We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, Good price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Rosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Rosa
Ranked #170 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Level Contributor
190 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good location, Good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

First time travelers to Venice should consider this hotel. While the many canals of Venice provide a unique charm that other cities don't have, the canals can be a challenge in getting your luggage to a hotel. In most cities you can take a taxi directly to your hotel, but not in Venice.

On our last trip to Italy we took the train from Rome to Venice and selected this hotel because it was the closest to the train station. The hotel is an easy walk, with luggage, from the train station. The hotel is located at the end of a very narrow street but rooms are large and very comfortable. This is not the fanciest hotel in Venice but it is one of the best bargains.

The hotel staff was always helpful and spoke perfect English.

The only negative on this hotel is finding it. It would help to have a sign at the entrance to the street but just look for the first narrow alley on your left. (Walk out of main entrance to train station, down the steps, turn left before your reach Grand Canal, the alley is on the left about 80 yards past the canal bridge, walk down the alley another 100 yards)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 59_Ford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    234
    83
    25
    20
See reviews for
116
230
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
664 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Finding reasonably a reasonably priced hotel in Venice is difficult, almost as difficult as finding this hotel. It's ideally located, just a few minutes walk from the train station...that if you can find it. It's located on a "street" which is so narrow, that I could almost touch both sides with my arms stretched. However, once I finally found it, it was worth it. Everything is Venice is expensive. I guess partly because there aren't any roads and everything is shipped by boat.

Villa Rosa is an inexpensive hotel in an expensive city. However, it's excellent value, and in an ideal location. We walked to all of Venice's attractions (Venice is not a large city), but I'd recommend having a street map, as it can get confusing negotiating the street network at times. Ask for a room with balconies if possible. I didn't have one, but would like one on our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony when the weather is nice. Rooms are small, so the balcony is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyAtNIght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

This little hideaway is down a very narrow alley about 2 blocks from the train station. It is right off the main street next to the Grand Canal. It is difficult to find and there is no clear sign pointing the name of the alley or the hotel. Thank God for Google Earth. It is a cute little hotel built around a courtyard. The staff were exceptionally kind and helpful. Our room faced a charming courtyard with little tables and chairs if the weather was nice. The room good size with a skylight. Bathroom was also large, tiled, clean and efficient. The breakfast room is beautifully decorated with linens and china - nice touch. Breakfast was basically pastry, cheeses, cereal and fruit. A hostess brings cappuccino or expresso made to your order. Our only mishap was not the hotel's fault, but they did handle the situation well. There were a group of teenage children on tour in the same hotel. About midnight, two of them decided to sneak out and actually jumped on our tile roof and slid off into the courtyard. The staff handled it well and apologized profusely and compensated us accordingly. We were never upset or frightened, but chalked it up to a holiday experience. After all, we could remember being teens too. This is a decent hotel in a good location. Certainly worth the price.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 42 - the answer to the Universe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is the second time i've stayed here. Its a little tired, but very clean and very well located just a few minutes walk from the Railway station. There are plenty of cafes, restaurants and bars all around..... the Staff were very good and spoke perfect english. The rooms were large, basic and comfortable, but don't expect luxury. But it is value for money and you're not dragging you suitcase over the cobbles for miles. We caught a water taxi to the airport very close by as well.
Breakfast wasn't the grandest or greatest, but the coffee was superb!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building, they have balconys which are big enough for you to sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Villa Rosa for my 5th time this European Autumn of 2011. My first stay there was in 1996. The location could not be better. Close to the train station and to Piazzale Roma but at the same time far from the noise of Lista di Spagna.
The hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious. The breakfast is ok and people who work there are simply fantastic! From the recepcionists to the cleaners not forgetting the porter, Máximo, they are so nice and cooperative!
English and French are widely spoken.
I will certainly go back once and once again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

This hotel was pretty conveniently located for our 3/4 day weekend trip right off of the grand canal and only a few minutes from the train station with a great little place for breakfast less than a block away. If you're planning on spending a considerable amount of time in Venice it probably isn't the best choice, but for a few days and just a place to stay at night it does the job. The decor is a little old-fashioned and weird, and it's easy to miss the little side-street the hotel's located on but otherwise a nothing special it'll do the job kind of place.

Room Tip: If you're tall, stay away from rooms on the top floor. Slanted ceilings, not so great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg1423h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

The hotels has very good location for budget travelers - just 10 min walk from Railway station. If you carry heavy luggage than this hotel is one of the best choice. Rooms well dressed but try to take a rooms on 2nd floor. On ground floor it's too noisy. Breakfast standard for this class. Staff - friendly. We had triple room and it was quite Ok.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colour-Tour-Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#163 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Cannaregio
Dolomiti Hotel
Dolomiti Hotel
#251 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#91 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#219 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#184 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rosa

Property: Hotel Villa Rosa
Address: Cannaregio 389, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Rosa 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosa Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing