We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #231 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I am a student travelling Europe with 3 friends - we booked this hostel after researching on the Internet and thinking it looked reasonable for the location and the price.
For what you pay (approx €25 per night) it is appalling!
The directions given by the 'hotel' make no sense & fail to mention there is a main road near by.
Upon arrival, we were then told we had to pay extra for city tax which they conviniently forget to mention.
The hotel itself is disgusting! The carpets are dirty - it appears as though people have been sick/spilt various things and the staff haven't bothered to clean it/replace the carpet.
The rooms are average - not worth the price you pay at all. The staff do not give you toilet roll etc.
The common area is also poor - with a small fridge and no choice from the vending machines.
The staff are very insistent that this is closed at midnight therefore you cannot access water etc that you have stored in the fridge - you do not get a fridge or TV in the room as they claim on their website.
They also insist that you cannot sit outside on the terrace past this time therefore you are confined to your room - particularly annoying if you are a smoker!
The general area around the 'hotel' is vile & the club that is apparantly 2 minutes away is in a disgusting area.
We ventured out of the hostel on our 2nd night only to be greeted by prostitutes and seedy men.
I would never recommend anyone to stay here - pay the little bit extra and stay on the Ventian islands - you will not have a good experience here!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank JemmaPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locandabelvedere, Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

As its explained in the website the private rooms have private facilities.
Commun room have big tv and machines for beverages and small snacks and the terrace area is open 24 hour.
The sharing bathroom alwayshave 2 roller of toilet paper but if its finish in a short time, should be asked for it.
Our hotel have the perfect location for the people who are looking for a quiet and peaceful sleeping night after a long walking day in discovering the beauty of venice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 80 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

First of all, this hotel is nowhere near to either Venice or the train station which it claims to be only a minute away from. The directions are impossible to follow and are written in terrible English.
Secondly, the hotel is in a super old building; the awning on the front is old and tattered, the carpet throughout is from decades ago, and all the appliances are terrible. The vending machines are all over priced, though the owner makes a show of using his special key to get coffee and candy for free throughout the day. The fridge is small, crowded and smells like death.
The staff is cold, unwelcoming, and the male owner is absolutely rude. He complained about me charging my phone in the common room (because the dorm has only one outlet), about having my feet on the coffee table, and about being too loud. On the last night, a pillow had been moved in the room and te owner yelled at me for laying in a clean bed, when I had been out all day!
The location of the hotel isn't as great as it could be, though it is only 5 minutes from a great pizzeria!
It is also a good place to meet other travellers!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louisdabelgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

7 minutes by train into city; 1.2euro same as bus #6 & #6/ but why wait for a bus trains run every 5-7 minutes all go to Venice SL. Venice is built on water ther are misquitoes prepare. 1 star hotels have wear and tear you are there to sleep & use Internet which work fine. The directions are correct once you find the hotel the first time it is easy. Most dormitories have bunk beds & shared bath some not ensuite. Baths were cleaned daily. Individually keyed rooms, no lockers, free wifi, nice English speaking staff. Happy to have saved $$ by staying in Mestra @ The Belvedere.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATWwithScott2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

This is just outside of main Venice and you need to cross the bridge to go to the main Venice area. There is very good direction given on the website that takes easily to the lodge.
Location is convenient, bus stop is nearby & get to Venice in 15 minutes on train also very frequesnt. Very nice & helpful staff.
Good professional meeting room, good to work at night. Nearby neighborhood and bakery were lovely.
Rooms were clean and Comfortable. Would definitely recommend and would stay there again.
Moreover there are gifta available like T-Shirts which is an absolute surprise. I stayed there in 2004 also and it was a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shyam_banerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

Nuova Locanda Belvedere
My boyfriend and I stayed here in June for 2 nights, and, trying to save money, booked a room with 4 beds. The reviews and photos we saw on hostelworld [--]looked nice, and we figured we could share a room with 2 others for 2 nights. I don’t know how much they paid hostelworld to post the photos they did, but what we saw was NOTHING like them. We think they must have one nice single room that they use for photo purposes, and that’s it. We were put in a room with 2 bunk beds and 2 cots (that’s a total of 6, not 4 beds) and when we asked, they told us it was busy and didn’t offer to refund any of our money. There is no age restriction here, and we had a full room of men (I was the only girl) one of whom was around 60, and sat on his bunk with no shirt and just leered at everyone, not speaking to anyone either night. As well, although this was a hostel-type accommodation, there was no kitchen or common room, and the grocery store is a good 20-30 minute walk away. The train to the Island is close by and is only 1EUR each way, but in the rooms, there were no lockers, no toilet paper for the bathrooms, and no towels. We had to wear bug spray to bed due to the mosquitoes, and even in early June it was extremely muggy and hot and difficult to sleep in.
If you want our advice, spend an afternoon in Venice altogether, and then go to Murano Island on the Waterbus. It’s similar scenery, but much less touristy, MUCH cheaper, and has all the glass-blowing factories that you can go to and watch for free. Venice is really expensive and is a big tourist trap. Gondola rides are 80-100EUR for 45minutes and although it’s what you want to do when you show up, if you’re on a budget (which if you’re looking at this “hotel” you probably are), consider riding around on the water bus (but be sure to buy a day pass before you get on otherwise you’ll pay 6EUR per direction!).

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank traveljunkie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

This is my first trip to Italy, and at the end of my trip. The food and room/plumbing were fine, just fine. The windows need screens if you are sleeping with them opened at night. I was truly happy here and would come again. Staff friendly, most spoke some English. Breakfast and cappichino were great.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2005

I booked knowing this place was more a hostel with private rooms, I'm a traveller who views privacy as important. It was a cheap rate by Venice standards at around £28.00 per night for a single private room. The hotel is situated 5 mins walk from Mestre train station and I travelled by train into Venice at a cost of 1 Euro each way and I found this relatively convenient as all trains went from Venice to Mestre. The reception was well presented with friendly English speaking staff. My room was average sized with clean crisp cotton sheets and white bath-sized towel. The bin was emptied daily but the room clearly needed a hoover. The tv was unwatchable due to a poor signal, possibly due to the ariel cable being dodgily joined together in two places. The taps would not turn off fully and this was like chinese water torture at times. Noise from other residents was experienced until midnight on one night only. Both shower/toilet rooms (there were two next to my room) were satisfactorily clean but was let down by a loud pulsating noise (eminating from the water pipe perhaps) that repeated every thirty seconds throughout my final night. I felt the Hotel Belvedere was let down by maintainence problems while cleanliness was adiquate for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Streetwyze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Altieri
#352 of 385 in Venice
335 reviews
Hotel San Giuliano
#345 of 385 in Venice
262 reviews
Al Piccolo Hotel
#242 of 385 in Venice
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#338 of 385 in Venice
371 reviews
Alexander Hotel
#209 of 385 in Venice
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Via Carlo Mezzacapo 1, 30175 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $43 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Belvedere 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This budget hotel is located in the center of one of the most enchanting areas of Venice, City Garden.In a privileged position in Marghera, Locanda Belvedere is located in the hustle and bustle of city life, yet close to the bridge connecting the mainland to the historic center of Venice (7 km). The hotel's location offers easy access to the various sites of the city and its surroundings, it is located near the highway, subway, train station and bus stops that have a very high frequency. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Marghera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing