We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residenza Ca' San Marco
Ranked #222 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in Venice during a ten day holiday in Italy.

We arrived in Venice on a water taxi from the airport on the mainland, and the hotel was hard to find! Wheeling luggage in the midday sun through Venice's narrow streets wasn't ideal, but we found the hotel after walking past the street it was on a few times. The staff kindly sent through directions on email before our stay but they weren't incredibly clear to a first time Venice visitor.

We had a very large room which was very clean. The room was incredibly quiet as well - we slept with the window open and could barely hear any outside noise.

The hotel is located about five minutes from Rialto Bridge, and about ten minutes from San Marco. We spent many late afternoons and evenings wandering around the streets near the hotel - full of little canals and bridges with delicious gelaterias and cute shops - everything we love about Venice on the doorstep of this hotel.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Note - we actually stayed in June 2011, but realised this review hadn't been uploaded on my most recent log-in. We wanted to make sure we shared our delight of this hotel despite a year since our stay!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank AMLondon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 251 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent two nights in this hotel (it wasn't cheap but good deal for Venise probably). Strong points : nice room (we were upgraded so we don't know about the "standard" bedroom) but only a shower, no bath, quiet and very central (near place San Marco), possibility to leave the luggage during the day before departure or on arrival. However, we were a bit disappointed by the breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Coline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We loved this small hotel. We booked the junior suite which was very clean and spacious and it had a small balcony. We sat there listening to the gondoliers serenading their passengers. We also took our breakfast on the balcony as the dining room was very small. The hotel is situated down a tiny alley which despite the excellent directions provided, we couldn't find. We telephoned and the receptionist came and found us immediately. They were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated half way between Saint Marks Square and the Rialto Bridge just off the main route between the two so very central for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Choose the Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayflower50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I booked this hotel based on a Rick Steves recommendation and it was great. Wonderful price for being right between Rialto and St. Marco. Super nice staff. Our room was the first one upstairs (next to breakfast area) and had plenty of room for us, our bags and stuff. I see some posts about noise - our room was very quiet. Breakfast was all we needed. Yes wi-fi was a little sketchy sometimes. Nice size bathroom, very clean. A/C worked great when it was very hot outside!

Room Tip: First room up the stairs sounds like it may be a little larger/quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanLouiseFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

the Ca' San Marco was the little, local flavor hotel we enjoy in Europe. Street maps do not do Calle de le Balote justice. It is much more twisting and narrow than you can imagine, an obscure open air hallway that you would never choose unless you knew what was there. The end result was just fine. After finding the hotel desk behind an anonymous door, we were taken to an annex where our room was. This was on Calle de Fabbri, a fairly active pedestrian street between St. Mark's Square and the Rialto bridge, a very good location. The room was clean, adequate size and overlooked the street, next to the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank imatnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Booked a last minute trip to Venice on a special deal so wasn't sure what to expect - read the reviews and have to agree that it's not that easy to find although we did manage it. Very central location, great for St Mark's square and the Rialto bridge and the all important shopping/bars/restaurants etc. Unfortunately due to a mix up via the travel agent [KPX Travel - wouldn't recommend them !!] we were booked out to a sister hotel on the first night and ended up with an inferior room at the top of several flights of stairs, a few streets away - the plus side was a small terrace where we ate breakfast. We were moved the next day - no trouble - and given a very pleasant room in the original hotel. Clean and comfortable, continental breakfast taken in a small area at the end of the corridor. Helpful staff, even producing a 'take away' breakfast for our early flight on the last morning. Would have no reservations in booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not use KPX Travel and if a room is suggested in a sister hotel, don't take it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 51angler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

As stated before it's hard to find. With directions, map in hand, suitcases and tired from the flight, we wouldn’t have found the hotel without the help of an elderly gentleman named super Mario. After finding the hotel the directions make sense. The hotel staff was great, very friendly and helpful. Booked 2 rooms. The first room was small but it worked for the boys. The 2nd room overlooked the canal with the terrace. The room is spacious, with big bathroom. With being next to the canal we could hear the singing as the gondoliers passed by. The breakfast met our needs. The location is great. Between the Rialto Bridge and St. Marks square. It is easy to walk to most of the sights in Venice. The best was taking late night stroll to St. Marks to people watch without battling the crowds during the day. We spent 2 weeks in Italy. Venice, Florence and Rome for each city I used T A to choose hotels within a specific location. Based on location this hotel is worth the 5 stars but the staff and rooms also lived up to the 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamuelaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#17 of 385 in Venice
858 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#112 of 385 in Venice
1,155 reviews
San Marco
Ambassador Tre Rose
Ambassador Tre Rose
#284 of 385 in Venice
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Centauro Hotel
Centauro Hotel
#121 of 385 in Venice
798 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#151 of 385 in Venice
569 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Tre Archi
Hotel Tre Archi
#252 of 385 in Venice
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Ca' San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Ca' San Marco

Address: Sestiere San Marco 4868/A | Calle delle Balote, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $48 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Ca' San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Ca' San Marco is a cozy inn created from the interiors of what, at the times of the Serenissima Republic, was the ancient monastery of San Salvador. The building, completely renovated, is made up of six spacious rooms, elegantly furnished in Venetian style with extreme care in the finest detail. Staying at Residenza Ca' San Marco you can still feel the charm of the real Venice, far from the tourist and mostly visited courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residenza Ca' San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Ca` San Marco Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing