We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel, convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio
Ranked #299 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb hotel, convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I would definitely recommend this hotel as it was the perfect base for a trip to Venice. The location was perfect only a stones throw away from St Marks Square yet on a quiet street near to a picturesque piazza with a delicious tavern opposite and plenty of cafes and bars in the immeidate vicinity.
The room was compact but had everything we needed, was very clean and comfy.
The service we received was excellent including booking concert tickets through the hotel reception and receiving information about attractions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EB1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    132
    79
    43
    34
See reviews for
50
199
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venice
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Very good location. Near San-Marco square. Friendly staff.The room was small and dark.Wi-Fi in the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We spent one night at hotel san maurizio and that was far too long. Had our funds permitted we would have found ourselves somewhere else.

Having spent quite a lot of time in youth hostels, I can confidently say that here you are mostly paying for the location, which is very central and convenient for major sights. But Venice is so small and you walk so much that location is not nearly as important as comfort at the end of the day, and we were pretty much the polar opposite of comfortable.

Our room was small and dark with a broken sink in the corner and a view directly into the neighbour's appartment. Our bed was made of two singles of different heights but of equal hardness pushed together. One of them was a camp bed and the springs made a lot of noise. There was no air conditioning and the inefficient and rickety ceiling fan made more noise. We had to unplug the main lamp in order to use the fan on its own (clearly intended to prevent guests from using the fan at night-time, kind of weird). The door did not close properly and let light in from the landing and somebody opened and closed a lot of cupboards at about 7am. Not a very restful nights' sleep although the pillows were pretty good. 

The shared bathroom is in desperate need of refurbishing, it has not aged well and looks dingy although it is clean. The shower was good, with a large head, but blocked fairly quickly. Nobody cleaned the bathroom in the 24hours we were there.

The staff are polite and helpful and allowed us to leave our bags for the day. The place just needs some investment in basics like beds and air conditioning and it would be worth the price. As it is we felt ripped off and definitely wont come back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Velvet_Fiasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura F, Proprietario at Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
we feel very sorry because you didn't appreciate your stay with us. Staying only few hours you found so many defects!
The room was a normal size, not dark but with a big window,The bed is made of 2 singles because there are people who want twin beds room.The operation of lamp is very simple:you can switch on only the fan, or switch on only the light or both together:We offer 24 hours reception for our customers' problems!
The rooms without bathroom offer ,as it is written in all websites, sink,fan,heating,towels ,free toiletries ,and free WIFI 24 hours a day.The 3 shared bathroom ,as you said, are clean beacause are cleaned 4 times a day and are continuosly refurnished.
The rooms with private bathroom offer private bathroom, hairdryer,Tv ,air conditioning/heating,telephone, free toiletries and Free WIFI 24 hours a day, are furnished in Venetian style...Obviously are more expensive! We really don't know what you expeted for Euro 50 (2 people 1 night)in 1 Star Hotel (not Hostel) at 5 minuts walking from San Marco square and from the main Attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Venice, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

It was unseasonably hot when we 'found' the Maurizio. We had been staying in an unbearably hot and noisy room in Piazza Margherita. We felt lucky they had a room for us, and it turned out to be a beautiful room with air conditioning. Even when the heat broke and it began to rain, we were glad for the cool, dark, calm of the stately room and the friendly help.

Room Tip: I like the old style rooms, with exposed beams. I always ask for a quiet room on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The hotel is near enough to San Marco that getting to it in minutes is completely possible. Our room was clean and the best pillows we have found in Europe. The room has been rather quiet with ambient noise during peak times. Yes, the air conditioner works hard, when it is this hot & humid it does feel good, it is so worth it! Staff is the best part. Recommended sites, gave directions, spoke English and even held our bags after check out. Would stay again.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a private bath and found the extra few feet and ability to do some hand washing wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IRockOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Hotel San Maurizio ticked all the boxes. It's in a great location, close to the vapiertto. The room was well kept, whilst not overly big, spacious enough, similar size to most other accommodation we've had in Europe. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Their English was fantastic which made things easier for us. They were happy to answer any questions and provide maps with tips on what to do.
Overall, very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Percy023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

It took a while to get to this hotel from Treviso airport, a shuttle bus (40 mins) then a water bus (Vaparetto) 45 minutes but then it was a short 3 minute walk from Gigilo. Once you're there the journey is worth while due to how central it is.

The hotel had a electrical gate, which made the venue feel secure (for 3 young girls travelling this was ideal). The staff were friendly and helpful.

The room was really nice, clean, colourful and better than expected. It gave an authentic 'venetian' experience. Although there wasn't any aircon. We were located in room 2 which was opposite the shared bathrooms. 3 people, 3 (very clean, one with a hairdryer) bathrooms... we were happy! The rooms are cleaned and the beds are made daily, which we didn't expect but we had no complaints.

No breakfast is included(sadly), which was a pain because it was hard to find somewhere to eat close by.

The location was spot on... close to everything and was a beautifully city! Recommend if you are travelling 2 days is more than enough time to explore everything.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banannena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#108 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Castello
Veneziacentopercento Rooms & Apartments
Cannaregio
Hotel Casa Boccassini
Hotel Casa Boccassini
#192 of 466 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Alloggi alla Scala
Alloggi alla Scala
#167 of 466 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Castello
Locanda Silva
Locanda Silva
#142 of 466 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Cannaregio
Venice Star
Venice Star
#52 of 210 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio

Property: Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio
Address: Calle Zaguri San Marco 2624, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes walking from St. Mark's Square 'Hotel San Maurizio' offers a dual solution for your stay in Venice. Offering an affordable & practical 1-star hotel with rooms with private bathroom or with shared bathroom, characterized by its low price and hard to surpass quality.The rooms have a private bathroom, are decorated in Venetian style, have queen-sized beds ,can accommodate one or two persons and offer hair-dryer,air conditioning/heating, Free toiletries. The exposed beams and parquet floor give the rooms a pleasant intimacy.Those with shared bathrooms have, in the harmonious simplicity of Arte Povera decor, space for up to three people with an additional bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel e Residenza San Maurizio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Residenza San Maurizio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing