We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good till last day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
Ranked #190 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Moorpark, California
Level 6 Contributor
729 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Very good till last day”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We spent six days in Venice and enjoyed our stay at this fine hotel. Our room by a side canal was large and comfortable and we enjoyed the small boat traffic and a few gondolas that sailed by our window. The breakfasts were good and well run, the staff is friendly but we were told there would be a concierge, when there really isn't one, just desk clerks, some with limited English. Other than the fact that the shower is the smallest we encountered in four weeks in Italy, we had absolutely no complaints until the last 24 hours. We returned to our room to find the door was wide open, which is always alarming. Luckily nothing was taken. What was truly upsetting occurred the final morning, when we were preparing to leave for the airport. We had almost finished breakfast and were ready to leave when the desk clerk told us the Vaporetto wasn't running because of a regatta. What???? Why someone didn't tell us about that earlier is still beyond us. We paid for our stay the night before and it wasn't mentioned then, in spite of our saying we wanted to get an early start. Nor was it mentioned at our 6:45 wake up call. If we had been told then, we would have made it to the last Vaporetto before the regatta began. It was raining and we were very lucky to be able to quickly hail the last water taxi on the canal, which cost us an extra 40 euros, plus the loss of the Vaporetto ride we'd already paid for in a seven day pass. On the bus to the airport, we learned from other travelers who stayed at different hotels that they were warned about the regatta the day before AND their hotels made alternate plans for them. We really felt let down by Locanda.

Room Tip: 101 was large and comfortable by a side canal that gets some boat traffic that can be a bit noisy du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    138
    34
    11
    3
See reviews for
88
119
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had two great nights here- our family room was comfortable, quiet and modern. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is continental with endless supplies of bread, croissants, cheese, coffee etc, all served with a great smile.

The loaction is fantastic- the main railway station, St Marks, the vaperettos and good restaurants are all close by.

We will come back!

Room Tip: ask for a side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is gem of a hotel in Venice.

The location is great only 10 mins by walk from the main station, 50 metres from a vaperetto stop. The hotel itself is very well kept, clean, well renovated and relatively spacious for Europe (and Venice in particular) . The bathroom is spacious.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating - breakfast is served at 8, but since we had to leave early, they organised breakfast at 6.30am without any issues. Staff advised us of the best and most economical ways around Venice.
Good value considering all the above, definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a family room which was pretty good (sleeps 4) room 303
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosh909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Liked this hotel, fully warrants its 3 star rating. Nice and central to everything, easy to find near the water bus stop, Rialto bridge ten minutes walk, St. Marks twenty minutes walk, or take the water buses. Breakfast was good, hotel was clean, bathrooms a little small, the best value for money you are likely to find in Venice. The slowest lift in the world, but there are only two floors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simmo3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury Heights, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was my third stay at Locanda Ca' San Marcuola and my boyfriend's first, and it was just as lovely as I remember it to be! The staff is friendly and personable, and the location is great - within walking distance of everything if you're interested in wandering the streets of Venice, but also just a few steps from a vaporetto stop. The accommodations themselves are simple yet elegant, creating a balance of modern conveniences and a true "getaway."

We will absolutely return, and would recommend Locanda Ca' San Marcuola to anyone! It's a true gem!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We chose this hotel through our internet searches in spite of many recommendations from traveler friends who had stayed at some more well-known hotels. It was perfect for us -- & now we'll recommend this one! Located just a few paces from the San Marcuola vaporetto stop, it is so handy to trattorias, shopping & sweet little neighborhoods. Our room was on the ground floor & its casement windows looked out on a minor canal that brought us glimpses of local boat traffic & life on the canals. It was quiet except for some birdsong & the bells of San Marcuola church nearby. The breakfast included more than we expected; it was served in a pleasant breakfast room & started our day off nicely. Most of the staff speak English & all are friendly & helpful. This hotel is comfortable for us modern travelers while maintaining that Old World Charm we came to experience in Venice.

Room Tip: The only room we saw was the ground floor one on the back of the building next to the canal & it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissKatieSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Although I knew this hotel was good, one is always apprehensive about bringing friends who might not feel the same as I do. I need not have worried - my 8 friends and I were all delighted with this small friendly hotel. The staff are helpful and pleasant, the breakfast is a good start to a day out and the location is perfect. A few steps from the vaporetto stop, and within easy walking distance from nearly everywhere (as we discovered on the first day when the vaporetti were on strike!) The surrounding area is full of shops, restaurants and bars perfect for people-watching. It is excellent value for money and I shall be there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are marginally quieter - but this is Venice and one expects street noise - which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#181 of 385 in Venice
362 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Alle Guglie
Hotel Alle Guglie
#191 of 385 in Venice
559 reviews
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#138 of 385 in Venice
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel ai due Fanali
Hotel ai due Fanali
#196 of 385 in Venice
237 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Caprera
Hotel Caprera
#160 of 385 in Venice
438 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Villa Rosa
Hotel Villa Rosa
#175 of 385 in Venice
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ca' San Marcuola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca' San Marcuola

Property: Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
Address: Cannaregio, 1763, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Locanda Ca' San Marcuola 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Locanda Ca' San Marcuola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca` San Marcuola Hotel Venice
Locanda Ca San Marcuola Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing