We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Nearby Hotels
$335
$281
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Foscari Palace(Venice)(Great Value!)
$235
$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
$474
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$344
$221
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$417
$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$365
$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
$177
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$1,376
$583
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$409
$354
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$285
$275
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveler rating
654
131
17
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
654
131
17
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater taxicomplimentary bottle of proseccobeautiful hotelprivate gardenstrada nuovaperiod furnituretucked awayvaporetto stopgrand canalold palacetrain stationpastriesmurano glass chandeliersthe hustle and bustleminute walksmall canalrialto bridge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
407 - 412 of 811 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We got married in Venice in September and chose a suite for a weeks stay.
There was ample room for the bride and 6 bridesmaids to get ready so it was the perfect size.
The hotel is absolutely stunning. We couldn't fault any of it and the staff were fantastic. The garden is a real little oasis as everyone had said it would be.
This hotel will not disappoint you at all, it is in our view exactly what we hoped for as we wanted the whole experience to be as original 'Venice' as we could find.
Breakfast is lovely, all the hotel is very clean and you can relax anywhere with the delightful sound of classical music in the background.
We loved it so much we have already booked the same suite for our anniversary next year.
We had 27 guests who stayed in various hotels in Venice and none of them came close to the charm and beauty of this one.

Room Tip: If you want a suite choose the red one. The photos do not do it justice. Massive bathroom too.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night and wished it could have been longer. The building is absolutely stunning and the room we stayed in absolutely beautifully decorated and with a canal view. The free bottle of prosecco was a total bonus and really helped us unwind in the evening after walking around what had been a rather soggy day in Venice. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh the next morning. Always a bonus to have complimentary wifi too. Would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

First visit to Venice and stayed here for a 3 night break to celebrate our anniversary.

It is hard to imagine that you are in the centre of Venice when you are eating your breakfast outside in the garden, just off one of the main routes through. A little oasis.

We had the suite and the classic old italian style reminiscent of the rooms within the Doge's palace was unbelievable Looking out off our private veranda at the world going by was very relaxing.

Complimentary prosecco and fresh fruit on arrival was a really nice touch together with the welcome card.

The staff were outstanding when needed but not in your face, even helping me with my stumbling basic Italian

Breakfast was exceptional. Lots of choice.

Location, 20 mins walk from St marks and about 5 from the Vapreretto stop

It certainly is our home in Venice.... Thank you Darwin and staff.... Other hotels need to learn from you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soobroo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

First time in Venice and our 5 day holiday was made all the better by staying at the Palazzo Abadessa. Lovely hotel, great location just behind the main route between the train station and St Marks, some great restaurants, bars and shops all on your doorstep. The exceptional continental breakfast set us up for the day, fresh fruit, cheeses, meats were all plentiful as was the superb coffee. Various cereals and freshly baked partries were also fantastic. Service brilliant, everyone very plesant and helpful. Room was small but beautifully appointed and very comfortable, Complimentary prosecco and fresh fruit on arrival was really appreciated. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 448Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Close to the Grand Canal and 20 minutes walk from St Marks this is a quiet, yet convenient location. Individual bedrooms in the classic style but with modern bathrooms. No restaurant, but a good continental buffet breakfast eaten in the garden or indoors. This was a former embassy and private home of some style. Very good service from all staff.
Quite expensive, but it offers quiet and seclusion. For modern style go elsewhere
My wife loved it! Certainly an individual hotel that gives a tiny inkling of life in the glory days of Venice.

Room Tip: Suites are bigger but a mezzanine sitting area may not add anything of value.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahameHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews