We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Attitude is everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Antiche Figure

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Antiche Figure
Ranked #9 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Attitude is everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Enjoy a lot of positive attitude throughout this hotel. The staff is extremely caring and motivated.
I enjoyed each second while I was at this hotel. It is steps away from the bus and train station. Extremely convenient to reach and unwind after a long trip. This is the perfect starting point for the magnificent Grand Canal Tour.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank warriorontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,755
    534
    58
    6
    3
See reviews for
654
1,928
67
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was a lovely hotel, with an absolutely lovely staff. Venice is just amazing in general, and these folks definitely added positively to the experience. Our main caution, however, is to NOT take the free water taxi trip to Murano. Why? Because they only take you to one particular factory, in the back door so you don't really see anything of Murano except for this factory. And although the glass blowing demonstration is interesting, they then wisk you into their showroom where they are on you like flies on ointment to buy something. If you insist that you can't afford the $10,000 chandeliers (which don't get me wrong, they are extraordinary pieces of work) - they wisk you right back out the back door and onto a boat which deposits you to some unknown location back on Venice. But that was the only sour experience of our entire time in Venice

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank abesinVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfornas, Direttore at Hotel Antiche Figure, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guests,
we are really sorry for the incoveniece you had in the proposed Glass Factory.

We would like to apoligize and take the opportunity to explain what we offer to our Clients.

In Venice there are a lot of Murano Glass Shops and a lot of them do not sell original glass,
then we have an agreement with an original Glass Factory where you can first visit the real factory to see how they blow and work the Glass and then visit their show rooms where you can buy their Glass, they guarantee you to buy only original Murano Glass.
Of course once in Murano they will try to sell you something
but as per our agreement there is not any obligement to buy,
our Guests can buy only if they are interested in buying something.
After the Glass factoory Visit, the same company transport you back to Venice,
in a central location called Fondamente Nuove which is a place from where you can walk or take boats to any direction.

We are really sorry if your visit did not go like it was supposed to go and we will find out with the Glass Factory why they did not do what they were supposed to do.

Anyway, we assure our future Guests that in case they will decide to go to visit the Glass Factory we will propose to them, there will be no obbligation in buying and a boat service back to Venice-Fondamente Nuove.

Thank you for your review,
best regard,
Alessandro Fornasier
Hotel Antiche Figure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this very well located and beautiful old hotel. We easily found it as it is directly opposite the train station. The staff, in particular Francesca at the front desk, were very helpful and courteous. Our very clean and well appointed room was on the 3rd floor and we had a lovely view of the Grand Canal, with 2 gondolas sitting directly below! The breakfast each morning was the usual continental affair. It was always well presented in the attractive little dining room and coffee was freely available. We would not hesitate to recommend this gorgeous little hotel and would stay there again if we are lucky enough to return to Venice.

Room Tip: It is well worth paying the little extra to stay in a Grand Canal view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McKinnon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Positives:
- Well run 3 star hotel with helpful staff and service
- located close to Venezia train station
- upgraded to canal view room

Negatives:
- located far away from main attractions in venice, such as San Marco and Rialto
- good but very limited breakfast buffet (no eggs served which is a rare in Europe)
- upgraded to canal view room but the bed was 2 single beds put together rather than a large double bed
- located close to train station but you need to hire services of a porter in order to cross the bridge with ascending steps if you are carrying heavy luggage
- Paid €155 per night but I strongly believe you can get a better hotel and location if you are willing to pay a few $/€ extra.

Overall, me and my fiancé were just about content with our stay at the hotel but if you are looking to make the most of your stay in venice, I highly recommend you stay closer to rialto or san marco. While the canal view is good, I rather not be looking at the train station across the canal. I honestly went with the hotel given the raving reviews of some of the other folks here, but in my experience tripadvisor's most highly rated hotels are often hit and miss. Having said that, if you want to stay close to the train station, this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a double bed if you are a couple traveling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sahilnyc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfornas, Direttore at Hotel Antiche Figure, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Client,
we want thank you for your review
and we take the chance through it to specify some points,
mainly our negative ones.

Negatives:
- located far away from main attractions in venice, such as San Marco and Rialto

That's true, we are 20 minutes walk from Rialto and 30 minutes walk from San Marco
but we are near the arrival points, Port, Bus and Train Terminal.
Our hotel is in a XV building and you can find our buiding into some Canaletto and Guardi paintings.
From our hotel, within 10 minutes walk you can go to :
Basilica Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari, San Rocco School (Tintoretto Museum), San Giovanni Evangelista School, Jewish Ghetto (Oldest in Europe), Ca'Pesaro Museum (Modern Art Museum), Oriental Museum, Palazzo Mocenigo (Costumes Museum), Palazzo Labia (Tiepolo),
Ca' Vendramin (Casino and Wagner House), Goldoni House.


- good but very limited breakfast buffet (no eggs served which is a rare in Europe)

In our buffet there are only boiled eggs but you can order extra scrambled eggs (euro 4) and omelette (euro 5).

- upgraded to canal view room but the bed was 2 single beds put together rather than a large double bed

As all the hotels in the world we have some rooms with 2 single beds and some with a large double bed, if you like to have a large double bed and not 2 bed together, mention it in your reservation and we will do our best to book you a room with a large double bed.

- located close to train station but you need to hire services of a porter in order to cross the bridge with ascending steps if you are carrying heavy luggage

That is true but we honestly think that if you have heavy bags you have to carry them anywhere you decide to go, are you sure that it would be better to carry them until San Marco or Rialto ?

- Paid €155 per night but I strongly believe you can get a better hotel and location if you are willing to pay a few $/€ extra.

That is probably true .... good luck!


Dear Clients, we rely in your sense of humor,
we perfectly know where we are and we can not do anything about that,
we can only try to do our best for the Guests who choose to stay with us!

Thank you,
best regards,
Alessandro Fornasier
Hotel Antiche Figure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a good hotel, with adequate rooms (by Italian standards) and well maintained. Location is convenient both for train and for airport, however Rialto bridge is half an hour walk from here. Best is to buy a multiple days ticket and move through the charming Canal Grande at will. Good breakfast and friendly service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Antiche Figure over thanksgiving 2012. We chose it strictly off the reviews we had read off tripadvisor. We were not disappointed! The rate was reasonable and it was convenient to the train station. We requested for the hotel to arrange for a baggage porter from the train station as others had recommended. That was definitely worth the money. (5 Euro per bag) the hotel is right across the bridge from the train station but the bridge is quite a few steps to climb.

I thought the staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgable. The rooms were nice and clean. The breakfast was the best we had over the course of our stay. The cappuccino made by the staff was delicious and I wish I drank more during my stay.

The hotel is conveniently located to the vaporetto stops and also close enough to walk to the sights. However it's also not in the most crowded part of town so you get a bit of quiet.

I'd definitely stay here again if I return to Venice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Hotel Antiche Figure was the first hotel we stayed at during our visit to Italy - what a brilliant way to start our honeymoon! The room was spacious with a a king-size bed, bar fridge, air-conditioning dressing table and a full size-bathroom. Not only comfortable but slightly decadent in reds and golds with Venetian glass lights etc. lending to the feeling of indulgence.

The location could not be rivaled! On the Grand Canal... Magical!

We happened to fly in to Venice so got the bus into the station and it was a short walk to the hotel (we got a little lost and took the "long route" resulting in a 15 minute walk but in reality if you get it right it's two small bridges and 7 minutes of your time). Also, it is opposite the train station and a Vaperreto (sp.?!) stop.

The staff were helpful - we got given a map with the lady at reception (irritated I can't remember her name!) took us through routes of how to get where we wanted to go, gave us restaurant recommendations and booked us in on the complimentary Murano glass factory tour.

Breakfast - delicious! A continental breakfast with delicious meats, cheeses and pastries that kept us going for the miles and miles of walking that Venice offers. There was not a massive variety to select from: but the food was a great quality, fresh and delicious. Two thumbs up from - the husband too!

Breakfast is included and in the early evenings there are complimentary snacks on the bar. We delighted in an early evening drink sitting outside the hotel in front of an old, slightly dilapidated neighbouring building over-looking the Grand Canal as the sun set. Sigh.

Within easy walking distance from the hotel are all the sites that are Venice must-dos and so you get the dreaminess of being on the Grand Canal without the price tag of having view of the Rialto.

Loved everything about this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the majestic city of Venice!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gorbs87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Polo
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antiche Figure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antiche Figure

Property: Hotel Antiche Figure
Address: Santa Croce, 687 | Fondamenta S. Simeon Piccolo, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Venice
#7 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#8 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antiche Figure 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Antiche Figure is inside a beautiful XV century building overlooking the Grand Canal, very close to the main entrances of the city, Piazzale Roma (Bus Station, parkings and transfers to / from Marco Polo and Treviso airports), Central Trains Station (S. Lucia), Venice Shore. It's the ideal starting point to experience the atmosphere between 'calli' and 'campielli'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Antiche Figure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Figure Hotel
Antiche Figure Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing