We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio
Ranked #279 of 463 Venice B&B and Inns
Delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, in fact extended our stay by one night from the 3 previously booked.. It is an excellently located hotel, and our room overlooked the bay. It is in the centre, with a very helpful and friendly staff and very spacious room with a kitchenette, a entrance room and a big bathroom. The only downside is that housecleaning is not everyday, but this was hardly a problem for us, since fresh towels can be picked up from the reception.

Our experience of Trieste was beautiful because we had a nice place to come back to every evening!

Room Tip: find a bay facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorotheainIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    132
    79
    43
    33
See reviews for
50
199
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is very close to the academia bridge and a short walk to San Marco Square. We booked a room in the "Residenza" section of the hotel which is the better side. Our room was remarkably large by European standards as was our bathroom. Everything was very clean as well. Breakfast was an adequate European style breakfast consisting of coffee, juice, pastries, cookies, and bread. The staff upon check-in were very helpful and nice. The only unusual thing was that they have guests enter through a back door with a buzzard every time you come back to the hotel. You look up at the camera then staff buzz you in. Not a major issue considering the rates are reasonable when compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliTwin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

As we were there for just one day, staff asked us to pay and fulfill the checkout formalities at the time of check in only, with the excuse that there will be rush in the morning. It was very rude just at the check in moment and there was no rush in the morning.
Location was hard to find and was too much away from the main bus stop. So I highly recommend against this if you have too much luggage. Entry, exit path is also very shady and there were no lights in the stairway.
Room was well decorated from inside at it is shown in the pictures but there was no view from windows.
Breakfast was just ok..
In short for the price we paid, it was total disaster

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sur04sep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Novi, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here because it was one of the few reasonably priced hotels in Venice (especially near the San Marco area!). The front desk workers were extremely friendly and spoke good english... although no one told us there was breakfast at the hotel! I happened to notice a mention about breakfast being provided on the booking website just now as I was preparing to write reviews. It would have been nice for them to mention or remind us that there is breakfast there since food in Venice overall is super expensive.

We did not stay in one of the fancy rooms pictured, but our small room was sufficient for what we needed on our budget trip. There was a tiny blood stain on the sheets so we asked for new ones. Otherwise the room was very clean.

The shared bathrooms were OK. They were actually kept surprisingly clean although they got a little bit less so later at night after the maids had probably left for the day. For the most part we didn't have to wait at all to use the restrooms/showers and they were right outside of our room so that was no problem. One morning when we woke up earlier (around 7/7:30am) we did have to wait a while for a shower.

Overall, I would recommend this place to anyone who is on a budget and doesn't need "fancy" accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and were pleased with our choice. The hotel is in an excellent location in San Marco. Staff are helpful, room was quiet, clean and the beds were comfortable. Bathrooms are shared but were just opposite our room - and we didn't have to wait for people who were using them. Wifi was ok, and the bathrooms were fine for what you needed. In venice you're probably not going to be spending much time in your room when thre is so much to do.

The ice-cream shop directly next door sells amazing white chocolate ice cream - and the Deli has some good, relatively cheap, take away options!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulTeam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

It was a very nice hotel and the staff was very nice and every one of them spoke English. I had a little problem with the bed and I got a new bed. They were very friendly and the location was perfect. I did not eat breakfast so I can’t tell you anything about that. It was clean and perfect for me and my daughter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#137 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Castello
Locanda Silva
Locanda Silva
#143 of 463 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Cannaregio
Venice Star
Venice Star
#50 of 206 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Veneziacentopercento Rooms & Apartments
Cannaregio
Hotel Casa Boccassini
Hotel Casa Boccassini
#185 of 463 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
San Marco
Alloggi alla Scala
Alloggi alla Scala
#165 of 463 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio

Property: Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio
Address: Calle Zaguri San Marco 2624, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 463 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes walking from St. Mark's Square 'Hotel San Maurizio' offers a dual solution for your stay in Venice. Offering an affordable & practical 1-star hotel with rooms with private bathroom or with shared bathroom, characterized by its low price and hard to surpass quality.The rooms have a private bathroom, are decorated in Venetian style, have queen-sized beds ,can accommodate one or two persons and offer hair-dryer,air conditioning/heating, Free toiletries. The exposed beams and parquet floor give the rooms a pleasant intimacy.Those with shared bathrooms have, in the harmonious simplicity of Arte Povera decor, space for up to three people with an additional bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Residenza San Maurizio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing