We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value and quality”
Review of Hotel Villa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Rosa
Ranked #184 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Villa Rosa is cheaper than most in Venice, so a suspicious traveller might start looking for reasons. Well, the bedrooms are a bit old fashioned, particularly the furniture, although this doesn't affect the comfort. Everything was clean. Staff are very helpfull. This is a small hotel, so don't expect a huge range of facilities, but you can get a cup of coffee when you need one and the reception has a nice seating area.
The hotel is at the end of a tiny alleyway which is easy to miss. It's very convenient for the transport options of bus/train station and vaporetti. The area is touristy because of its proximity to the station, but a few minutes walk takes you away from all this.
One warning: the whole of Venice is a mosquito zone, even in January.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RickW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Rosa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 516 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

Though it is a modest little hotel along Calle Misericordia at the Lista di Spagna area (which is my favorite location), it has surprised me for its cleanliness, good service, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. I would give it a 3 star rating at least! The hotel is sweet and has a very warm and cheerful atmosphere, but most of all, they offer very affordable rates. In comparison to the previous 4 star hotels in Venice where I have stayed before, they can very well put up a competition and with some, they are even much more satisfactory! Anyway, who needs the razzle dazzle of the more noble hotels when one is practically out all day long exploring Venice? A beautiful city that I never tire to vist!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LDP-Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Villa Rosa hotel was very good value for the price we paid. We stayed 4 nights at the end of November and beginning of December. The stuff is very friendly, although there are only one or two of them that speak English so that you can understand them. Still, they are kind and willing o help when asked for help or assistance, so even if they tell you what to do in Italian, you can still understand, because of the many gestures they use /as all Italians do/. The room we stayed in was double, with breakfast included. The temperature in the room was great for sleep, the stuff was rearranging the sheets and changing the towels, soup and shampoo every morning while we were downstairs eating breakfast. The breakfast itself is nothing special - hot drinks like coffee, tea, hot chocolate, orange juice /we didn't try it/, they served one croissant sprinkled with powdered sugar per person every morning and have butter, jam, honey, chocolate, hot milk, youghurt, plus thin slices of ham and yellow cheese. We would stay in Villa Rosa again with pleasure and would totally recommend it to a friend, if asked.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
2  Thank VANYA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have stayed in Hotel Villa Rosa toghether with my mother and aunt!
Very good position, walking distance from Piazzale Roma. Good breakfast and service.
Clean rooms. I liked my stay there.
The only negative comment would be that very early in the morning ( arround 5 AM) the ladies from housekeeping start their work and they are very very lousy.
If i return to Venice, Hotel Villa Rosa would be my choice.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2012ElenaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I really enjoyed my two night stay at the Villa Rosa. I was in Room 32 which had a balcony. I didn't mind climbing up the stairs as the balcony room was worth it. Nice breakfast with pleasant and helpful staff. Would definately stay here again. Hotel is a short walk from the train station.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank icat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had a pleasant stay here for 3 nights on recommendation of a family member and it saved us looking around. Only 10 mins from the station and short walk to Grand Canal. The breakfast was good and the reception staff were courteous. However based on the of the look entrance foyer, the steps up to our room and the room itself... the hotel could use a bit of a touch up. Disappointed to have to pay for internet access and had couple mosquitos in the room at night. Another place we stayed at provided a plug-in electric mosquito repellent. All said it was OK for the price in Venice and we enjoyed the city. Would I stay again......maybe???

Room Tip: Ask about insect spray for the 'mossies'.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elenamarazzi, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Melven,

I'm sorry you had many mosquitos in the room, we do have plug-in electric mosquito repellent.
Unfortunately sometimes we forget to show them up, they keep them in the bedside table's drower

I hope you'll try to come back here next year, this winter we will renovate some rooms so you'll be able to sleep in a brend new one

Sincerely
Elena Marazzi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

recently stayed in the Villa Rosa 17-18 of October 2012...breakfast the super thin salami and cheese...some croissants, jam honey and bread....cofee from the coffee machine and some juice....and theres the liter bottle of water and those super small plastic cups.(wish they had some bacon n eggs) I saw the mosquitos....like three of them came inside our room no 20 (i gotta kill them and nobody got bit)...I don't know if Italian mosquitos carry Dengue or Malaria like the ones we get in Asia...kinda sucked that internet accesswas only in the loby...but they did 10 hours worth internet for free...thats 10 euros....yup the staff was very nice....you get Martina..who's jolly in the morning....and the old man at night.....bathroom was clean and it had a bidet too, though everything was a tight squeez...the towels smelled o.k. to use....TV was in italian...no english...though at nightime italian t.v. showed some nudity...

what I liked about this hotel is it's pretty decent for two stars.....we looked at other hotels in venice and the prices were about 90 euros for two star hotels....we found something much cheaper but it was way inside venice.....the proximity of this hotel from Venice Sta. Lucia train staion makes it worth it....and once you come out of the hotels alley way theres a decent pizzaria that even give a special offer or 3 euros for a box of pizza from4-6...
since it's near the Train station its near the waterbus stop too....

it wasn't hard to find ..come out of the train station...turn left.. then left again at the alley where theres a pizzeria and walk 20 meters..

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank francis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Guerrini
Hotel Guerrini
#198 of 384 in Venice
364 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Caprera
Hotel Caprera
#169 of 384 in Venice
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#88 of 384 in Venice
1,006 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#237 of 384 in Venice
669 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
#145 of 384 in Venice
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rosa

Address: Cannaregio 389, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $67 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Rosa 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing