We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Find - Worth the Hunt!”
Review of Ca' San Polo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ca' San Polo
Ranked #168 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

After a long plane ride this little hotel was a haven. Very difficult to find from the Bus Station even though we had directions. However, upon arrival, the receptionist, Sarah was very warm & welcoming. She explained all about the hotel & area, showed us around the hotel and of course, our rooms. She made great suggestions where to go for meals & gave us a number to call her should we get lost. They have a cute but very small balcony @ the top of the hotel over looking the San Polo area. Both evenings we were there we took our glasses of wine up to this quaint spot. Breakfast was included and was served in a very appealing breakfast room. We also sat in this room in the evenings before turning in - also with a glass of wine!

Room Tip: We had the 2 rooms outside the breakfast room - perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PennieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest
we are very happy about what you wrote above! thank you very much! We are Always pleased when our guests feel comfortable and at ease by us! this is our job! Whenever you will come back our terrace is here waiting for you! Thank you again!

The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 433 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

First of the hotel is easy to find from the Rialto bridge and well signposted. (That is, as far as 'easy to find' in Venice goes!)

The lady on reception when we arrived was so pleasant and helpful, she couldn't have done her job better.

Our room was pretty and very clean. It was on the small side, but that's completely understandable as it is over 1586 years old and made up of islands. I was very impressed with the amount of facilities available in the room for the price, i.e minibar etc. The beds aren't the most comfortable and the shower head wouldn't stay up, but we weren't too upset by this.
Breakfast was small but adequate. The coffee machine settings need to be reprogrammed... Good coffee is essential in Italy!

I would love to stay in this hotel again, but I don't think I'll be returning to Venice. (Very touristy)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sexylinguini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guest
we thank you so much for your positive comment. If you change your mind and you decide to come back to Venice we will be happy to welcome you again here at Cà Sa Polo and will make sure to offer the best coffee ever!!

The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Tucked away in a corner in San Polo area; we enjoyed our stay very much. We had the Junior Suite and it was large and comfortable by European standards. The front desk personnel were fabulous (great job Allessia). They were a tremendous help to us when we arrived and found out my husband's wallet was stolen on the way to the hotel. (Be careful in Venice). The breakfast was very good; the place is very clean; there is no elevator except for transfer of luggage upstairs; the price is reasonable and it was easy to walk to all main attractions in Venice. Recommend you take a water taxi as close and you can get, it is worth the price. We walked from Rialto Bridge and were sorry because pulling your luggage up over bridge steps in Venice is no fun. Notify front desk if you are arriving at odd hours because front door is always locked.

Room Tip: Our Jr. Suite was large. Our friend's regular room was very adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlaRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Guests,
we are so pleased to read your impressions on our hotel and to notice that you appreciated our helpfulness, our position and the qulity of the service. We like to take care of our guests and we will be happy to do it again with you whenever you decide to come back to venice!

The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

hotel was fairly easy to find following directions provided by hotel and water taxi driver. We had booked 4 rooms between the 8 of us and found that booking and pre-arrival was very easy and there was a lot of communication between us and the hotel.
Our room for 2 was a decent size, queen size bed, bureau, desk in bedroom and a small bathroom. Bathroom size was average for Italy. Shower was one of the easier ones of our trip although we had trouble with closing the doors to keep the water in the tub.
Overall we were happy with the hotel and the service provided. The location worked out as it was near two water bus stops and easy to walk to and from other areas of the city,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casanpo, STAFF at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Guest
thank you very much for your appreciative comment. We are very glad that you had a nice time here. You are welcome anytime you want to come back!! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Don't be mislead by this hotel's four star rating. I would have a hard time giving this place two stars. It is dark and dingy, the girl at the front desk blatantly lied to us when we checked in, the wifi did not work the whole time we stayed, the beds were uncomfortable, the bathroom was cramped, the sound of water running through the pipes in the wall kept us up at night. Terrible. The worst place I have stayed in all of Europe and I have spent the last two summers traveling to 15 countries here and more than 30 cities and towns. FYI, this is the first hotel I have written a bad review for in the last 12 months. Trust me - it is not worth your money.

Room Tip: Take a pass on this place - there are way better places to stay in Venice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to inform you that we are very sorry for what we have read above. One of the main characteristics of our hotel , and for which we are often praised, is the kindness and helpfulness of the staff. You were welcomed you with the same courtesy and attention.

As far as the wi-fi connection, please notice that in booking.com it is openly and clearly highlighted that it works only in common areas and not in the rooms. The reason why we told you that it was working in the room it is that the room we had assigned to you is very close to the internet box and therefore the signal is very strong there. The second room were you were accommodated according to your request doesn’t benefit from the same privileged position and advantage.

We also want to bring your attention on the fact that our facility, as all the historical buildings in Venice, is very old (it stems from the 15th century) and even though renovated and refurbished, it can at times be noisy.

At last, seen our willingness to meet you halfway in your requests (changing your room and making ourselves available for you in the following days), if we had heard directly from you, while you were still here, all the inconveniences you were disappointed from, we can assure you that we would have tried once more to find a solution that could satisfy you and make you happy. The thing we cherish the most is customer care.

Anyway we take every remark as an encouragment to improve our service.

Best regards

The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Really charming, clean, great situated and affordable hotel in the center of Venedig.
You need to inform the reception about yor arrival time, as it is not opened 24/7, but they send notifications about that before your arrival.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amularczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Guest
we are very grateful for what we read above! It is a pleasure for us to know that our guest have found their stay here a 5 stars one!! We hope to see you again here in Venice anytime soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very friendly staff were helpful in pointing out local restaurants and landmarks. Room was decent size and clean (we were upgraded on arrival). Location was perfect for exploring Venice whilst staying out the way of the main commercial area

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark_sincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casanpo, the staff at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
we are very happy that you appreciated the kindness and willful spirit of the staff along with the location of our hotel. Thank you very much! You will always be welcome at Cà San Polo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#108 of 385 in Venice
909 reviews
Hotel Belvedere
#233 of 385 in Venice
80 reviews
San Polo
Palazzetto Madonna
Palazzetto Madonna
#118 of 385 in Venice
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#66 of 385 in Venice
530 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#191 of 385 in Venice
373 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#193 of 385 in Venice
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' San Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' San Polo

Address: Sestiere San Polo 2696, 30125 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#84 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $108 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' San Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, attention to detail, located in the heart of Real Venice , of small dimensions in the way of greater distance walking; be reached in 10 min walk from the railway Saint Lucia and from Piazzale Roma. Ideal to feel Venetians in Venice, to visit one of the most beautiful and romantic cities in the world with short distances on foot and o enjoy, from 22.00 onwards "VENICE FOR US" CA'SAN POLO then is surrounded by restaurants, taverns and "bacari", all carefully selected by Fabio Mioni to be pampered even in the palate. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ca' San Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ca San Polo
Ca San Polo Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing