We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rick Steves Was Right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
Ranked #178 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a very pleasant and clean small hotel with attractive room rates. The location is outstanding: two vaporetto stops from the train station, next door to the city's casino (if you are inclined), and a very short walk to the main shopping/dining street that runs through the area. Very safe and very charming. The San Marcuolo vaporetto stop is only a few yards from the hotel.

Here's my tick list of positives: friendly staff, nice breakfast (included and served), very decent sized room, ample and modern bathroom, double-glazed windows for energy and quietude, fine location for access to transportation and for strolling (half hour walk to San Marco), Italian television, and excellent free wifi system. The only mild negative is the absence of a comfortable reading chair, but who is going to spend much time in a chair while visiting Venice?

Rick Steves' guidebook recommends this establishment, and he is right, as usual.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have two windows and lots of light. Operable exterior shutters, but open windows invit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GeorgePortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 281 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

We've stayed here twice on trips to Venice. The first time, we were in a smaller room that faced alley way. The room was a decent size, but the bathroom was very small. The second time, we had a bigger room and the bathroom was a nice size. We also had a canal view. The hotel was clean and the breakfast is decent (croissants, deli meats, bread, yogurt, and fruit). Nice location, close to a vaporetto stop, and friendly staff. Will definitely stay here on our next trip to Venice!

Room Tip: A quick walk from the Santa Lucia Train Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Satinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at this great hotel. when I made the booking I requested a canal view & was delighted to find out they honored my request! Checking is was great the girl spoke great English and was very accommodating. The room was very big to our surprise as they gave us a triple room. Breakfast each morning was nice and got us going for the day. Having the water bus stop right outside the door made it very easy to get to the hotel with our luggage. There were numerous shops and restaurants within 2 minutes walking distance. We would stay in the hotel again for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lock94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The best part of this hotel is the location near the vaporetto stop. Very hard to find on foot. The elevator was broken, there was no tv remote, the a/c wasn't strong enough to blow the flimsy curtain. We paid for a room on the canal, and if you leaned out of the window about 2 feet, you could almost look down and see a small side canal. I asked for a WIFI code for 3 devices, 2 iPhones and an iPad, and the woman at the desk snipped, " you are only two". Really didn't matter, the WIFI was so bad you got kicked off after a few minutes. I asked if they had ice, and the same lovely woman snipped, No, and looked away.

Room Tip: Not this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badge263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for four nights at the end of May. We had a lovely large room on the ground floor with a view of the side canal. I'd requested a twin and the room had a huge king-size bed and an additional single. Bathroom was also a good size and looked recently renovated. No complaints at all - everyone was friendly, helpful and spoke good english.

The position was great for us as we wanted somewhere walking distance from the station. The closeness of the vaporetto stop was a plus and we used it a lot. The area was quiet but only a short walk to the bustling Strada Nova.

Wifi was free but occasionally hard to connect to. Not too big a deal as we always got on eventually.

All up - an excellent place to stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NickyApplecross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Spent 3 nights here in early August had room 202. The room was fairly good, bed a little hard for my liking. Every morning we got woken up by the maids accessing the laundry cupboards outside our room around 7.30. Breakfast was a little sparse but enjoyable. All the staff we encountered spoke English and always very helpful. I felt the location was very good as 1 min from the vaporetto stop. I would use this again as I felt it was value for money given what you can pay. The air con in our room was so efficient also.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank icdabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife, my daughter and I spent four nights in the hotel. We initially got a very small triple room overlooking the San Marcuola church, with an equally small bathroom. We were then able to change to a much bigger room overlooking a side canal, and at the same price. The rooms were well air conditioned and the beds were overall comfortable. Breakfast was not outstanding, but still very decent continental breakfast with an excellent cappuccino. The staff was friendly and helpful; since I am Italian, we did not have to test their English proficiency. The only real inconvenience is that the hotel is in Cannaregio and it takes no less than half an hour either walking or by vaporetto to reach the San Marco area and beyond.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Gian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#198 of 385 in Venice
373 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Alle Guglie
Hotel Alle Guglie
#194 of 385 in Venice
572 reviews
Cannaregio
Casa Pisani Canal
Casa Pisani Canal
#257 of 385 in Venice
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
#69 of 385 in Venice
1,178 reviews
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#106 of 385 in Venice
909 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Ariel Silva
Hotel Ariel Silva
#341 of 385 in Venice
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ca' San Marcuola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca' San Marcuola

Address: Cannaregio, 1763, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Venice
#17 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $100 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Locanda Ca' San Marcuola 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Locanda Ca' San Marcuola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca` San Marcuola Hotel Venice
Locanda Ca San Marcuola Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing