We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Locanda Ca' Zose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Locanda Ca' Zose
Ranked #155 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We arrived with the airport bus-boat and got of at the Zattere stop. The hotel is less than 10 minutes by walking and it's quite easy to find. The location is also very nice, close to the grand canal and just a few minutes away from the first main bridge (which will take you to the "main" area).

The hotel itself is very nicely decorated, the room felt luxurious with heavy curtains and bathtub. It's not the largest of rooms, but that's probably true for the entire city. The staff was always friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was excellent. As Scandinavians we were very happy to find grain bread, yoghurt, müsli and fruit, but you could also find the more traditional croissants, marmalade, salami etc. The breakfast Staff used plastic gloves when refilling trays, which felt ensuring.

We're hard pressed to find something negative about the stay, so we can just recommend a stay if you are in the neighbourhood. Don't miss the small Gondola ride if you turn right outside the hotel! It's actually not for tourists, but takes you across the grand canal for 2 euros! (Gondola ride - check). Also, early October is a great time to be here. Not overly crowded and no smell from the canals, but still warm enough to stay outside also for dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
There are newer reviews for Locanda Ca' Zose
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 647 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

Close to vaparetto stop, airport water taxi and Peggy Guggenheim museum. Small hotel - room was good size, fairly large bathroom with a tiny shower. Cleaned to a high standard every day. Double bed was like sleeping on a wooden board - my husband did not have a problem but I ended up sleeping on towels to try and get comfortable. Good value mini bar. Owners(?) were helpful if you needed to ask anything. Breakfast room tiny - seating for 10/12 people and breakfast was pretty basic - cold boiled eggs even when they ran out and brought out fresh ones. Read several reviews espousing how wonderful this hotel was - I have never stayed in Venice before so nothing to compare with, but my experience was pleasant if average.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaz8867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and have just spent three wonderful nights at the charming Hotel Ca'Zose in Venice and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in very comfortable accommodation in a very quiet, smart part of the city (Dusadore).  Our large, beautifully decorated first-floor room overlooked a small canal and a very quaint bridge - it was just lovely having a glass of wine watching people come  and go below. The room was very spacious, the bed extremely comfortable and the staff were friendly and welcoming.  Owners Valentina and Graziella were charming and helpful.  We will be recommending it to our friends and would definitely stay there again on return to Venice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This small hotel sits near the Salute stop of the vaporetto across the Canale Grande in Giudecca. It is pretty typical for Venice Hotels which are 3 stars except that the rooms are larger than in most hotels I stayed in. It is not too hard to get to compared to schlepping your bags through town to get to one of the hotels around St Marks. The owners are incredibly hospitable and helpful. There is free internet. The hotel itself sits on a small canal next to the Peggy Guggenheim Museum and is within easy walking distance of the Accademia Bridge and a 20 minute or so walk further on to Campo Santa Margarita. In one stop the vaporetto takes you to St Marks although it is a 40 minute or so ride to the station. If you are coming from the airport the water service lets you off at Zapetta but it is then a 20 walk or so across 3 small bridges to get to the hotel. If you have a group of 4 or so taking a water taxi for 110 euro from the airport is not a bad deal especially if you are tired since it lets you off right in front of the hotel. If you pay in cash there is a discount of about 10%. My room which was a double cost about $230 a night which was not bad for Venice in high season.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street below will be noisier but the windows and shutters provide sound proofing. Windo...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Captainspires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Locanda "Ca Zosé", located in the nicest section of Venezia, Dorsoduro, is a lovely hotel, run by 2 sisters, valentina and Graziella. Spent 5 days last August, excellent location, close to two stops of vaporetto, museums, art galleries, nice small shops and restaurants.
I want to remember also the staff at the hotel, Madison, Marc, for their help and education.
Valentina e Graziella, !!! TANTE GRAZIE !!! Ci vediamo, maria eiras (Buenos Aires)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maria Eiras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have had a great experience in this lovely hotel. Very good location (dorsoduro is the best place for us to stay: away from tourist hurdes and close to real italian atmospere and student quarter) , hotel is very clean and service is immaculate and friendly. The owner gave me a lot of help when i needed dentist. downsides: not much, maybe that internet is not free. But it has good speed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have reserved this hotel by seeing some high ratings given by others on this website but my personal experience of staying this hotel was a nightmare.

The room given to me was so small that I didn't have enough space even to keep my luggage so I had to keep it on the floor and jump over it to leave and enter the room. The bathroom was even terrible and the shower cubicle was so small that it was quite difficult for me to get in. I am a medium built man so if you are a bit over-weighted just look elsewhere or you will have to remain unwashed throughout your stay.

They charged for the internet wi-fi connection but no reception available in the bed rooms, so you have to use your computer at the reception.

The staff at reception were quite rude and when I asked them about the size of the room given to me they simply said that all the hotels in Venice were of that size.

The only plus point of this hotel was its location, which is just 10 minutes walk from the airport boat (water taxi) yard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bud_Wijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#68 of 384 in Venice
509 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#176 of 384 in Venice
450 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Salute Palace
Hotel Salute Palace
#168 of 384 in Venice
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#129 of 384 in Venice
438 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Messner Palace
Hotel Messner Palace
#290 of 384 in Venice
739 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ca' Zose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca' Zose

Address: Dorsoduro 193/b | Calle del Bastion angolo Fondamenta Ca Bala, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#103 Family Hotel in Venice
#112 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $82 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Ca' Zose 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel has been recently restored and is equipped with all comforts. It is located in one of the most elegant and quiet area of Venice between Accademia/Dorsoduro and Punta della Dogana close to the Peggy Guggenheim Collection,Pinault Foundation, the Basilique of Santa Maria della Salute, a short walk from the Accademia Bridge and from the Gallerie of the Fine Arts, just 100 meters from the local waterbus stop "Salute" located in front S.Mark Square. All rooms have ENSUITE BATHROOM with shower, TV, air conditioning , minibar and safe, free wi-fi. ALL ROOMS ARE NON SMOKER as by italian law. CHECK IN TIME 14:00 p.m.CHECK OUT TIME: 10:00 a.m.- BREAKFAST FROM 8:00 a.m.to 10:00 a.m. Luggage deposit is possible before check-in and after check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Locanda Ca' Zose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca Zose Venice
Locanda Ca Zose Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing