We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Venezia Mestre
Ranked #153 of 386 Hotels in Venice
GreenLeadersSilver level
Taranaki
Level Contributor
132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were excited to be staying in Venice even though we knew we were on the mainland, not in the canal area. The hotel was not on the bus route from the airport and so the bus dropped us at the train station and it cost 18 euro to go the extra 2kms by taxi. The hotel did not have in room tea and coffee making facilities and the breakfasts not included in the room price. We were handed vouchers for breakfast with the comment that breakfast is 14 euro each. There are no shops close by except we did find a small supermarket within walking distance. The hotel was probably the ugliest we have ever stayed in , not what we would consider up to the usual Novotel standard and we would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Away from the noisy swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vomo2i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Customer,
we apologize for what happened during your stay and it 'a shame that you don't asked to speak to me or with the manager on duty, we could immediately benefit from your constructive criticism and stopping immediately the disservice.
All our rooms have tea and coffee making facilities and on internet web site novotel.com you can find offer with or without breakfast. Regarding the location, it is well shown in our website, we are only 200meter far away from the main street and the bus stop is 400 meters. The bus start at minutes 23 and 53 of each hour or alternatively there are taxis.
Thank you for your comments, hoping to welcome you back to our hotel.
Best regards.

Ettorte Cavallino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    1,027
    417
    113
    60
See reviews for
1,106
439
52
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Enger, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We travelled to Venice with 2 kids (12 and 16). We had an Executive Room with City Breaks package - Nespresso machine in the room, nice touch! Large room with nice bathroom. Location in Mestre is close to Venice, but definitely more convenient if you have a car, otherwise you must return fairly early from Venice with the bus. There is a Lidl a few minutes walk from the hotel. Check in was friendly and efficient. The breakfast was quite good, and varied. Parking was not a problem, plenty available outdoor, and also indoor if necessary (paying though). Definitely good value for money in this area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAMLANGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.
My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.
Yours sincerely.

Ettore Cavallino,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Clean, spacious room, clean spacious bathroom,quite fast wi-fi connection at all areas and the room. The breakfast included in the rate, was very good the first morning but quite average the second morning(probably due to the fact that two large groups of Japanese and Chinese tourists were staying at the hotel). Other than that we fount that overall our staying was quite good and quite reasonable priced. Usually we are quite happy with Accor hotels, because you know what to expect for the money paid.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Venicemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettore C, Direttore at Novotel Venezia Mestre, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Customer

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience following your stay at our hotel.
My team and I are really grateful for your kind words of appreciation, which encourage us to keep up our efforts, ensuring the service we provide always meets your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon at one of the Novotel hotels.
Yours sincerely.

Ettore Cavallino,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had to use this hotel after RCI put us in the awfull hotel Ariston in mestre Venice what a lovely clean spacious room with good view . Bus to venice less than 5 min walk and only €1.60 each way we will use this hotel again if we ever come back to venice . Please Note the local bus stops @10 pm returning from Venice and its a €25/€30 Taxi ride back to hotel if you miss last bus

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saddlerkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely, modern hotel. However, it is in the middle of nowhere on the side of a motorway. The trip into Venice is about 30 minutes by local bus but its always rammed full in the morning although it only costs €1.30 one way. The last bus back from venice is 20.45hrs or approx €40 by taxi. The breakfast is typical bacon, hotdogs and scrambled egg with the normal extras of cereal, cheese, ham and boiled egg. The room is very spacious and clean and the bathroom is modern with bath and overhead shower. I would recommend this hotel to people with a car. It's to far away to call back to if your out site seeing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaynedunleavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel is wonderful for business travelers, but if you're a tourist hoping to explore Venice, this hotel is not conveniently located - stay on the island instead!!! I believe you have to drive in (not sure if there are public transport options), and parking in Venice is very difficult, so having a car is a burden.

That said, the hotel is beautiful and modern with spacious, comfortable rooms, excellent WiFi, delicious and diverse breakfast buffet, and nice meeting areas in the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruthIsThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

A great place to spend the night before the trip home in the morning. A very good breakfast display with many choices. We had a good night's sleep after our week touring the Adriatic. The cost was quite reasonable. The location is not good for visiting Venice because the cab fare is about 35 Euros but is a good overnight stop on the way through Venice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#128 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Alexander Hotel
#197 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#106 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#79 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Hotel Belvedere
#249 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Venezia Mestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Venezia Mestre

Property: Novotel Venezia Mestre
Address: Via Alfredo Ceccherini 21, 30174 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Venice
#18 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#78 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#141 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Venezia Mestre 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Venezia Mestre is a modern 4 star hotel with 215 rooms, strategically located only 2 km from Venezia Mestre railway station, 7 km from the centre of Venice and 10 km from the airport. Ideal for business trips, it offers a Convention Centre with 6 meeting rooms (250 guests), business corner and WiFi access. To discover Venice, take the scheduled hotel shuttle service to Piazzale Roma. Also features rooms for 2 adults and 2 children, NovotelCafé restaurant, outdoor pool, garden and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Venezia Mestre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Venezia Mestre Hotel Venice
Novotel Hotel Venice
Novotel Hotel Venezia Mestre
Novotel Mestre
Mestre Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing