We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for a Venice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eurostars Residenza Cannaregio
Ranked #136 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We just recently stayed at the Residenza Cannaregio Hotel for 3 nights in October. The hotel is out of the major tourist areas, but that was exactly what we were looking for. It was about a 10 minute walk from the first waterbus stop from the airport and about a 15 minute walk to the Grande Canal and the Rialto Bridge area. Lots of things to see and do along the way so I might be overstating or understating the time depending on what you stop to see.

The hotel itself is very modern and clean inside. The room we had was 2 story with a bed in the upper area and a pullout daybed in the lower area. We were on the 2nd floor looking into the courtyard, but we had a couple of large windows that could be opened.

The breakfasts were very good with lots of choices and the bar, although fairly small, was very nice and the bartender very friendly. If you need to, you can take a Water Taxi directly to the hotel lobby door which is nice, but we opted for the water bus and a nice stroll through the area.

It was my first time in Venice but I would go back again in a heartbeat. We walked everywhere and at all times of the day and evening and felt comfortable wherever we went. The area surrounding the hotel is very nice and very quiet.

I would highly recommend the Residenza Cannaregio Hotel to anyone visiting Venice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuroCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (976)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

260 - 266 of 976 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very nice friendly hotel off the tourist route. Staff were really helpful and we personally loved the location as it was in quite a residential area which meant you saw a completely different side to Venice. Everything in Venice is walking distance and this is the same from the Cannaregio.

The room was dull with very poor lighting and could have been so much better with a bit of TLC. The bathroom was basic. The biggest problem was the lack of sound proofing, we could hear the people next door to us and above us.

We chose not to have breakfast - as there are so many delicious bakeries and cafes in Venice for half the price of the hotel's breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Relatively cheap for the island. Situated 35min walk from Rialto bridge, but it's a nice walk through the city. Nice and quiet neighbourhood with decent enough nearby restaurants. Hotel has character, with welcoming lobby, courtyard area and bar. Room was spacious - we had a free upgrade. Bathroom functional but nothing special. Breakfast was awesome (except the coffee) and served until 11am (although i saw some guests start later than this with no problems). Only con is that there was no free wifi, except in the lobby and bar.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade, I noticed a few other people get this as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmk500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We found Venice to be a very confusing city, it's very hard to get around on your first visit if you're not aware of the city's intricacies.

I would strongly suggest to any first time traveler to take the vaporetti to your hotel directly: it may cost you 15 Euros per person for a group of 4 but the shuttle bus is 8 Euros and then good luck finding your destination.

Upon our arrival at the hotel, everything was easy: quick check-in, the hotel layout is very simple so it's easy to get around: the rooms were of good size considering the city and the lobby bar was quaint.

The morning buffet had ample choices and we found the food quality to be on par. There are a wide variety of restaurant in the Cannaregio district so finding a good inexpensive place to eat was very easy. We found that most people in and around the hotel were fluent in English which is also a major plus.

Lovely hotel, enchanting city! Would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are away from the kitchen and apparently bigger :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATCLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Don't stay here if you want to be in the central hustle and bustle of Venice. The hotel is on a quiet canal in the middle of a residential district but if you stay here you will get a flavour of the real Venice- you will see parents taking children to school in the mornings, families returning from local shops, you will be able to visit local bars where everyone knows each other and you will enjoy a stylish modern hotel within a coverted monastery.
Residenza Cannaregio is only 5 minutes walk from S Alvise vaparetto stop and it will take you about 10 minutes to walk to the nearest point on the Grand Canal. The rooms are modern with good bathrooms, though rather gloomy as there are no central ceiling lights. The breakfast room is spacious and always an excellent choice at the buffet breakfast - items continually replenished. All the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We had some viscious mosquitoes in our room the first night and were supplied with electric plug-in repellants as soon as we mentioned it the next day. There are no restaurants nearby but within 5 minutes there are several to choose from that are frequented by locals. Walk another 5 minutes and you will have the choice of dozens.
I would recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a quiet stay in a very busy city, and who is happy to do a fair amount of walking. This is in any case the best way to appreciate Venice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsJLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Larger room with basic amenities, small fridge, etc. however only breakfast is offered and a bar. Middle-aged man at the front desk actually went out of his way to be, well, a jerk. When asked for a recommendation for dinner he scribbled all over our map rendering it useless. We got lost twice but learned to ask people walking animals who seemed the friendliest.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassiemich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

First of all don't rely on google maps to find this hotel. It is out of the way and a 30 minute walk to St Marco.
The hotel itself is nice, clean and the rooms large and with separate bedrooms. However our twin room cost us €300 a night, and a minor disagreement over whether that included breakfast.
The breakfast was nice and varied. A bar fridge was provided, and 2 televisions.
I am not sure why it seems that the dearer a hotel the less likely they are to provide free WI FI in the rooms.
I don't want to gave to go to the lobby of any hotel that has wifi, unless I pay ridiculous amounts for a limited service.
In this case the lobby was open, full if people using the WI FI, and mosquitoes. The staff keep going outside by the canal to smoke, leaving the door open and filling the lobby with the smell of cigarettes.
I knew Venice would be expensive, and there seems to be agreements with all the water taxis and gondolas to charge exhorbitant fees.
The government visitors tax was €4 per person. Venice and other areas in Italy should be glad of the tourist dollar and not penalize them.

Room Tip: No lift in building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#57 of 385 in Venice
2,231 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,418 reviews
Castello
Best Western Premier Hotel Sant'Elena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#85 of 385 in Venice
1,014 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
Hotel Al Mascaron Ridente
#46 of 385 in Venice
235 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#158 of 385 in Venice
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Residenza Cannaregio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Residenza Cannaregio

Address: Cannaregio 3210/a | Calle dei Riformati 3210/A, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#158 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $84 - $810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eurostars Residenza Cannaregio 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Residenza Cannaregio 4* in Venezia, has 64 rooms with all services, air conditioning, 24-hour reception, babysitting services, concierge, among others. The Residenza Cannaregio still conserves one of the most deeply rooted traditions in the ancient palaces of Venice: the porta d'acqua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Residenza Cannaregio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Cannaregio Hotel Venice
Residenza Cannaregio Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing