We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Locanda Ca' Le Vele
Ranked #4 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the ratings on Trip Advisor and overall we have been very satisfied. We arrived by train and walked to the room with our trolleys in less than half an hour through a lovely lane that crosses the Cannaregio area. Even though we showed up before the official check-in time (we just wanted to leave our luggage there), we were immediately allowed into the room.

We have been given a spacious double with two windows watching the small channel nearby and a not too small bathroom which had obviously been recently renewed. Our 2 kids slept on a sofa bed whose mattress was a bit too shallow and hard for my tastes (even though the kids did not complain). The room was very clean and had nice typical Venetian furnishing which you can see from the photos plus a modern flat screen TV set (no sat tv but entry of channels, some with English audio) and working free wifi. The was also a lock inside the closet, but I could not figure out how to use it and I did not bother asking. The surroundings were very quiet and we have never been bothered by outside noise (our kids go to sleep rather early).

You may have read from other reviews about the room service breakfast which was fairly satisfying for Italian standards, but which may be a bit too limited if you are used to Continental or English Breakfast. The staff easily accommodated our requests for the kids (lukewarm milk) and they were always on time (breakfast is served between 8 and 10am according to your preferences. I believe this might be a bit too late for some early birds).

We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel after checking out so that we could spend some more time in the city before leaving in the evening.

The location is great: you have many shops nearby, including Mc Donald's just around the corner (if you just want to grab something quick for dinner), a supermarket, several good middle range restaurants (osterie) . Vaporetto stops are very close both for Canal Grande and also to the nearby islands (Murano, Burano, etc...) - stops Ca d'Oro and Fondamente Nove respectively . I was able to walk to Piazza S Marco in 10-15 minutes of minutes one morning I wanted to take pictures before dawn - obviously at that time you don't have to fight people walking in the opposite direction. Rialto bridge is even closer and you will cross some nice little bridge getting there.

We were visited by a handful of mosquitos at night (which is to be expected during Summer in such a city). Maybe a mosquito net for the window would be a good addition (if allowed by the municipality).

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank Masorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for Locanda Ca' Le Vele
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 357 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our family occupied three rooms for four days after disembarking from the Royal Princess. The hotel is centrally located with transportation (vaporetto, gondola, water taxi), restaurants and shops nearby. The rooms were tastefully decorated in the Venetian style, clean and spacious. The air conditioning was a blessing during those 44 C.days! Breakfast was more than enough and tasty.
Ivan and Max were very helpful in guiding and suggesting sights, shops and restaurants to be visited. Would love to return in the future !!
You must visit a gelateria Grom, just around the corner,for the best gelato in Venice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eaglecrest2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This 6 room hotel is run by two brothers Max and Ivan. From the moment you walk into this beautiful little Venetian hotel you feel like you are staying with family. The rooms are stunning. Decorated in Venetian style. We stayed in the double superior, with a canal view. We were located a few steps from the water taxi pick up, which made it easy with the luggage. You are also within a ten minute short walk to the vaparetto stop. Our room was a pleasant surprise. It was quite large with a queen bed. We had an armoire and a beautiful table with four chairs where we were served a typical Italian breakfast. We also had a couch and of course a flat screen TV. Fully air conditioned as well. The bathroom was quite large and very modern. Very clean!!!!! It is very difficult in Italy to find hotel rooms that are fairly large to our Canadian or North American standards. The price for this hotel was very reasonable considering it only took us 15 minutes to walk to St. Marks square. Once you were familiar with all the little alley ways and bridges it was very easy getting around. We walked everywhere! Everything was so close! The Rialto bridge was a few short steps from St. Marks. There are many gondola starting points within walking distance, and don't worry about eating, there are cafes, restaurants, Trattoria's every where around you. Max and Ivan gave us a map and marked all the easy routes for us. Both of their English was excellent and they were extremely laid back and friendly. Staying at Locanda Ca Le Vele truly helped us immerse ourselves into Venice. Love the staff, location, room, Ivan and Max! Love this hotel and they will see us again for sure! Thanks Ivan and Max for making our visit to Venice memorable! Ciao

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maryjoeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Simply outstanding quality and value in Venice. Large rooms of a quality and standard exceeding many 4 star hotels. A great location for visiting all of the city's key destinations. I could not more highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ocrinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great location: vaporetto stop 1 block away, beautiful 7 minute walk to bridge and another 7 minutes to San Marco. Super easy to navigate and perfect spot for shopping/restaurants/people watching. There is even a market around the corner. Beautiful view of canal from our room. Owner was awesome and accommodating with great directions and tips. Even let us borrow his adaptor for our electronics. This is the perfect spot to stay! Anywhere closer to San Marco is way too busy and loud.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Highly recommend this hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff, excellent location close to the vaporetto and to S. Marco, good beds, clean and comfortable, speedy internet, an oasis of cool on a hot Venetian day. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentEUTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went as a 'grown up' family and took 3 of the 6 rooms. We were made very welcome by Ivan and Max, the two brothers who own and run the lodgings, who were very helpful and always available. It was a lovely change from the impersonal large hotel experience. The rooms were spacious and comfortable with very traditional Venetian décor. Breakfast is served in your room at a time of your choosing. It is easy to find the lodgings and only 3 minutes walk from Ca D'Oro vaporetto stop. The only thing that might improve the experience would be a proper quality shampoo rather than sachets and a change of towels as ours really didn't dry in the high humidity. Overall an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodiePenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#4 of 384 in Venice
1,930 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#12 of 384 in Venice
765 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 384 in Venice
835 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#25 of 384 in Venice
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Ca' Le Vele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ca' Le Vele

Address: Cannaregio 3969, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Price Range: $90 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Ca' Le Vele 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Locanda Ca' Le Vele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ca` Le Vele Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing