We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place to stay in Venice!”
Review of Ca' San Polo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ca' San Polo
Ranked #168 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

I was encouraged to book in Ca San Polo from the review score on Trip Advisor. As soon as I booked they sent us an email with directions on how to reach the hotel which was really easy to find. Check in was easy. We asked if we could pay extra to have breakfast in the hotel coz our booking included the stay only. Lady said this was not impossible. ( first deception). She wrote us several options for lunch and breakfast which was a nice gesture. But turned out she gave us wrong directions and we kept walking around for ages ( second deception). The restaurant they recommended is the worst restaurant in Venice. ( third deception). Even the reviews on trip advisor show the restaurant is not even listed in the first 100 restaurants in Venice. So don't take advice from them If you are staying there. The room in the hotel was spacious but extremely gloomy. The light in the room is insufficient if you want to read. The furniture is old and not renovated and you can hear everything happening around your room. The bed was comfortable though. The location was ideal. So it could be an option for budget travelers who will not stay much in the hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank Maya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
we are very sorry to hear that your stay at Cà San Polo was not up to your expectations. As far as the denied breakfast we have a limited number of places in our breakfast room, that is why we give priority to those who have a reservation with breakfast included. We are usually more than willing to add breakfast even if the reservation was without it but the days you stayed here we had already had other extra requests for breakfast and we had already exceeded our capacity to offer it to other guests. We are sorry for that. Regarding the restaurant, we usually suggest a wide range of solutions that differs in prices and positions. Not always the score on trip advisor corresponds to our experience. When we suggest a place we always try to get the feedback from the customers and we try to stick to those restaurants that has always made a good impression on our guests as far as food and service. We would have appreciated to hear about these remarks from you personally here at the hotel, in order to make a good use of it and improve in the future.

Best regards
The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 433 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

We recently (October) spent four nights in the Ca' San Polo -- our first trip to Venice. In our opinion, you cannot do better than this charming B&B, which is in a great location, close to sights, shopping, and dining, yet set on a quiet side street. The amenities were great, the room charming and comfortable, and the breakfast selections superb. All of the women working there were wonderful, especially the housekeepers and those at the front desk. If we were to revisit Venice, we definitely would pick the Ca' San Polo as our retreat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Enviro99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Guest,
we are very happy reading about your good impression on our hotel. Thank you for appreciating the care and high quality of the service along with the kindness of the staff. We will be very happy to host you again in the future. You will Always be welcome in Cà San Polo. Thank you again for your wonderful comment.

The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are staying at Ca' San Polo now and it was so great I thought I would write a review before we left! After making the reservation through Kayak, we received an email directly from the hotel with directions and helpful information. We walked to this cute hotel in about 20 minutes from Venezia San Lucia train station (it would have been even quicker if it wasn't raining). We were greeted by a nice woman who checked us in, helped us with our bags and provided us with a map. She answered questions about where to grab a glass of wine and a snack as well as mapped out places for us to eat breakfast- even googling a restaurant that a friend had suggested to us so that we could find it on the map. The room was huge! It was clean and had all of the accommodations we needed. We spent some time on the roof deck which is small but has a view of the area. The staff are only on duty at the front desk until 8:30pm but we were provided keys and an emergency number in case we needed anything. The staff also helped us make dinner reservations at La Zucca, a popular restaurant in Venice that it can be difficult to make a reservation at. Thank you to the staff at Ca'San Polo for a wonderful stay in Venice!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LaurenGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guests,
we are very pleased to read this comment or yours about our facility. We thank you so much for this! We are happy that you appreciated our being avilable for you and the quality of the service..for us it was a pleasure! We are looking forward to seeing you next time in Cà San Polo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed in different rooms in this hotel because the same room was not available for three nights. The junior suite is a good size, but the room was somewhat stuffy and humid in October. The superior room is nice, but the lower priced room 24 was awful - small with lots of noise from the stairs and rushing water sounds for hours from rooms on higher floors. The breakfast room tends to be overheated. Expect compact bathrooms. Kettle and tiny refrigerator in the room were convenient. Good location for walking from the train station (pack lightly for carrying bags up and down stone bridges) or getting to the Rialto Bridge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webtitle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casanpo, lol staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guests,
we are very sorry that your stay at our hotel was not fully satisfying. Our hotel is based in a palace dating back to the 15th century and it is normal that sometimes some inconvenieces happen. Thank you anyway, every remark is for us a push to improve our service.

The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

It took my husband and I less than 15 minutes to get to this hotel from the train station.We didn't get lost as the staff had provided us with a map and directions prior to our arrival. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly when we arrived at the hotel.One of the girls provided us with a map of Venice and listed the ways on how we could move around and explore Venice.She also highlighted on the map the places we should visit during our stay in Venice and even suggested visiting some of the islands like Murano and Burano which specialize in making beautiful glass and intricate lace respectively.Our room was clean and comfortable and came equipped with the basic amenities and even had tea making facilities.The bathroom was spacious and had a powerful shower which we enjoyed immensely.The breakfast room was lovely and the food served was sufficient and good.The fresh fruits served were delicious especially the plums.We enjoyed our stay at this hotel as it is centrally located ,close to the railway station,water taxis and attractions.The front desk staff we met on the day of our arrival was exceptionally good,handled everything for us ,including our luggage and showed us around the hotel and finally to our room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Malini P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Guest!!
we really appreciate your comment! We try our best to make of your stay the best experience possible. You will Always be welcome here.

The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This hotel was great. Firstly, you must remember this is Venice, so everything is expensive and unless you are willing to spend a fortune, you cannot expect a typical 5 star hotel like some cities. The room was great, nice and clean. The reception staff were SO lovely and helpful, I would say they were the highlight of our stay here. Breakfast was nice, a good selection of food. There is even a cool terrace up the top you can go up to with nice views. Our wifi worked fine the entire time, no issues there. There was a lift to transport our luggage up and down the floors. It is also a very good location, close to the train station and close to St Marc's square. For the price we paid I could not complain, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guests
thank you!! We are very happy about your impression on us. Comments like this Always make us happy and give us a push to improve our service even more. Thank you again! Come back to stay at Cà San Polo!

The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

It was easy to get to the property, located in a great location. You can walk it from train station in less than 15 minutes or take the water bus. Room was very nice and clean. Staff was great.
If you have a smart phone I suggest downloading offline map and use GPS.(CityMaps2Go). It saved us from getting lost!! Always knew my position without a paper map, never needed one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetsonjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guests
we thank you so much!! we are very glad you have excellent opinion on us. We do our utmost to make feel our guests at their ease. You will be Always welcome here!!

The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#108 of 385 in Venice
909 reviews
Hotel Belvedere
#233 of 385 in Venice
80 reviews
San Polo
Palazzetto Madonna
Palazzetto Madonna
#118 of 385 in Venice
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#66 of 385 in Venice
530 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#191 of 385 in Venice
373 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#193 of 385 in Venice
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' San Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' San Polo

Address: Sestiere San Polo 2696, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#84 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $108 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' San Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, attention to detail, located in the heart of Real Venice , of small dimensions in the way of greater distance walking; be reached in 10 min walk from the railway Saint Lucia and from Piazzale Roma. Ideal to feel Venetians in Venice, to visit one of the most beautiful and romantic cities in the world with short distances on foot and o enjoy, from 22.00 onwards "VENICE FOR US" CA'SAN POLO then is surrounded by restaurants, taverns and "bacari", all carefully selected by Fabio Mioni to be pampered even in the palate. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ca' San Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ca San Polo
Ca San Polo Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing