We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with good atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palazzo Odoni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palazzo Odoni
Ranked #12 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice hotel with good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The location is good and close to busterminal and trains. It is located by a canal with restaurants and some shops close by. The rooms and service is great. Breakfast was very good. We had the window open at night and some mosqitos visited us:(

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liv1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    176
    28
    4
    0
See reviews for
230
234
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weinfelden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Travelling with the Family and in high season on a long weekend, the well known luxury hotels were way out of budget. Palazzo Odoni is about five minutes and two bridges (one of them quite high) from Piazzale Roma. Easy to find and away form the street traffic and crowds. The immediate area around the hotel is not of much tourist interest, so we were always heading to and from Piazzale Roma – airport bus stop, People Mover to cruise, vaporetto to San Marco / Rialto and a very affordable COOP supermarket..

We had reserved a junior suite and were assigned #21 on the top floor, 20 more steps up from reception. This junior suite has just one room but with many nooks under the roof and plenty of space for a family of four or even five - not sure if they allow a fifth person on the sofa. Decoration is old fashioned Venice and a bit cluttered, facilities like bathroom, TV, a/c or WLAN are modern and in good working condition. The terrace was the only let down: There was (and probably still is) an empty beverage can on the not very clean floor, flower boxes were full of weeds and cigarette buds. Such a pity as the view into the roofs would have been lovely. And strange since all other parts of the property were spotless, obviously receiving loving care.

Breakfast was perfect. While it’s just continental, there are plenty of high quality choices. Despite the hotel being full, there was never a wait for an empty table.

Owners and staff were most pleasant, always ready to help with luggage and sightseeing tips.

I would certainly recommend Palazzo Odoni for a short family holiday and for those who want to be close to Piazzale Roma logistics. There are cheaper alternatives around, but when looking at the competitors, I thought that the few extra Euros were well invested.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank faranghusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you are going to stay in Venice, then you should do it in some style that harks back to Venice's great times but with all modern conveniences. The Palazzo Odoni is a hotel in a 15th Century building facing onto a canal at the front and to the church of S. NIcolo da Torentino at the rear. The hotel has been in the same family for five generations and they are rightly proud of their home.
The main accommodation is on the second and third floors and requires quite a bit of stair climbing that can be quite a challenge after a hard day’s walking around the city: although the rooms are well worth the effort of the climb. Suites have sitting areas to relax and plan the next day’s visits, whilst the beds are large, comfortable with more than enough pillows, whilst the bath rooms are recently equipped with modern fitments – at least one suite has a Jacuzzi , whilst ours had a shower with a strong gush of hot water – so much better than most hotel showers.
Breakfast is served in the small second-floor dining room over looking the garden. A continental style breakfast is served – Italian meats, cheeses, fruit, eggs, cereals, croissants, breads, cakes, preserves and freshly made coffee and tea. However, the dining room can feel quite cramped when full.
The staff are very helpful and work hard to make the guests feel at home and, when asked, take pleasure in imparting their local knowledge. The breakfast staff work hard to ensure that the meal is enjoyable.
The hotel is situated close to the Santa Luca railway station and the Piazzale Roma bus station and this means that you will not have to lug your cases across Venice or struggle to find a place for them on a vaporetto. Yet, despite this closeness to the edge of Venice, it is only twenty-five minutes from St Mark’s Square – five minutes to the vaporetto stop, five minutes on vaporetto #2, and then a further fifteen minutes on foot. However, you will probably prefer to choose your own slower and more meandering route through Santa Croce or San Polo where you can find lower priced food than San Marco.
All-in-all a very pleasant stay.
We were also very pleased that the photographs on the website and in the brochure are true representations of the Palazzo Odoni even to the candles lighting the entrance in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gevrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

It is located not far from the bus terminal. A quite romantic place. Nice room, nice bathroom (whirlpool), good breakfast, super atmosphere. It can be recommended as a very adequate place in Venice. We had a dog. It was no problem. We did not have to pay anything for the dog.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Palazzo Odoni for four nights, checking out earlier this morning (24 April). From the first trip up the stairs in Michele's beautiful courtyard, we were in love. We were met at the bottom of the stairs by a member of the Palazzo's team, greeted by name and shown to our rooms after being helped with our luggage.

The location is a bit away from the major tourist spots in Venice but that was the appeal for us. We got to explore the island's many alleys each day and the Pianto di Rialto was only a short 15 minute walk. Beyond that, another 6-7 minutes and you arrive at the Piazza San Marco.

The Palazzo Odoni was a very short walk from the train station and surrounded by many wonderful restaurants and shops and even after seeing so many wonderful other hotels, I can't imagine staying anywhere else. Most important of all, we felt very secure. The Palazzo Odoni is deserving of any and all accolades it receives. Michele and his staff are world class and the Palazzo is beautiful beyond words.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MordecuS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I trawled the internet for ages to find a good, reasonably priced hotel and I found one in the Palazzo Odoni. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were looked after brilliantly. The staff were warm and friendly, extremely helpful and we were amazed when, on our arrival, a member of staff hurried down the stairs to greet us by name and carry my suitcase. Nice touch! The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and the bed so comfortable, which was important after many, many hours of walking each day! The breakfast was great: so varied and something to suit most people's dietary requirments, if not everyone's. Situated in San Croce, in a pretty street on a small canal, it was a good place to return to each day. It's location is fairly central to the major sites and in the five days we were there we realised it was perfect for us. We dined in two resaurants in the same street and the food was brilliant. After a long day this was a bonus as we were not too far to fall into bed! My husband and I were so happy staying at the Odoni and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
311 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stay in a beautiful part of Venician history. Comfortable hotel with excellent and caring service. Nicely decorated rooms. Enjoyable breakfast. Centrally located on a quiet canal. Perhaps a little bit pricey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,437 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#34 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Odoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Odoni

Property: Palazzo Odoni
Address: Fondamenta Minotto Santa Croce 151, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Odoni 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Odoni was born as a new structure opened to the guests that come to visit Venice historical centre and want to try the restrained style and the uniqueness of a stay in a gothic palace of the 15th century. The owner family who lives in the palace since five generations, set energies and personal taste in the renovation to assure high quality standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Odoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Odoni Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing