We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close to the Grand Canal...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
Ranked #181 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Venice was our last stop on our trip to Italy and I was looking for a hotel with a canal view. The location was perfect - right on the San Marcuola boat stop. We arrived by train and walked there ( about 15 mins) but I would recommend just catching the boat. Our room was on the corner so we could see a little side can from both windows. We loved being able to look out and see what was happening ...gondolas, people delivering furniture etc. The rooms have air conditioning but you need to ask to have it turned on. The staff were incredibly helpful and we got some great recommendations for dinner, coffee etc.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra to have a canal view...this is of a little side canal. We loved watching all...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naples64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Locanda Ca' San Marcuola
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 277 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

In general I would expect a bit more for 140 €/night, but in Venice I guess the price is ok. We had a small room with a window on the street, but it is very quiet, so that was no problem. I guess the rooms with a canal view are great, but probably they also are quite a bit expensive. Another good thing is that is is less than a minute to walk to the water bus. I would advice everybody to buy a ticket for the number of days you stay right away. It may seem expensive, but afterwards travelling with the boat is free :-) Walking to San Marco takes something like half an hour. Nice, but you do not want to do it many times.
The lady who welcomed us in the reception was very nice and took time to explain a lot of things. Also there are nice restaurants in the vicinity that give you a much better deal than overpriced lot around San Marco. The breakfast is just acceptable, but the coffee is horrible compared with normal procedure in Italy (yes, Norway is another story).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trekker77Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The room we had was 303. It was on the top floor but there is an elevator to help with bags and those that can't do stairs. It's not the biggest or the quickest but it worked well for our toddler's stroller and all our bags. The room was big. It had one double and two single beds, a big bathroom and airconditioning that worked well. It also had a canal view from all three windows. No balcony though. The soundproofing in the room was good, we did not notice any noise at all really. Breakfast was good. Meats, cheese, bread, cereal, juice, coffee, etc. Nothing warm but there never is in Italy really. I thought it was good. WiFi worked well in the room. If you want WiFi, purchase the amount of time you need and make sure you log off when you're done so that you save your time. Log back in again to use it again. While it's a bit of a hassle it saves you money. The hotel is in an excellent place. To get to the hotel take the 5 bus from the airport, take the water bus 1 to San Marcuola stop and go straight for about 30 feet. On the right will be the hotel. Very EASY!! The hotel set up a cot for our 2 year old that was perfect. Roomy and the bedding was nice. It also had a nice little mattress in it.

The only cons were no shower, bath only and the beds were a wee bit firm.

Room Tip: I asked for a canal view and had a child so I got 303. When making a reservation if you have a spec...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

PROS
calm location, easy access from Vaporetto, clean, good breakfast, ok price for Venise, silent,
CONS
very small room, small showers when you are over 5 foot 9, they couldn't give us a good room even 4 weeks in advance

Room Tip: select a good room a long time before
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RikHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Venice can be tricky with luggage but this was too easy! From the train station you take the waterbus, get off the stop near the hotel and walk only a few steps towards the hotel - ideal for a family with children and/or lots of luggage. Extremely helpful reception staff and lovely breakfast.. Rooms were a great size and the view of the canals lovely. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Touristy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

My companion and I were warmly welcomed when we arrived. We were offered a choice between two different rooms and we chose a 3rd floor corner. The weather was warm and humid so the cross ventilation was a plus -- although air conditioning was available and effective.

The room was comfortable and clean, not to mention the wonderful views out the two windows. The bathroom was OK (clean, small) and the shower was very nice.

Breakfast was ample and tasty, with excellent coffee, and service! The desk staff were helpful and spoke excellent English.

We especially liked the location and access to and from the whole city. The Vaporetto stop is a few steps from the front door in one direction; the rest of Canneregio lies in the other. A fine place for a few days' stay in Venice.

B. Wells, B.C. Canada

Room Tip: Corner room #304 provides views out two windows + cross ventilation
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kootenaybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed here during the heat wave earlier this month that hit Europe but we were cool and comfortable in our fabulous room with air-conditioning. The location was perfect for those coming by train. And when we made our reservations online, they sent us an online confirmation with detailed info on getting there, etc. We highly recommend this hotel.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flex7122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#191 of 384 in Venice
366 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Alle Guglie
Hotel Alle Guglie
#192 of 384 in Venice
566 reviews
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#141 of 384 in Venice
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#114 of 384 in Venice
898 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#146 of 384 in Venice
405 reviews
Cannaregio
Angeles Inn
Angeles Inn
#68 of 471 in Venice
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ca' San Marcuola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca' San Marcuola

Address: Cannaregio, 1763, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $119 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Locanda Ca' San Marcuola 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Locanda Ca' San Marcuola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca` San Marcuola Hotel Venice
Locanda Ca San Marcuola Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing