We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Base To Visit Venice From” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Venezia Mestre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Venezia Mestre
Ranked #151 of 386 Hotels in Venice
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Base To Visit Venice From”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a trip around Italy, so that we could visit Venice. It was a great price for a family room - much cheaper than any central Venice accommodation and with free parking (there's a smaller secure car park available too for about €6 a day). The bus to Venice leaves twice an hour from a stop about 5 minutes walk from the hotel - reception has a map and information and you can also buy your bus tickets from them. We'd recommend forking out for the 12+ hour tickets, as they include the vaporettos (which are €6.50 a trip otherwise and it's great to hop on and off them and see Venice from the water).

The room was comfortable and despite the hotel being right next to the motorway, we hardly heard any road noise and certainly weren't disturbed by it. In the lounge area by reception is an Xbox and an Xbox Kinect, plus 2 iMacs (20 mins usage each) which my kids (12&10) thought were great. There's also a small outside pool - it was far too cold to use at this time of year, but it would be most welcome in the hotter summer months.

A great accommodation option if you're not prepared to pay for the romance of staying in Venice itself.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank thegreenkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.

My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.

Yours sincerely,

Ettore Cavallino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    1,012
    414
    112
    59
See reviews for
1,088
436
52
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

As with other Novotels we have experienced, hotel was well-designed, spacious and spotlessly clean. Room was also spacious, well-appointed with a large bathroom featuring all the usual amenities. Reception staff were all courteous, efficient and helpful. Restaurant looked more like a motorway cafe than a restaurant in a 4-star hotel. Menu was limited, uninspired and over-expensive even for Venice. 'Menu of the Day' was totally inadequate and overpriced - e.g. Easter Sunday - salad or soup, followed by choice of 2 pizzas (boring standard ones) and a simple desert - 24 euros! Restaurant service appalling - allow 2 hours for a simple 2-course meal as we experienced half-hour waits to order and be served each course. No alternative could be found in the locality to eat (we dined in central Venice one night and returned late); the hotel was located in a soul-less concrete jungle with no shops or cafes that we could find during our 3-night stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.

We regret the standards of service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies.
Regarding the location, the Novotel Venezia Mestre is a modern 4-star hotel, ideally located just 1.2 miles (2 km) from Mestre train station, 4.3 miles (7 km) from the center of Venice and 6.2 miles (10 km) from the airport. At about 800 meters you can find a shopping center an also a restaurant/pizzeria.

We are ready to welcoming you again upon your next stay, trying then to regain your confidence.

Yours sincerely,

Ettore Cavallino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel was good, staff very friendly and the price wasn't bad. It's a basic hotel to stay in while traveling to Venice. The area didn't have restaurants close by so if you don't mind walking there a bit away. The area is very quite and the bus stop is close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MaeH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.
My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.

For your next stay in Novotel, you can try our restaurant which is open until 22.30 and is a highlight of the hotel property.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.
Yours sincerely.

Ettore Cavallino,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed Novotel many times in UK and Dubai , Expected same standards but this is just ok not up to that mark !
Breakfast is not good , very limited
Long waiting I the resturants in the evening , as there is no other places / resturants near by you will have to depend on that

In short , I wish I could have booked somewhere else , unless you are driving around

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Bijujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience.

We regret the standards of service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies.

We would like to reassure you we have already put in place the necessary measures to guarantee that the standard meets your expectations. We are ready to welcoming you again upon your next stay, trying then to regain your confidence.

Yours sincerely,

Ettore Cavallino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for 3 nights. The location of the hotel was a little on the outskirts of Mestre but still very easy to access by public transport. There's a direct bus from Venezia to about 200m from the hotel until 21.00h, and after that you can get off a little further away and walk for about 10-15 minutes.

The rooms were neat and clean and our stay was comfortable, as expected from Novotel. Checkin and checkout was a breeze and we also got a room upgrade. The breakfast was pretty standard and filling. Venice is an expensive city so instead of staying on the islands and paying much much more, we decided this was a better option. I think we got very good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank arvindj227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.
My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.
Yours sincerely.

Ettore Cavallino,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel recently. Generally I was quite satisfied from the hotel. However, since I often use Novotel chain in Europe, the breakfast buffet quality is slightly lower than in other hotels of the same brand Novotel (as example in Avignon, Monaco or in Wien) and since I expect every Novotel to provide same service and quality - this part was disappointing.
However, the personnel of the hotel is quite helpful and adequate, which is important when you are on a vacation with family or on a business trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Samat_kb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.
My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.
Yours sincerely.

Ettore Cavallino,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is typical Novotel, my best prferences from Accor Group!
If you want standart services and don't like surprises, you must choose this hotel!
Besides this hotel also is a child firendly hotel.
(+) Clean and nice room, free internet, children wi-fi-playing area, location, car parking, complimentary tea-coffee, very good breakfast.
(-) Nothing

Room Tip: Early breaking (including breakfast) is the best solution for the value in Venice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nesrin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.
My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.
Yours sincerely.

Ettore Cavallino,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#129 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Alexander Hotel
#199 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#106 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#76 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#108 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Venezia Mestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Venezia Mestre

Property: Novotel Venezia Mestre
Address: Via Alfredo Ceccherini 21, 30174 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Venice
#10 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#77 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#141 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Venezia Mestre 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Venezia Mestre is a modern 4 star hotel with 215 rooms, strategically located only 2 km from Venezia Mestre railway station, 7 km from the centre of Venice and 10 km from the airport. Ideal for business trips, it offers a Convention Centre with 6 meeting rooms (250 guests), business corner and WiFi access. To discover Venice, take the scheduled hotel shuttle service to Piazzale Roma. Also features rooms for 2 adults and 2 children, NovotelCafé restaurant, outdoor pool, garden and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Novotel Venezia Mestre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Venezia Mestre Hotel Venice
Novotel Hotel Venice
Novotel Hotel Venezia Mestre
Novotel Mestre
Mestre Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing