We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel Back in Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Ranked #22 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stepping through the doors is like stepping back into time. It's exquisitely decorated. If the Medici had a home in Venice it surely would have been like this. Not for people with children ( too many antiques and sumptuous fabrics to spoil) but perfect for romantic couples get away or dreamers who long for the beauty of the past. Not in the middle of the touristy section but close enough to still walk over if you choose. Just a short walk from one of the first water taxi stops from the train station ( the stop for the hotel is the second or third stop and that is priceless if you have spent an exhausting day traveling) but also a short walk to St Mark's Square make the location ideal. It is quiet and serene, the staff are amazingly helpful. The breakfast was tasty and the rooms were spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whiterabbitrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 784 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We loved our stay here! When we arrived the staff at the front desk were so warm and welcoming and even upgraded our room! The lobby is beautiful and the room was pure luxury! There is a complimentary breakfast in the morning which is delightful but the best thing about the hotel was definitely the staff! Everything about this hotel was great! Absolutely wonderful!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Katrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our five day stay. The service was excellent throughout. Matteo was especially helpful in giving us directions to various sites and recommendations for restaurants. The breakfast was delicious, the rooms were clean and well appointed. Location was off the tourist track, yet a short walk from the Ghetto, Rialto Bridge and vaporetto site. We were made to feel as though we were guests in a palace.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vista37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was a classical Venetian experience. Rooms were beautifully decked, clean and neat, well maintained for such an old building. The breakfast was generous and enjoying it in the hotel's tastefully decorated lawns was an experience to remember. Very well located and extremely helpful and courteous staff. Perhaps a little expensive but in the end worth every penny. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bhateja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I struggled to find a place in Venice at reasonable price. But at the end I choosed this one, taking the superior room because we were 3 people and becuase I read that the standard ones were not big and sometimes located on the ground floor, so you get the risk to be disturbed by all the noise of the lobby (breakfast, people getting in and out etc.)
The hotel is not located in the San Marco district, but it does not matter, as it takes some 20 min to get there. It is really close to the Ca d'Oro palace, so you have vaporettos and gondolas at your fingertips. Also the hotel has its own gate to the canal, so a taxi can bring you there.

The lobby, stairs and "common areas" are just what you expect from the website...just great and you can easily get how the palaces are in Venice.
The room is big and really great. The bathroom is huge, with shower and separated tub. Not new, but very clean and in good shape.

Bed conditions were also good. So we had a good sleep. Even if winter there is very cold, you realize that you do not need the air heating, it is enough with the radiators, otherwise it is realy warm.

Breakfast is not outstanding but you get fruits, croissants, cakes, jam, and coffee or capuccino. So more than fine for me.

By the way: the taxi from the airport costs 110 EUR, the vaporetto 20 EUR each and does not leave you close to the hotel, which with suitcases is a nightmare. So if I come back I'll for sure take the watertaxi. Is not cheap but I think it is worthy.

Room Tip: Take the superior ones, on the first floor, avoid the ones on the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Globetrotter_bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed for one week in December and had a great time. We were upgraded half way through when a deluxe room came available. Wonderful breakfast buffet. This hotel is in a location very convenient to many of the attractions. Easier to get to than it sounds from the hotel description. Very good value in the off season.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We chose this hotel in Venice because we wanted to stay in the one of the typical palazzos converted to a hotel. The hotel was located in the heart of Venice and served as a great base for our Venetian explorations. It is situated right on a canal so a water taxi directly to the hotel dock is an easy means of transport to the city. We took a water taxi to the hotel and found the hotel very well prepared to receive guests via their canal entrance. Upon arrival, the hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Almost as quickly as we were off our water taxi our bags had already been carried up to our room for us. The hotel staff gave a quick yet through tour of our suite and we enjoyed a bottle of complimentary bottle of prosecco. The breakfast is adequate but nothing exquisite. The hotel is literally an old world palace. This comes with character and charms as well as various quirks. The entrance is grand with an original staircase. There are tall ceilings and period pieces with antique décor. The dividers of our room appeared to have been built in modern times. In the bathroom of our room (located in a loft in the second floor of the suite) we could clearly hear people talking in the room next to us. The garden area looked like an ideal place to enjoy a glass of wine. Unfortunately, the weather didn't cooperate for us to be able to relax there. It was definitely an expensive hotel but worth the experience of staying in a palace with a great location if this is what you are looking for in a Venetian hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doingstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 385 in Venice
3,838 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#10 of 385 in Venice
2,128 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,872 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,961 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#17 of 385 in Venice
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Abadessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Abadessa

Address: Calle Priuli Cannaregio 4011, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Venice
#16 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#22 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#24 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $123 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Abadessa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Abadessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Abadessa Hotel
Palazzo Abadessa Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing