We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Ranked #19 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at this beautiful hotel. From arrival we were made to feel welcomed and valued. We stayed in Room 23 which was a junior suite - it was extremely comfortable and superbly decorated; the bathroom was quite long and narrow and the shower a little cramped but there was no problem. My cousin stayed in the adjoining room No. 24 (the red room) which was about the same size but the bathroom was very large. The sheets were changed on a daily basis as were the towels. Fruit and a welcome bottle of prosecco were left in our room and the staff were very happy to provide ice and serve it for us.
Coffee, hot chocolate and drinks were always available as well as little snacks. Breakfast was good - mainly fresh fruits, croissants and pastries, ham and cheeses. All beautifully prepared and presented.
However my overall impression of this charming hotel was of courtesy and service. This was our third trip to Venice, should we re-visit in the future, I would stay nowhere else!

Room Tip: All rooms looked very good. We had a corner suite - two windows looked onto the canal, the third o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaDavidM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 774 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had another wonderful stay at your beautiful Palazzo and met some lovely people who were also staying there.
You manage to create the most welcoming, joyous and contented atmosphere.
Thank you for giving us umbrellas to get back to the airport in the pouring rain.
We gave them to incoming visitors to Venice who were thrilled to have such pretty pink umbrellas.
See you soon we hope xxMarilyn Phipps

Room Tip: They are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marilyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

First, let me describe how to get here, since those who arrive by some means other than water taxi, may have to do some searching, but it is well worth it!

On the vaporetto line #1 from Ferrovia (Train Station) or Piazzale Roma (bus station) going towards San Marco, get off at the Ca' d'Oro stop. From the stop, there is only one alleyway extending from the Grand Canal into the city. As you emerge onto the Stradanuovo (you'll know it - it's a main shopping thoroughfare) you'll see a Grom (gelateria) to your left. Take note, you'll want to go back several times per day for their gelato. In front of you, across the street and to the right is a large fabric store, and just to the right of the fabric store is another little alleyway. It looks a little narrow and it may look like a dead end, but it is not. There is a large sign at the end of the alley for the "Partido Democratico". If you look on the wall at the entryway to the alley there is a microscopic green sign for Palazzo Abadessa. You'd never see it just passing by, but if you're looking for it you can catch it. Follow the alleyway back, it will turn to the right and then to the left and spit you out right in front of this beautiful hotel.

Now, for the review: This is our second trip to Venice, and this hotel was perfect for what we wanted. We were looking for a place that exuded the history and style of Venice at its prime, that made us feel like we were staying in an old palazzo, not a renovated, cookie-cutter hotel. This place fit the bill perfectly! The room was small, but about what we anticipated for Venice, and from the pictures of other rooms, I think we probably got one of the smallest ones in the palazzo (room 19 - maybe it was a cheaper option, we were thrilled with it, if you want something bigger, ask to see other rooms.) The walls are upholstered, the floor is wood, the ceiling is composed of exposed wooden beams, the lighting was Murano glass chandeliers and sconces, and our windows opened up onto the canal behind the hotel. Also, while I think Europeans in general have yet to discover the joys of pillow top mattresses, memory foam, and luxurious bedding (we live here and travel frequently - we have adjusted our expectations in this regard), this hotel bed and bedding were nicer than most.

The front desk had a bowl of fresh fruit in our room for our arrival that seemed like just a nice gesture, but ended up serving as breakfast for our early morning departure a few days later! The bathroom is updated and very modern, although there is no bath, only a shower. The hot water adjustment was a little sensitive, but we never ran out, and it got PLENTY hot!

There was some noise from the canal until about 10:00 p.m. with an infrequent boat or passers-by, but it never disturbed our sleep. Occasionally we could also hear the guests above us through the creaky floor, but it never bothered us. Guests should keep in mind that this is a renovated home, and you are staying in bedrooms, so your expectations of soundproofing should reflect that - we could hear conversations in the hallway while inside our bedroom and assumed the reverse was true. However, the hotel is small enough that I never felt like there were groups of people passing by our door, just the occasional guest coming back or leaving his/her room.

The only concern I would have visiting this hotel during another season: we visited the first week of March when temperatures still dipped below freezing at night. We slept with both windows wide open and the shutters closed to keep the room at a comfortable, slightly cool, temperature. My wife and I enjoy having a cooler room. We never turned on the heat in our room, and I cannot imagine how stifling this room might be in the summer without air conditioning. There was no air conditioning unit in the room that I could see, unless the heater acted as a dual unit (common in many homes and hotels). You may want to inquire first if you are going to be sleeping here in July or August. With a canal room, keeping the windows open in hotter weather may not be feasible with mosquitos, and not having air circulate could be horrendous.

One of the best features of this hotel: breakfast! I was wowed. Two kinds of prosciutto, salami, three types of cheeses, at least five or six fresh platters of fruit, sliced and ready to eat. Bowls of fresh fruit salad. Amazing baskets full of cream and chocolate-stuffed pastries, cereal, yogurt, various fruit juices (including my favorite: blood orange!), bread, toast, and coffee service. It was perfect for getting off to a good day of walking and exploring!

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel for singles, couples, or groups of adults. We travel frequently with our three young children and would not have wanted them here. We have rented apartments in Venice with more space and less honeymooners where our kids can be themselves and have fun without disturbing other guests. If you are in a similar situation, I would recommend you check out an apartment rental rather than a small and quaint establishment like this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a canal view will likely be noisier. Room #19 is small but charming and perfect for a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jay_P_Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stepping through the doors is like stepping back into time. It's exquisitely decorated. If the Medici had a home in Venice it surely would have been like this. Not for people with children ( too many antiques and sumptuous fabrics to spoil) but perfect for romantic couples get away or dreamers who long for the beauty of the past. Not in the middle of the touristy section but close enough to still walk over if you choose. Just a short walk from one of the first water taxi stops from the train station ( the stop for the hotel is the second or third stop and that is priceless if you have spent an exhausting day traveling) but also a short walk to St Mark's Square make the location ideal. It is quiet and serene, the staff are amazingly helpful. The breakfast was tasty and the rooms were spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whiterabbitrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We loved our stay here! When we arrived the staff at the front desk were so warm and welcoming and even upgraded our room! The lobby is beautiful and the room was pure luxury! There is a complimentary breakfast in the morning which is delightful but the best thing about the hotel was definitely the staff! Everything about this hotel was great! Absolutely wonderful!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Katrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our five day stay. The service was excellent throughout. Matteo was especially helpful in giving us directions to various sites and recommendations for restaurants. The breakfast was delicious, the rooms were clean and well appointed. Location was off the tourist track, yet a short walk from the Ghetto, Rialto Bridge and vaporetto site. We were made to feel as though we were guests in a palace.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vista37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was a classical Venetian experience. Rooms were beautifully decked, clean and neat, well maintained for such an old building. The breakfast was generous and enjoying it in the hotel's tastefully decorated lawns was an experience to remember. Very well located and extremely helpful and courteous staff. Perhaps a little expensive but in the end worth every penny. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bhateja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 384 in Venice
2,107 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
3,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 384 in Venice
1,947 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 384 in Venice
1,854 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#52 of 384 in Venice
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Abadessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Address: Calle Priuli Cannaregio 4011, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Venice
#13 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#22 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#24 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $136 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Abadessa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Abadessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abadessa Hotel
Palazzo Abadessa Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing