We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Marks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Antiche Figure

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Antiche Figure
Ranked #9 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top Marks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

Excellent hotel. Easy to get to from either bus station or Train Station. Water bus stop opposite. Staff very helpful and friendly. Good free wi fi access in hotel. Breakfasts very good and typical with the usual nice selection of cakes if you are into that. Good selection of restaurants nearby. Our best find after 5 days was the ' Brek' self service restaurant a short walk over the bridge opposite the hotel. You select the meal / drinks you want from the counter and pay at the till. Even does small carafe of wine ( 2 glasses) for 1.75 euro. Great prices for Venice if, like us, you get fed up of paying for over priced meals with table cover charges, service charges and over priced drinks on top. Vaporetta 2-3 day tickets are worth getting to see all the nearby islands and all the canal network. High tides in Venice can cause problems for getting about on foot especially around the popular St Marks square which was flooded when we visited and raised walkways are used to gain access to the flooded areas. This however is only temporary.
We also caught a train to Verona 80 mins away and spent the day there. Return Tickets cost 36 euro each. But plenty to see and an impressive Roman amphitheatre and of course the Romeo & Julliet house. Cheaper to buy the daily Verona City leisure pass when you get there, gets you into most of the major attractions and includes free bus travel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spongeass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,825
    543
    57
    6
    3
See reviews for
671
1,975
69
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

What a great hotel. What incredible service. First of all, if you are arriving into Venice by train, this hotel is just a short walk away. No need to spend 100+ Euro on a water taxi. If you are flying in, take a taxi to the bus station and it's 200 meters from there...again, no need to take an expensive water taxi. The service you receive at this hotel is the best part. 3 People in particular who work the front desk exceeded our every expectation: Anka, Michele (Me-kel-ay) and Antonio (AN-Ton-yo). These 3 were awesome. Anka was great to get advice from for restaurants or about the city...she had so much positive energy...she just put it all together. Michele was so polite, professional, and always ready to help you with advice or just talk to you about your day. Antonio was super friendly and always smiling. These 3 front desk folks were the epitome of professionalism.

We got a room with 2 single beds that are pushed together. You won’t find King or Queen size beds in too many places in Italy. The room was nicely decorated. The bathroom was big for European standards. We did stay in a nicer room facing the canal…but it was well worth it. The breakfast included was plentiful and very European…don’t look for sausage and eggs; think pastries, yogurts, breads, cold cuts, coffee, etc.

I can’t imagine staying anywhere else in Venice. The crowds down towards St Marco’s were huge…and just a 10-15 minute walk into the main areas from our hotel, we were in a much quieter section of Venice…in terms of foot traffic.

Forget about using a street map in Venice…impossible. Instead, focus on the major landmarks and walk toward them )they are posted on sides of buildings). After 1 afternoon you will know what I mean. Sometimes the sign to a landmark might point in 2 directions, it’s okay, you’re on 155 islands with 350 bridges…so sometimes many roads lead to one place. If there’s no sign, keep walking in the direction you think is right until you see another sign pointing toward a landmark. You can take 10 different routes to the same place, but it’s all connected.

Again, great hotel and well worth its rating on TA. I would go here every time we’re in Venice. Thank you Anka, Michele, and Antonio. Bravo!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevetanyaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

The location was perfect if arriving by bus or train, easy to find a great starting point. Staff very willing to help and advise. Breakfast what you woud expect from continental but plenty of choice and always plenty there.Numerous restaurants nearby, waterbus stops nearby, all the sites walkable. staff will give you directions to the sites but they are all easy to find. We were there for 4 nights and couldn't fault it.
Stewart & Heather
Swansea, UK

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swansea68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2010

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. I was traveling with my daughter and her boyfriend. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the nicest woman who spoke fluent English. We were offered an upgrade to a suite which I was happy to take. The suite was awesome, large master bedroom with a beautiful large bathroom. The shower had an oversized head and then six additional heads on the wall, my daughter said it was like being in a car wash, lol. The staff was so friendly and helpful really made us feel at home.

I found this hotel based on comments here on trip advisor and just want to second everything you read about this hotel. The location is PERFECT, close to the train station so not a problem dragging your luggage to the hotel. The woman at the front desk mapped out all the directions to the most visited sites.

Highly recommend, 10 stars, would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tewmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

This hotel is conveniently located right across from the train station, but that is only good for the day you arrive and the day you leave. Otherwise this area is not the most desirable. San Marco is on the other side of the city, which even though is not big, it's big enough to make getting there annoying. It's an hour walk down the main street, or a half hour if you take some short cuts. It's very touristy over there but there are lots of hotels throughout the city that I would have preferred. Our room was nice and there were some very nice people who worked there but ultimately we were sent to a restaurant that I'm sure they had some sort of deal with. The restaurant ignored us for about 20 minutes and we ended up leaving. When we told the man at the desk that we left he was visibly angry and didn't speak to us the rest of our stay. It was very strange.

Ultimately the hotel is not bad at all but it's just in the worst area of an incredible city. I would opt for something in between this and San Marco - which is over-run by tourists and a bit overwhelming.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank youaremycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAnticheFigure, Manager at Hotel Antiche Figure, responded to this review, November 22, 2010
Good evening dear Client,
I am the Hotel Antiche Figure Hotel manager,
I do accept and I am really considering the comments you made but
I do not understand why you booked our hotel knowing that it was not near
San Marco Square.
We are not selling our hotel as a hotel near San Marco
but as a hotel near the Arrival Points of the city.
Even if you map our hotel through Tripadvisor you will find out that
San Marco Square is 30 minutes walk from our hotel.
In any case we are in a very old part of the city in fact,
our building is a XV and XVI century building and
in no more then 10minutes walk
you can reach beautiful places like, Frari Church, San Rocco School, the Old Jewish Ghetto,
Ca' Pesaro Modern Art Museum, San GIovanni Evangelista School.

Then I would like to inform the Tripadvisor readers that we have not any sort of deal
with restaurants ....
We only try to suggest some good restaurant to our Clients,
we selected a few restaurants in the city where we address our Clients and where
we ask to give to our Clients the best possible service.
If it did not happen with you,
it was our fault and we truly apologize,
we will pay more attention in suggesting Restaurants.

Thank you for your comments
and next time you visit our beautiful city,
please book our hotel only if you are looking for a hotel
near the arrival points of the city.

We will be very pleased to welcome you back
in our hotel and have the possibility to change your mind.

Thank very much,
Alessandro Fornasier
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystones, Co. Wicklow
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

Our family of four stayed at one of the apartments, belonging to the hotel, for four nights, at the end of October. It was spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. It had a v.small kitchenette, behind two glass doors, so you could do a bit of self catering, if you wanted. We didn't. The staff were very pleasant, and very helpful. They also arranged a complimentary trip to Murano, via water taxi, for us. If I'd one criticism, it would be the lack of clothes storage space - one wardrobe, and NO drawers. Other than that, it was really really enjoyable, and we'd go back, anytime.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinmaAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

This is a wonderful hotel and one we would have no hesitation in recommending or returning to should we travel again to Venice.
It is ideally located within easy walking distance of the bus and train stations and sits right on the Grand Canal. The staff are very friendly and helpful and always make time for a pleasant word or to provide advice.
Our room, on the first part of our stay, was towards the back and side of the hotel, which meant we did not overlook the Grand Canal, but it was quiet and all we wanted - good size, well appointed and with a beautiful en-suite. Breakfast was delightful and served in a very pleasant dining area.
After a couple of nights in Florence we returned and were greeted like long-lost friends and offered one of their apartment-type suites which are just next door to the hotel. The suite provides a lounge area with setee, table and chairs and kitchenette with the bedroom and en-suite appointed in especially opulent style - very Venetian!
Our trip to Venice was made all the more enjoyable and memorable due to our stay in this wionderful hotel - don't miss it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Phil54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#12 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antiche Figure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antiche Figure

Property: Hotel Antiche Figure
Address: Santa Croce, 687 | Fondamenta S. Simeon Piccolo, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Venice
#7 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antiche Figure 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Antiche Figure is inside a beautiful XV century building overlooking the Grand Canal, very close to the main entrances of the city, Piazzale Roma (Bus Station, parkings and transfers to / from Marco Polo and Treviso airports), Central Trains Station (S. Lucia), Venice Shore. It's the ideal starting point to experience the atmosphere between 'calli' and 'campielli'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Antiche Figure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Figure Hotel
Antiche Figure Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing