We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over over priced..”
Review of Ca' San Polo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ca' San Polo
Ranked #172 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2011

During my stay in venice,I stayed at a palazzo on the grand canal, for the same price.. Over over priced tiny hotel at a crowded cross streets.I couldn't sleep even with closed windows.when I entered the room it had a bad smell of cooking coming up from close restaurants. Also the sheets had a bad smell..I had to ask for another ones..but it had the same nasty smell..I believe they wash in cold water for economy concerns..The worst hotel experience I ever had.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robertella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casanpo, Direttore at Ca' San Polo, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

Dear Guest,
we are really sorry to read you found your experience at Ca’ San Polo not completely satisfactory.
It is our main mission to do our job in order to always help our guests to enjoy a pleasant stay in our hotel.

Our sincere aplologies if you felt the room did not smell good; as you might have realized, the buildings in Venice are very close one another and there are many restaurants in our area.
Our room maids are used to keeping the windows open whenever they clean up the rooms and this is probably the reason why you might have found this unfamiliar smell at your arrival.

Our hotel linens are regularly washed by a professional laundry that takes care of them. This is why our sheets (as the sheets you will find in many hotels) smell of professional cleanser that they use to sterilize the linen and that is of course very different from the products we use for our laundry at home.

Again, we always work very hard to provide our guests with high cleanliness and hygiene standards as well as professionalism, our best assistance and a welcoming smile.

Alessia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 435 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was our first stay in Italy and it started our trip off very well. The B & B is very conveniently located to everything in Venice and we easily walked everywhere. Service and room were great. Wireless internet, breakfast and terrace on top of the building were all very nice amenities.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Really nice hotel and excellent pleasant staff. Even got an e-mail just before travel giving directions etc. One of the best value for money hotels we stayed at in Italy. Stayed with two teenage children in late August. Weather was hot and the children loved the air-con in the entrance hall and room. Plenty of decent eateries nearby and a supermarket at the end of the road for snacks and wine/beer. The hotel actually sits near to one of the major walking routes around Venice and once found for the first time is easy to find thereafter. We left a hire car at Tronchetto parking garage and chose to walk (30 min walk with overnight bag), the garage cost 21 euro for 24hrs. There was parking nearer to the bus station but it appeared to fill up earlier. Good fresh continental breakfast with reasonable selection (nothing like the picture showing a tray of packet food). Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone thinking of travelling to Venice for any type of break.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tijjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Super little hotel in the heart of Venice! My husband and I and our 3 children stayed in the family room. Air conditionning was fantastic! We slept really well and the breakfast was great. The best part is the location, it is so easy to go for a walk in the evening and enjoy the quiet side of Venice! We had a wonderful 3 days, went to Murano (the glass museum was a little bare), and we walked and used the water bus.
It is possible to walk from the train station to the hotel but only if you don't have much luggage as there are many bridges to cross! We used the Nb 1 Vaporetto, we got a 3 day pass and used it a lot, even to go to Murano and Punto Sabbioni (we went camping near there).
Just thinking about the back streets of Venie makes me want to go back straight away!!
Wonderful break!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chachachach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

ok - this room was very small (we stayed in a quad room) but really, you can't expect too much space in Venice. It was small, but it was clean and nice enough. We only had wifi in the breakfast room but the staff were very upfront with that, so we knew exactly what to expect. We found the breakfast room really nice and the food was really pretty good. The staff were just lovely. It is in a fantastic location we just walked out in the morning and spent the day wandering. There is a lift to the 3rd floor that you can use for your luggage (we were on the 4th floor but the staff helped us up the one flight with our luggage). But overall, you only walk up those stairs once at the end of the day and you are not in your room for very long because there is way too much to do in Venice to stay in your room. It was pretty good value for money so I would definately stay here again. And if you leave the hotel, and turn to the left and then left around the corner, you will find the best sandwich/panini place in the world!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross-rabbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at the Ca' San Polo at the beginning of July for 3 nights with our 2 sons. We absolutely loved it! This was our fourth time in Venice so we decided to try a different hotel and were not disappointed. It is a bit further from the Rialto Bridge than we usually stay but it was an easy walk to the Rialto and then St. Mark's Square. It was really nice to stay in a new area as we explored new streets and canals. There are a lot of great shops in the area as well as several groceries stores.

We had a family room for 4 people. It was a good sized room with lots of charm and with a large bathroom. It was very clean and very well kept. I think this hotel had the most comfortable beds of the whole trip...beware that beds in Italy are hard!! The room was very quiet and had good air conditioning which is important in Venice as you don't really get any breezes from the windows.

The breakfast in the morning was really good and was served from about 7:30 until 10:00 am. The first morning we were at the hotel, we had flown from Canada to Rome and then driven about 6 hours to get to Venice. I thought we would wake up in the morning with no problems but we all slept in. The lady in the breakfast room called us at 10:00 to see if we were coming. I told her that we had all slept in and not to worry about it but she wouldn't hear of it, and she held breakfast for us until 10:30 so we could eat.

The roof balcony was a real treat! It is fairly small so only 1 group at a time can really use it but we always found we could use it with no problem. It is nice to buy a bottle of wine and sit up there enjoying the views of the roof tops which are unique to Venice! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful! We took the vaporetto in and found the directions to the hotel were fairly good and we only had to ask for help 1 time. We walked out as it is an easy 10 minute walk out of Venice.

Being that we were in Venice with kids, we didn't eat in any restaurants as they are on the pricey side but a highlight for us was stopping to get pizza and then sitting behind the fish market along the grand canal eating our pizza and watching the boats go by! There is a great little takeout pizza place about halfway between the hotel and the fish market on the left hand side that had some of the best pizza we had in all of Italy!

Next time we go back to Venice, we will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed here for a few nights in October 2010. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and our room was nice (not too big) but quiet, clean and comfortable. Location was quite convenient – and although this wasn’t in the ‘tourist central’ part of Venice (rialto/san marco), it was about a 10 minute walk to Rialto Bridge. Although Venice can be hard to navigate (you will most likely get lost at least once if you haven’t been there before!!), there is a supermarket and a couple of restaurants quite close by. While a few seemed to close before dinner, this may have been because of the time of year we were travelling. Probably the best way to get to the hotel when you first arrive is via a ferry , San Toma– the nearest stop is about a 5 minute walk, but you only have to cross one or two bridges, so don’t have to lift your bags/suitcases too often!

Breakfast was included with our rate and was fairly standard toast, pastries and cereal – but was more than adequate.

If you get the chance, head up to the roof and there is a little patio up there. It is quite nice to sit up there and relax after a day exploring the city.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noleave-nolife12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#117 of 387 in Venice
910 reviews
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#152 of 387 in Venice
598 reviews
Hotel Belvedere
#230 of 387 in Venice
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Turelli
Ca' Turelli
#237 of 387 in Venice
100 reviews
San Polo
Palazzetto Madonna
Palazzetto Madonna
#116 of 387 in Venice
450 reviews
San Polo
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' San Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' San Polo

Address: Sestiere San Polo 2696, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $102 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' San Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, attention to detail, located in the heart of Real Venice , of small dimensions in the way of greater distance walking; be reached in 10 min walk from the railway Saint Lucia and from Piazzale Roma. Ideal to feel Venetians in Venice, to visit one of the most beautiful and romantic cities in the world with short distances on foot and o enjoy, from 22.00 onwards "VENICE FOR US" CA'SAN POLO then is surrounded by restaurants, taverns and "bacari", all carefully selected by Fabio Mioni to be pampered even in the palate. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ca' San Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ca San Polo
Ca San Polo Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing