We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better off with a tent and sleeping bag”
Review of Locanda Ca' Zose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Locanda Ca' Zose
Ranked #152 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Better off with a tent and sleeping bag”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The "superior" room is anything but. NO AIR CONDITIONING, and when I ask why I get told the story about how the government shuts it off. Funny how no other place I've stayed this whole trip has had this problem. I am then told that i can open the windows. So great, now im in a room thats not only hot, but full of mosquitoes. The stupid "little machine" as the manager calls it is a plug in citronella that doesn't work. Even though I have an extra one that I had to ask for and was handed to me like I was being given some huge bonus.
As for the wifi, apparently that too is regulated. I get handed a password for 2 hours use and am told I only get a max of 6 hours during my stay.

If I hadn't prepaid I would leave this dump. And yes, it is a dump. The carpet worn and shabby. All i can say is that at least with a tent, I know im going to need bug spray and it isn't costing me near as much. Bottom line, avoid this place at all cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    238
    58
    11
    9
See reviews for
79
377
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just back from my second visit to Ca Zose, which was just as good an experience as the first. It is in a great location, close to everything but slightly away from the madding crowd. The rooms were lovely and clean and comfortable and the owners were chatty and genuinely friendly. Excellent value too!
Carol from Dublin

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

A pleasure to be a guest at this hotel rather than just a room number. Personal service and assistance at all times. Water taxi berth just outside the hotel so arriving and departing is hassle free. Quite location away from the crowds and in easy reach of vaporetto stations, Salute, Accedemia & Zattere

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just returned from 3 night stay at Locanda ca Zose.
Opted for waterbus direct from airport to Zaterre then short walk from there.
Stayed in room 24, was larger than expected and decorated in traditional Venetian decor. Room was spotlessly clean and contained everything we needed. Minibar prices very reasonable, €2 can of italian beer.
Can't comment on breakfast as opted to take an early lunch at one of the many restaurants nearby instead.
20 minute walk takes you to St Marks square.
Loved our stay at the Locanda and can't wait to visit Venice again-its an unbelievable place!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citytravellerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is ideally located for a stay in Venice. It's very close to the Peggy Guggenheim gallery and the Salute Church and only a few minutes from the Accademia bridge and vaporetto stop, so you can easily get across to San Marco and the Rialto Bridge isn't far either. It's on the pretty Rio della Fornasa canal. The rooms are beautifully decorated and we loved the17 th century beams.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very substantial for Italy. I'd definitely stay there again although why they have those very hard pillows, I really don't know!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 442DEE44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great location, only 2 minutes walk away from Salute Station, meaning you don't need to drag your bags very far, and only one Vaporetto stop from St Mark's square. Dorosdoro however is nice and quiet, away from the crowds, and super picturesque. The rooms are clean, a little on the small side but that's Venice for you, and there isn't an elevator up the stairs. Thankfully there's air-con, you'll need to keep the window's closed as the bugs are in frenzy in Aug/Sept in Venice and the mini bar is stocked with very reasonably priced wine. The breakfast was very basic but it'll do. Wifi was only free for an hour. On the whole it was a nice hotel, unfortunately at venice prices, it was a little costly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alita-b-angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I thought this hotel was just okay. It was old and run down. With a little TLC it could be a lot better.The room was a good size and clean. One staff member was helpful and one was not, could be a language barrier. The breakfast was normal for a B&B. The bed in the room that I stayed in was very uncomfortable and the pillow felt like cement. The hotel was close to the bus stop and most attractions you can walk or take the bus. There was a front desk staff person 24 hours a day. Wi-Fi was free for an hour but wasn't a strong signal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#177 of 385 in Venice
444 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#72 of 385 in Venice
501 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#136 of 385 in Venice
433 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#139 of 385 in Venice
600 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#92 of 385 in Venice
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ca' Zose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca' Zose

Property: Locanda Ca' Zose
Address: Dorsoduro 193/b | Calle del Bastion angolo Fondamenta Ca Bala, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in Venice
#113 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Ca' Zose 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has been recently restored and is equipped with all comforts. It is located in one of the most elegant and quiet area of Venice between Accademia/Dorsoduro and Punta della Dogana close to the Peggy Guggenheim Collection,Pinault Foundation, the Basilique of Santa Maria della Salute, a short walk from the Accademia Bridge and from the Gallerie of the Fine Arts, just 100 meters from the local waterbus stop "Salute" located in front S.Mark Square. All rooms have ENSUITE BATHROOM with shower, TV, air conditioning , minibar and safe, free wi-fi. ALL ROOMS ARE NON SMOKER as by italian law. CHECK IN TIME 14:00 p.m.CHECK OUT TIME: 10:00 a.m.- BREAKFAST FROM 8:00 a.m.to 10:00 a.m. Luggage deposit is possible before check-in and after check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Locanda Ca' Zose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca Zose Venice
Locanda Ca Zose Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing