We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location; Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenza Ca' San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residenza Ca' San Marco
Ranked #160 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location; Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I booked this hotel based on a Rick Steves recommendation and it was great. Wonderful price for being right between Rialto and St. Marco. Super nice staff. Our room was the first one upstairs (next to breakfast area) and had plenty of room for us, our bags and stuff. I see some posts about noise - our room was very quiet. Breakfast was all we needed. Yes wi-fi was a little sketchy sometimes. Nice size bathroom, very clean. A/C worked great when it was very hot outside!

Room Tip: First room up the stairs sounds like it may be a little larger/quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanLouiseFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    102
    25
    13
    8
See reviews for
19
164
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

the Ca' San Marco was the little, local flavor hotel we enjoy in Europe. Street maps do not do Calle de le Balote justice. It is much more twisting and narrow than you can imagine, an obscure open air hallway that you would never choose unless you knew what was there. The end result was just fine. After finding the hotel desk behind an anonymous door, we were taken to an annex where our room was. This was on Calle de Fabbri, a fairly active pedestrian street between St. Mark's Square and the Rialto bridge, a very good location. The room was clean, adequate size and overlooked the street, next to the breakfast room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank imatnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Booked a last minute trip to Venice on a special deal so wasn't sure what to expect - read the reviews and have to agree that it's not that easy to find although we did manage it. Very central location, great for St Mark's square and the Rialto bridge and the all important shopping/bars/restaurants etc. Unfortunately due to a mix up via the travel agent [KPX Travel - wouldn't recommend them !!] we were booked out to a sister hotel on the first night and ended up with an inferior room at the top of several flights of stairs, a few streets away - the plus side was a small terrace where we ate breakfast. We were moved the next day - no trouble - and given a very pleasant room in the original hotel. Clean and comfortable, continental breakfast taken in a small area at the end of the corridor. Helpful staff, even producing a 'take away' breakfast for our early flight on the last morning. Would have no reservations in booking this hotel again.

Room Tip: Do not use KPX Travel and if a room is suggested in a sister hotel, don't take it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 51angler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

As stated before it's hard to find. With directions, map in hand, suitcases and tired from the flight, we wouldn’t have found the hotel without the help of an elderly gentleman named super Mario. After finding the hotel the directions make sense. The hotel staff was great, very friendly and helpful. Booked 2 rooms. The first room was small but it worked for the boys. The 2nd room overlooked the canal with the terrace. The room is spacious, with big bathroom. With being next to the canal we could hear the singing as the gondoliers passed by. The breakfast met our needs. The location is great. Between the Rialto Bridge and St. Marks square. It is easy to walk to most of the sights in Venice. The best was taking late night stroll to St. Marks to people watch without battling the crowds during the day. We spent 2 weeks in Italy. Venice, Florence and Rome for each city I used T A to choose hotels within a specific location. Based on location this hotel is worth the 5 stars but the staff and rooms also lived up to the 5 star rating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kamuelaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice centrally located hotel, the rooms are cosy and clean and the price ok considering rates in Venice. There is no way you can find it though!! The people of the hotel were kind enough to find us stranded in one of the alleys near st Marc's square!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NICOLE K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Good location. Quick, albeit confusing walk, especially the first time from Rialto Bridge and ferry stop.

Tiny rooms, but then again it is Venice. Wifi only works in the dining area and not in your room, small worn out bed. The bathroom was nice. Expect to be woken up by street noise early, the windows do nothing to stop that. All in all nothing special but in Venice, the price is right.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzTraveller817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

It's not exactly a hotel, but in Venice most of the homes and palaces have been renovated and have become bed and breakfast or hotels . As it was well explained in many of the sites I read up , it's location is a 5 minute walk from the famous Rialto Bridge and within a 10 minute stroll your in St. Mark's square . The directions given to us when we made our booking were very simple and easy to follow up . As it is off a main alley where it's always busy , we didn't have problem with noise at night. Plenty of cafeterias and restaurants nearby. There is a small reception area where we were welcomed and on the next floor a very small area for breakfast which was not too bad.
Don't expect bacon and eggs and cold meat and cheese servings . The fresh breadroll and croissant were good and a selection of cakes and marmalades plus coffee which made a good start for the day. When in Italy do as the Italians do. Many quick coffee breaks (standing up costs less 1-2,50 euro and sitting down you pay more almost up to 5 euro) and quick snacks with proseco wine or crodino . The vaporetto(bus boat) from the train station is 6,50 euro one way. If you're going to use the vaporetto it's better to get 12hr or 24hr tickets.Restaurants are not cheap , but don't forget your in Venice. Enjoy everyminute of your visit , as it's a dream come true.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Ambassador Tre Rose
Ambassador Tre Rose
#294 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#203 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo La Scala Venezia
Palazzo La Scala Venezia
#324 of 466 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Locanda ai Bareteri
Locanda ai Bareteri
#23 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
San Marco
Alloggi alla Scala
Alloggi alla Scala
#168 of 466 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
San Marco
Locanda Casa sul Molo
Locanda Casa sul Molo
#78 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Ca' San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Ca' San Marco

Property: Residenza Ca' San Marco
Address: Sestiere San Marco 4868/A | Calle delle Balote, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Ca' San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Ca' San Marco is a cozy inn created from the interiors of what, at the times of the Serenissima Republic, was the ancient monastery of San Salvador. The building, completely renovated, is made up of six spacious rooms, elegantly furnished in Venetian style with extreme care in the finest detail. Staying at Residenza Ca' San Marco you can still feel the charm of the real Venice, far from the tourist and mostly visited courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Residenza Ca' San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Ca` San Marco Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing