We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“near the jewish guetto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eurostars Residenza Cannaregio
Ranked #142 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“near the jewish guetto”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Make sure if you are walking for the first time to the hotel to know EXACTLY where it is or else you will get hopelessly lost.

The hotel is right by the St Alavese boat stop. It is a former monastery converted into a hotel. It has a certain character to it and I quite liked it. The rooms are basic but fine. Try get a loft room where the lounge is downstairs and the bedroom upstairs. 4 people can fit comfortably.

The reception staff were always outstanding and obliging. They made our stay so pleasurable

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    439
    114
    39
    23
See reviews for
187
505
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed here during my tour with Insight Vacations and I was pleasantly surprised.

Upon arrival I was disappointed. Where are the busy Venetian streets? All the cafes and shops and everything!? Why am I so far away from the city center!?

I settled into my nice and cozy room and went to explore the surrounding area and WOW. I turned a corner and steps away from our hotel were cafes, shops and bars where local Venetians and ex-pats come to enjoy themselves. It was an absolutely AMAZING location. No annoying tourists trampling you to get a picture of the canal. People were relaxed and enjoying themselves sipping wine and beer, enjoying light food and gelato. When the tables and chairs filled up at the cafes, people sat down on stairs and bridges, on the edges of the canal, and even on boats that were parked by the bars! It was bliss.

And then a 5 minute walk from this slice of local Venetian paradise and you're in the hustle and bustle or Venice, complete with shops, restaurants, and the like. About 10 to 15 minutes more and you're at the Rialto Bridge. Superb location. Absolutely spectacular. This hotel is a hidden gem.

The hotel is also close to the water taxi stop, which makes it easy to get to St. Marks if you don't feel like walking. Also, they had my laundry done in one day for only about 40 euro (which is not bad at all considering how pricey Venice is)!

The rooms itself was on the smaller side, but I don't expect extravagant Las Vegas style hotels when I travel to tiny Venice. It was clean and tidy and everything worked well (AC, bathrooms, etc). There was a charming little bar with an amazing and personable bartender, but with so many choices so nearby I only visited the hotel bar once. The breakfast was great and in a separate room, served buffet-style. They had great juices, coffees, and teas as well as great eggs, bacon, breads, and so on. The staff was great as well -- very friendly and welcoming.

Overall I'd definitely stay here again. What a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ibos89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here fir 3 nights as part of a tour before going back to London on the Venice Simplon Orient Express. A very peaceful place to stay with an excellent breakfast with lots of choice . Our window overlooked a canal and mosquitoes were a problem. Air conditioning was noisy, so we turned it off at night. There was a shady garden/ patio area within the hotel. Bar open in the evenings. No evening meals but plenty of small restaurants and cafés nearby. Free Wi-fi available in the public areas. The bedroom furniture was a bit basic, but clean. Quite a long walk to get into the centre, but vaporettas and taxis were not too far away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

On tour of Italy, this was our stop in Venice. Our room was small, HOT, they couldn't regulate the rooms from 101 to 107, our room was 27 degrees and we were told that they wouldn't put the air conditioning on in our room as it made the other rooms to cold, we were told to open our window, Our room, 107, is on the first floor and the mosquitoes were vicious, besides who would leave a first floor window open!!! We were told there weren't any mosquitoes, well, we have the bites on us and the dead bodies of the mosquitoes to prove them wrong!! The rooms are very tired, very worn, it might be close to things, but have a hard look around before booking this hotel
We were fortunate to have a buffet breakfast in the mornings, that was quite nice, that's the only semi nice thing I can say about this hotel, and I'm not a fussy person, can't comment on the price, as we are with a tour group, think twice about this hotel, a lot of things didn't work in it, I.e. toilets, showers, every one in our group had some thing negative happening in their rooms

Room Tip: Make sure your not in rooms 101-107 they can't regulate the temps - they have a master control a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel. It is very small, centrally situated near the Rialtor Bridge. Be aware that there is no breakfast room and the breakfast is brought to your room, it consists of a small breadroll which was often too hard and stale to eat, no delivery made on a Sunday. There was also a croissant which was very nice glass of orange tea or coffee. We were lucky that we had prepaid as they demand that all payments are cash only. There is also a tax that Venice levies on all tourists. To be honest my husband and I would not advise folk to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne and Coli... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the Eurostars Residenza Cannaregio for four nights in September during our trip to Venice. The hotels was just what we needed, easily accessible by water taxi or by the vaporetto line (4.1,4.2,5.1 or 5.2). Quiet and comfortable, loft bedroom with a reasonable sitting area. Lovely courtyard at the hotel to relax with a drink after a long day touring. Mind you this hotel is on Cannaregio, the furthermost of the sestiere in Venice, but still very accessible to anyone. This was more like a neighborhood rather than the usual insanity of the tourist areas! Breakfast was excellent and plentiful at the hotel. There are numerous small trattorias nearby on the canals that serve very good food if you want to have a quiet dinner or drink in the evening. Close enough to the Grand Canal if you feel like strolling in the evening, too! You will love the hotel..and free WiFi in the common areas, convenient for those Skype calls home.

Room Tip: Anyplace, but overlooking the courtyard was nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our tour guide warned us that some of the rooms might be small and not what we would expect normally but it was really cool. It had a loft for the bedroom! Others weren't so lucky. Our room was great and it was in a nice, quiet place in Venice. I would recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#32 of 385 in Venice
2,305 reviews
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#50 of 385 in Venice
2,161 reviews
Castello
Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
#41 of 385 in Venice
208 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#154 of 385 in Venice
2,083 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#153 of 385 in Venice
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Residenza Cannaregio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Residenza Cannaregio

Property: Eurostars Residenza Cannaregio
Address: Cannaregio 3210/a | Calle dei Riformati 3210/A, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#159 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eurostars Residenza Cannaregio 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Residenza Cannaregio 4* in Venezia, has 64 rooms with all services, air conditioning, 24-hour reception, babysitting services, concierge, among others. The Residenza Cannaregio still conserves one of the most deeply rooted traditions in the ancient palaces of Venice: the porta d'acqua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Eurostars Residenza Cannaregio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Cannaregio Hotel Venice
Residenza Cannaregio Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing