We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and Switch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Torre dell'Orologio Suites
Ranked #265 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is the worst experience we have ever had in nearly 50 years of traveling. The staff was rude, lied to us, made us feel as if they were doing us a favor by waiting on us, all in a hotel that was aging with mediocre amenities at best. We paid for two room suites and they were given away to others when we arived. The refused to return our money for the cost of the one room and two room suites and although the manger promised to take care of us, the best he did was escort us to the most expensive restaurant attached to the hotel and then give us a 5% discount.

The front desk clerk was a young woman who was in her early to mid twenties and was the rudest lier we have ever met. We even asked her for some water while checking in and she told us to get it from the toilet down the hall.

This place should be avoided at all costs. More crooked than the Leaning Tower of Pisa.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Banduchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 138 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at the "townhome" suit at Torre Dell'Orologio, and were pleasantly surprised how close it is to the San Marco Square. The suit was very spacious with a separate living room. The included breakfast was ok, nothing special. The room included two bathrooms, which is unusual for hotels on a small island. We would be back, and it would definitely be our first choice.

Room Tip: Suit is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

If you are travelling with grown kids, this is a great place to stay. The suites are very spacious, extremely well maintained and less than a 2 minute walk to St Marcos square. We stayed in a one bedroom suite which had a sofa bed and an additional bed in the living room. There is also a tiny kitchenette with a microwave and fridge. To get to the suites - once you get off the water bus, you have to walk towards the clock tower, go thru the entrance of the tower and take a left on the 2nd street. It is opposite the Foto Blitz shop. The suites have a different entrance. So, the hotel gives you a key for the main entrance to the suites. The reception has limited hours so if you are arriving late, be sure to inform them of your approximate time of arrival. For check in/out and breakfast you have to go to the main hotel which is next door. All the receptionists that we interacted during our stay were extremely friendly and helpful during our visit. We loved the spacious suites and the staff at the hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I was assured prior to my arrival that this was a 4 star hotel... hardly. No amenities. No room Service. The shower had brown soot coming out of the pipes. My air conditioning did not work upon arrival took a day and half to be moved to another room. In a sister hotel (where the elevator did not work) I was advised by the manager I would be receiving a certain discount, however upon check out the discount was 50% less then they told me. Breakfast buffet is horrible. Staff ( which essentially consists of a front desk clerk) is less than accommodating. With my room rate we had a free trip to Murano to glass blowing factory... horrible experience... essentially if you don't buy something ridiculously over priced they make you wait on the dock for hour to come back in the "free" taxi... BEWARE. This hotel misrepresents itself as a first class hotel. That was not my experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrsmom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We had a clean and nicely decorated suite with a king bed in a bedroom, the living room had a table & 2 chairs,2 side chairs and a couch with pull out for two children (ages 15 & 11) to share. The room was nicely decorated with a small kitchen area with sink, refrigerator, coffee pot, cook top and microwave. We didn't use any kitchen appliances but I noted a few plates, cups and bowls and maybe one pan. Our pleasant view down the canal looked toward a small foot bridge and the Hard Rock Cafe. The Suites share an after hours desk and breakfast room with the San Marco Palace - the hallway and walk to get there was a bit confusing the first time and required a bit of exploration, but nothing that was too difficult after a time or two. The hotel breakfast room was a nice place to eat with small egg omlets, bacon, some fresh fruits, yogurt, breads, cold cereals, and a caffe machine. The desk staff spoke English enough to offer pleasantries, deliver a message from our tour guide, and offer the Murano glass tour more than once (which we declined). We upgraded to this hotel based upon mediocre trip advisor reviews of the first hotel our tour company offered. We were not disappointed - but if you have big kids or adults this room would be too small for four people.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgalNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night last year with my wife and 3 children. We had a suite that was of a good size and nicely decorated. The main advantage of this hotel is its very central location. It is only a minutes walk from St Marks Square. As would be expected given its superb location it is very expensive. My main issue with this hotel was that you had to pay for breakfast on top of this, which I thought was a bit much.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEAB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I've travel overseas and stayed in hotels with character due to their age.
I've lived overseas for years managing language issues and no american television magazines, etc.

We took a family trip (brother/sister their partners and their mother who lives in Rome) all with a grasp of italian, spanish, english, korean and french under our belt.

The staff was rude.
The rooms did not have enough glasses for the 5 of us, nor did they bring them when asked.
The staff was rude.
The bellhop was asked to bring up our bags and although we helped (4 bags, 1 man), he brought none and proceeded to make fun of two in our group behind their backs.
The staff was rude.
We had to go to the restaurant to open a bottle of wine we bought b/c the hotel had no corkscrews or bottle openers in any rooms or at the front desk.
The staff was rude.
The concierge recommended a restaurant near the hotel (not in the hotel or with cruise ship tourists); it was not just closed, it was out of business.
The staff was rude.
After 10 pm, you had to enter and be buzzed through one of the adjacent hotels to get in, but didn't tell us which one.
The staff was rude.
When we found the right hotel to enter and drop off our mother before going back out, the night man was not just dismissive, but disrespectful. ..and then rude for reading his mind as he lead us into the street to buzz us in a side door.
The staff was rude.
When a brazilian couple was trying to find a good restaurant and how to get back into the hotel, we were more helpful than the night staff.
The staff was rude.
There was no wifi; you could get it in the lobby, but the network crashed our iphones and laptops.
The staff was rude.
The concierge told us to leave our bags to be put in a secure closet as we enjoyed our final hours after checking out; they were left in a common area where one could unsuccessfully access wifi.

We had a lovely time in Italy.
We had superb and friendly dining throughout venice, but don't lose your glass slipper, everything closes at the stroke of midnight.

This hotel is not worth your money; there are far nicer hotels a short walk away in this tourist destination - even ones that have a touch of modern flair in this medieval city.

It is a one star, maybe two due to its destination. The other commenters may have enjoyed the location, the beauty of the city, and the unique experience of being in venice.

This hotel was a dreadful experience.

The staff was rude.

Room Tip: don't stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#256 of 385 in Venice
217 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#204 of 385 in Venice
1,120 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#158 of 385 in Venice
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#160 of 385 in Venice
595 reviews
San Marco
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
#169 of 385 in Venice
442 reviews
San Marco
All'Angelo Hotel
All'Angelo Hotel
#215 of 385 in Venice
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre dell'Orologio Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre dell'Orologio Suites

Address: Sestiere San Marco 202A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $126 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torre dell'Orologio Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Torre dell'Orologio Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Dell`Orologio Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing