooms are well designed. Breakfast was also excellent. We will definitely come back.

Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaCldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DD724, Proprietario at Charming House DD724, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your review. We are glad that you appreciated the nice location of the Charming House DD724 as well as the delicious fresh breakfast and the original modern design. We waiti to welcome you back soon.
Best Reagrds
Chiara B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Great location and extremely friendly and knowledgable staff - they really did care about us.
Room in main building very comfortable and beautifully furnished - preferred being there than in separate building a short walk away. Very good breakfast. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for room in main building if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelDWatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DD724, Proprietario at Charming House DD724, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you liked the Charmming House DD724 with its unique location, staff & style. Really hope to welcome you again here.
Bes Regards
Chiara B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

The staff and owner of Charming House DD724 were certainly helpful and very nice. We were traveling with family and had 9 bags with us, which should have been a nightmare, however the hotel was there to meet us and help us arrange a private boat. We got to the hotel quickly and easily. The hotel has recently been renovated and our room was clean and comfortable. Yes, it is small, but they have made the best use of the space and we had a place for our 2 suitcases (no drawers) and plenty of room in the bathroom. (shower only) The breakfast was wonderful, with a full time staff member there to cook you an egg, bacon if you want and will even squeeze fresh juice! The hotel is very quiet and in a fantastic location. We could get to all the best restaurants and attractions with usually a 10-20 min. walk. We had a great stay here and felt pampered. They also helped us with getting laundry done, fabulous opera tickets, dinner reservations and even got us ice when we asked for it. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glamgal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DD724, Proprietario at Charming House DD724, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you so much for your review. We are really glad that you appreciated the Charming House DD724, the helpful staff, the fresh and home made breakfast, the location, quiet and central, and the original Charming style.
It was a great pleasure to welcome all of you and we are looking forward to seeing you soon again here at the DD724!
Best regards
Chiara B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#18 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#5 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charming House DD724? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming House DD724

Property: Charming House DD724
Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 724, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#13 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#14 Family Hotel in Venice
#36 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Charming House DD724 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary-design boutique hotel is situated in a 19th century building overlooking a tipical venetian canal with its gondolas; from here you can get a glimpse of the Giudecca canal. The Hotel is located just few steps from the Peggy Guggenheim Collection and only 300 metres from San Marco Square. It is situated in a strategic position, just a few steps from all vaporetto lines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Charming House DD724 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charming House Dd724 Hotel Venice
Charming Hotel Dd724
Charming Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing