We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio
Ranked #368 of 475 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, in fact extended our stay by one night from the 3 previously booked.. It is an excellently located hotel, and our room overlooked the bay. It is in the centre, with a very helpful and friendly staff and very spacious room with a kitchenette, a entrance room and a big bathroom. The only downside is that housecleaning is not everyday, but this was hardly a problem for us, since fresh towels can be picked up from the reception.

Our experience of Trieste was beautiful because we had a nice place to come back to every evening!

Room Tip: find a bay facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorotheainIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 365 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is very close to the academia bridge and a short walk to San Marco Square. We booked a room in the "Residenza" section of the hotel which is the better side. Our room was remarkably large by European standards as was our bathroom. Everything was very clean as well. Breakfast was an adequate European style breakfast consisting of coffee, juice, pastries, cookies, and bread. The staff upon check-in were very helpful and nice. The only unusual thing was that they have guests enter through a back door with a buzzard every time you come back to the hotel. You look up at the camera then staff buzz you in. Not a major issue considering the rates are reasonable when compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliTwin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

As we were there for just one day, staff asked us to pay and fulfill the checkout formalities at the time of check in only, with the excuse that there will be rush in the morning. It was very rude just at the check in moment and there was no rush in the morning.
Location was hard to find and was too much away from the main bus stop. So I highly recommend against this if you have too much luggage. Entry, exit path is also very shady and there were no lights in the stairway.
Room was well decorated from inside at it is shown in the pictures but there was no view from windows.
Breakfast was just ok..
In short for the price we paid, it was total disaster

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sur04sep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here because it was one of the few reasonably priced hotels in Venice (especially near the San Marco area!). The front desk workers were extremely friendly and spoke good english... although no one told us there was breakfast at the hotel! I happened to notice a mention about breakfast being provided on the booking website just now as I was preparing to write reviews. It would have been nice for them to mention or remind us that there is breakfast there since food in Venice overall is super expensive.

We did not stay in one of the fancy rooms pictured, but our small room was sufficient for what we needed on our budget trip. There was a tiny blood stain on the sheets so we asked for new ones. Otherwise the room was very clean.

The shared bathrooms were OK. They were actually kept surprisingly clean although they got a little bit less so later at night after the maids had probably left for the day. For the most part we didn't have to wait at all to use the restrooms/showers and they were right outside of our room so that was no problem. One morning when we woke up earlier (around 7/7:30am) we did have to wait a while for a shower.

Overall, I would recommend this place to anyone who is on a budget and doesn't need "fancy" accommodations.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ekaterina T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and were pleased with our choice. The hotel is in an excellent location in San Marco. Staff are helpful, room was quiet, clean and the beds were comfortable. Bathrooms are shared but were just opposite our room - and we didn't have to wait for people who were using them. Wifi was ok, and the bathrooms were fine for what you needed. In venice you're probably not going to be spending much time in your room when thre is so much to do.

The ice-cream shop directly next door sells amazing white chocolate ice cream - and the Deli has some good, relatively cheap, take away options!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulTeam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

It was a very nice hotel and the staff was very nice and every one of them spoke English. I had a little problem with the bed and I got a new bed. They were very friendly and the location was perfect. I did not eat breakfast so I can’t tell you anything about that. It was clean and perfect for me and my daughter.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#93 of 385 in Venice
497 reviews
Santa Croce
Casa Sant'Andrea
Casa Sant'Andrea
#206 of 385 in Venice
566 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Alla Corte Rossa
Alla Corte Rossa
#218 of 385 in Venice
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#128 of 385 in Venice
439 reviews
Castello
Nuovo Teson
Nuovo Teson
#131 of 385 in Venice
445 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Favaro
Residenza Favaro
#264 of 385 in Venice
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio

Address: Calle Zaguri San Marco 2624, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 475 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $55 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes walking from St. Mark's Square 'Hotel San Maurizio' offers a dual solution for your stay in Venice. Offering an affordable & practical 1-star hotel with rooms with private bathroom or with shared bathroom, characterized by its low price and hard to surpass quality.The rooms have a private bathroom, are decorated in Venetian style, have queen-sized beds ,can accommodate one or two persons and offer hair-dryer,air conditioning/heating, Free toiletries. The exposed beams and parquet floor give the rooms a pleasant intimacy.Those with shared bathrooms have, in the harmonious simplicity of Arte Povera decor, space for up to three people with an additional bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Residenza San Maurizio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing