We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Venice-- LOVED Ca' Gottardi!”
Review of Ca' Gottardi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ca' Gottardi
Ranked #34 of 473 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We traveled to Venice in mid-September 2013 and wanted to be away from the maddening crowds of St. Mark's Square. We decided to stay in the Cannaregio section for three nights pre-cruise. Yes, there are bridges to cross and crowds to deal with, but the service and location of Ca' Gottardi was above our expectations. Two minutes from the Ca' d'Oro stop and within walking distance of a real grocery store!!! (more about that to come...)

Of course we Americans will have to understand that most European rooms will be small (by our comparisons) but we spent the extra for a room with a view of the canal and we were not disappointed. I believe there is an annex with larger rooms, but we were very pleased with ours. I can't remember which number it was now, (either 110 or 220 not sure) but it was in the same hall as the sitting room with the computer, just right of the check in desk.

Despite having to go upstairs, we never had to carry our luggage, and the daily breakfast was substantial and tasty. Meats, cheeses, fruits, yogurts, specialty coffees and teas, and a little crock pot thingy with hot water to make your own soft or hard boiled eggs. Be warned that the dining area can get very busy post cruise morning, but turnaround time is pretty quick and there's a nice little sitting area to have coffee or tea while waiting for a table. This alone made it worth staying, since each morning we got a nice breakfast that kept us enduring the long walks around Venice for hours and hours. It was also nice to have free wi-fi access.

Just outside the entrance there is a little cafe where DH and enjoyed the most terrific pasta with squid in ink sauce and seafood chichetti. Some of the reviews for the "Pasqualigo" Ristorante were not so favorable, but we ate there twice in our 3 days in Venice and were not disappointed as we could even see where "our table" was from our room window! Face it folks-- EVERYTHING in Venice costs more.

The thing I was most impressed with was the fact that the staff allowed me to take a teapot of hot water into my room each evening to make a couple cups of tea. DH tells me their espresso and cappucino coffees were delicious, but I am not a big coffee drinker. I can tell you that even the "regular" coffee at breakfast was very good, because I liked it too despite my likeness for all the flavored teas there. There is always hot water available and if you really wanted coffee or a cappucino in the afternoon, I'm fairly certain they would accommodate.

Someone was available at the desk at all hours, and staff were polite and accommodating. The only sort of complaint I had, was when trying to use the "business" computer discovered that the keyboard was "Italian" and was not conducive to most English writers. No worries. If you need something printed up (i.e. boarding pass, tour receipt, etc.) just ask at the front desk.

Everyone was so friendly and helpful, with a special shout out to Fabio! We asked, and he got us a private water taxi to Murano (at no cost) but beware that the private tour guide sticks by your side the whole time. No real high pressure sales tactics, but I got the feeling he expected us to buy something. I finally just asked him to show us the "lower-end" priced items, and that basically ended our tour. Still it is a MUST-SEE because of the beautiful blown glassware and we enjoyed walking around Murano as well. The downside is we had to take the public vaporetto back to the hotel, but we just made a fun afternoon around the island and the Grand Canal.

On our return back to Venice post-cruise we stayed at another location, and there was no comparison. If we are ever lucky enough to visit Venice again, we will most definitely stay at the Ca' Gottardi.

Room Tip: If you can spare the extra $$ go for the canal view room, but if you want more space get a room in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cin D. B.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 655 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

I know I am in the real minority making any critisism of this hotel, however I think it was due to the previous fantastic reviews that made me slightly disappointed with our experience. Upon arrival, my boyfriend and I were shown to our room in the annex by a somewhat harassed receptionist. He was polite but we certainly did not experience the very warm greeting others have had. The room was very large and spotless. The bathroom was first class, however the bed was rock solid!
The breakfast the following morning was very poor, however it really redeemed itself on the second morning, with much more selection. We found it very strange to be eating amongst the reception area, but it was a lovely room.
The next two days I think we were simply unfortunate as there was a problem with the water pump in the annex, resulting in limited water pressure and it being very cool. The hotel kindly took off our tax payment to compensate for this. We did however have to keep chasing them up to fix the water.
From reading other reviews, I really would try to get a room in the main hotel block if you want to feel part of the hotel, to have character and not to have to cross a dark alley to get to the annex entrance.
All in all the hotel is not bad at all, with a large room and it is very clean. It is well positioned too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaidstoneHelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here the day before my cruise departure. The staff could not have been more attentive. They were amazing, they addressed me by my last name every time they would see me, I never had to lift my bags. The daily breakfast was so nice. It was clean, very updated and the location on the canal was one block in from the grand canal. It was about a 10 minute walk to st marks sqr, which for me was just fine.

Room Tip: Rooms are NOT big, but this is common in many parts of Europe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with 3 other friends for a night and loved it.

First, I can definitely say that the staff were very friendly and helpful. Since we booked a bigger room (for four), the room was located in the building next door. The staff helped us carry the luggages since lifts are uncommon in Venice. When we got here at around 8pm, they even offered us tea and cookies while waiting for us to check in.

The room was quite small but manageable and clean. The decoration was a combination of modern and old Italian. The bathroom was clean and spacious. Something surprising in Venice. They had four complimentary bottles of water, coffee and Twinings Tea. Complimentary slippers were also provided.

Buffet breakfast was also included in our booking. Breakfast was decent, croissants, Danish, ham, cheese, yogurt, fruits, cereals and hard boiled eggs.

The hotel was about 15 minutes walk from the train station. We got lost that's why it took us about 30 minutes.

The staff was very nice to call us a water taxi to the Marco Polo airport. It was €30 per person from their hotel to the airport. They also allowed us to leave our luggages after we checked out since our flight was late afternoon.

All in all I loved our stay at this hotel. For sure when I come back for the 3rd time in Venice, I will be staying here. I love Venice and Ca' Gottardi!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jaymee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous room overlooking canal, coupled with fantastic service at every hour. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Located in busy Main Street. Hard to find initially but perfect location. Some amazing cicceti bars and restaurants very close. The hotel had some great recommendations.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GemtheGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I had booked this hotel 3 weeks before arriving and was lucky to find and book the last room, which was right next to reception area. The room was clean and small, but comfortable. We had a window, but no view. My only complaint was the shower and bathroom. My husband is 6’1 and couldn’t move in the shower.
Breakfast was great, included meat, cheese, fruit, pastries, yogurt, cereal, coffee, cappuccino, juice. Staff very helpful! Great Location, 10 minutes from Rialto Bridge, 15-20 minute walk to train station, 3 minutes from ca d’oro water bus stop and across from a supermarket.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gallega1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Terrific, very friendly staff and beautiful rooms and common areas. Get an upgrade if you can and you might make sure you stay in the main building (ask ahead). We had two rooms and they were both very nice, but the upgraded room was fantastic whereas the standard room was a bit small (standard in Venice) and did not have much light (though still beautifully appointed and comfortable; no complaints here). If I returned to Venice Ca' Gottardi would be my first choice.

Room Tip: Get an upgraded room for more room and light. Ask for main building (where we stayed).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dana1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
#25 of 473 in Venice
460 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Pozzo Inn
Ca' Pozzo Inn
#19 of 473 in Venice
771 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca' San Giorgio
Ca' San Giorgio
#6 of 473 in Venice
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Residenza degli Angeli
Residenza degli Angeli
#17 of 473 in Venice
645 reviews
Santa Croce
Palazzo Odoni
Palazzo Odoni
#13 of 473 in Venice
612 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Filu
Hotel Filu
#12 of 473 in Venice
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Gottardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Gottardi

Address: Cannaregio, 2283, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 473 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $108 - $972 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' Gottardi 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Venice, just around the corner from Ca' d'Oro and the Casino, Ca' Gottardi's superior location is one of the best. Its rooms and ambiance aspire to be one of the most sophisticated structures in Venice where traditional art and innovative design combine in a rare elegance. Ca' Gottardi provides charming accommodations, each unique, in the most elegant Maison de Charme style. Its interiors are the result of an attention to details with regard to materials and techniques and a heightened sensitivity in approaching forms and volumes in accordance with Venetian artistic tradition. Clean and modern design is reflected in the entrance stairway of pure white marble and balustrade in crystal, where light creates unique effects. In addition to the piano nobile, guests are welcomed with a unique elegance, in which the creativity of Italian design enriched by a touch of luxury that is typical of the great patrician residences. Ca' Gottardi occupies the main floor of an antique Venetian palace from the XV century, then known as Ca' Priuli. Ca' Gottardi overlooks the Rio de Noal with a balcony covered by a beautiful late 17-th century quadrifora window. From here, you can admire Ca' Pesaro to your right, today the home of the Modern Art Gallery. Here are Ca' Gottardi's rooms, a world of class and refinement, for an unforgettable stay. Furnishings have been crafted by experts, in the classical Venetian 18th-century style, and evoke that noble elegance that has made Venice famous throughout Europe. Fine brocade curtains and carpets provide a warm contrast to a light-filled ambience created by the high ceilings and large windows. The world-famous art of glass is displayed in the chandeliers, the appliqués and in the gold-framed mirrors. Parquet floors in African woods in warm tones of red and brown are laid with rich soft carpeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ca' Gottardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Gottardi Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing